Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1332 (Misses' Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 305 times
Work in Progress Work in Progress
Reviewed by:miausiau
photo
About miausiaustarstar
NY USA
Member since: 4/13/11
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/26/12 5:03 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $32.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Baja Susana said...
I have a great idea! Let's all get in it and see how many can fit inside a cape, then send a photo to Vogue. The pattern photo shows nothing! Your review tells the story. Actually the silhouette looks like a cocoon, comforting and cozy, but it is as you said spectacularly. I am curious to see it after you tweak it again.
11/27/12 8:21 AM
hmacski said...
I'm so excited to see someone taking this pattern on! I'm looking forward to seeing the finished product and hearing about how you resolved the difficulties mentioned in your review thus far.
11/27/12 9:32 AM
JoyceP said...
This is a fascinating coat-cape and I look forward to your finished garment! Looking at the line drawings at Vogue's site provides a better feel, for me, of how this garment evolved: simple straight up and down coat with an integrated cape - ingenious, no? If it were me, I think I'd want to emphasize that "side of the coat" line, i.e. the fold that falls naturally to the side. A crease there, or a strip of the black... it would help my "outline" since I'm rather too much owl-shaped myself ;-)
11/27/12 10:59 AM
Laurie Lou said...
Thanks so much for taking on this Intriguing pattern. I was so drawn to it for it's uniqueness but wondered if it would be wearable. No need to finish it on my end if you think no more time warrants it but I'll be back to see if you do :) As you said and others here...the pattern photo gets a C- thankfully the line drawing shows the detail but if the instructions have a failing grade then they really need to rethink their instructions...a problem I too have found. But then again with these complex patterns maybe it is hard to describe the construction???
12/12/12 2:28 PM
miausiau said...
This is on hold for now...I'm not very enthusiastic about it. I think in a taffeta this could be much better. I hope someone has some success with this...it really is one of a kind.
12/12/12 3:56 PM
SJ Kurtz said...
I could not resist this during the cheap Vogue sale last year; I am not sure where I would wear a coat that made me look like a beetle, but I am the sort of person who WOULD, so when 4 yards of 60" wide bug-ready fab falls into my lap, I am so there! Thanks for the insights!
11/21/13 11:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2008-122
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 2/3/10
Read Review

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6808
photo
Review by pinkcatflo... on 6/27/12
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9793 Pattern
Burda 9793 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1296 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1296 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us