SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6143 (Misses Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 448 times 
Reviewed by:mnitts
photo

 
 
About mnittsstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 10/2/11
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/12 1:39 PM
Last Updated:11/18/12 1:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Morisot said...
Your dress looks great. Very nice.
11/18/12 3:56 PM
jlg said...
You look gorgeous in this dress. Great job with it.
11/18/12 4:21 PM
crazygrad said...
Very pretty!
11/18/12 4:34 PM
cowgirlbb said...
This is a good style for you, you look terrific!
11/18/12 5:52 PM
norie creates said...
Great job on the lace! You look very pretty and love the shoes too!
11/18/12 6:33 PM
Quickie said...
Lovely dress. I like it very much. Your problem witht the neckline might be the type of binding you've used.It's easier done with a stretchable binding, eg folding elastic In a few days my LBD. I have stretching lace on part of the back and I'll and I'll pay attention to it more specificly
11/19/12 9:06 AM
Baja Susana said...
This is a lovely dress, I have seen a few dresses this year with a lace laid over a solid lining. Yours is lovely. It looks nice on you as well. Nice use of the lace edging for your hems. You styled the casual look very well. I was wondering how you woul dress it down, nice job!
11/19/12 10:06 AM
Dagmar O. said...
This is a beautiful dress on you and looks to have met the goals of your inspiration photos. I agree with Quickie regarding the neck gaping and the type of binding you used although with your lovely long hair, the neck binding is barely visible!
11/19/12 1:12 PM
velosewer said...
Stunning. Lace is all the rage in Australia too.
11/19/12 6:02 PM
wendyrb said...
Well done- I'd love to have this dress. I think it will be fun to play around with it for daytime. I'd try a black or beige sweater with pushed up long sleeves and a v-neck so the lace peeks out like a cami. Have you tried it with dark hose and flats or boots? Enjoy your wonderful dress and Happy Birthday!
11/26/12 2:16 PM
Margaret said...
Great dress! Looks very nice with the jacket too!
12/4/12 7:10 AM
Aroura said...
Really gorgeous! Very classy, and a really good look on you.
12/4/12 3:47 PM
newmama said...
You look beautiful! I love the silhouette of this dress, and though the fabric may not have been perfect to work with, it looks perfect in the results.
12/29/12 7:01 AM
SarahRoseSews said...
I made this pattern, used cotton fabric and purchased bias tape for a 'muslin' I had hoped to be wearable, and I also had an awful time with the neckline of this dress. My dress is unwearable due to the neckline; it is too wide on the shoulders and shows undergarment straps in addition to gaping. My experience also was that the bodice had too much ease. Thanks for your review, I now know it was not just me.
2/19/13 11:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 2694

photo
by: BeaJay

Review
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Buy Now