SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6143 (Misses Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 472 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/12 1:39 PM
Last Updated:11/18/12 1:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SarahRoseSews said...
I made this pattern, used cotton fabric and purchased bias tape for a 'muslin' I had hoped to be wearable, and I also had an awful time with the neckline of this dress. My dress is unwearable due to the neckline; it is too wide on the shoulders and shows undergarment straps in addition to gaping. My experience also was that the bodice had too much ease. Thanks for your review, I now know it was not just me.
2/19/13 11:32 AM
newmama said...
You look beautiful! I love the silhouette of this dress, and though the fabric may not have been perfect to work with, it looks perfect in the results.
12/29/12 7:01 AM
Aroura said...
Really gorgeous! Very classy, and a really good look on you.
12/4/12 3:47 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress! Looks very nice with the jacket too!
12/4/12 7:10 AM
wendyrb said...
Well done- I'd love to have this dress. I think it will be fun to play around with it for daytime. I'd try a black or beige sweater with pushed up long sleeves and a v-neck so the lace peeks out like a cami. Have you tried it with dark hose and flats or boots? Enjoy your wonderful dress and Happy Birthday!
11/26/12 2:16 PM
velosewer said...
Stunning. Lace is all the rage in Australia too.
11/19/12 6:02 PM
Dagmar O. said...
This is a beautiful dress on you and looks to have met the goals of your inspiration photos. I agree with Quickie regarding the neck gaping and the type of binding you used although with your lovely long hair, the neck binding is barely visible!
11/19/12 1:12 PM
Baja Susana said...
This is a lovely dress, I have seen a few dresses this year with a lace laid over a solid lining. Yours is lovely. It looks nice on you as well. Nice use of the lace edging for your hems. You styled the casual look very well. I was wondering how you woul dress it down, nice job!
11/19/12 10:06 AM
Quickie said...
Lovely dress. I like it very much. Your problem witht the neckline might be the type of binding you've used.It's easier done with a stretchable binding, eg folding elastic In a few days my LBD. I have stretching lace on part of the back and I'll and I'll pay attention to it more specificly
11/19/12 9:06 AM
norie creates said...
Great job on the lace! You look very pretty and love the shoes too!
11/18/12 6:33 PM
cowgirlbb said...
This is a good style for you, you look terrific!
11/18/12 5:52 PM
crazygrad said...
Very pretty!
11/18/12 4:34 PM
jlg said...
You look gorgeous in this dress. Great job with it.
11/18/12 4:21 PM
Morisot said...
Your dress looks great. Very nice.
11/18/12 3:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Buy Now
McCall's 6245

photo
by: nosila

Review