Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 2759 (Shirt dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 485 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:clothingengineer
photo
Friend of PR
About clothingengineerstarstarstarstar
CT USA
Member since: 5/7/10
Reviews written: 185
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/12 8:27 PM
Last Updated:11/28/12 8:28 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewRaeMe said...
OMGosh kudos to you for doing all those alterations but it looks like your effort paid off, very nice.
11/28/12 8:31 PM
61sew4fun said...
Love the buttons, they really make the dress, and your fit id great.
11/28/12 9:14 PM
Re Becca said...
That looks stunning on you, your alterations really make it look even more fabulous. I agree with you about the facings, sometimes Marfy skimps a little on the facings. I have this pattern and you are really inspiring me to make it up. FWIW, it is very slimming and I LOVE your contrasting buttons.
11/28/12 9:20 PM
Immelu said...
Wow, that looks great!! You have the fit perfect!
11/28/12 10:11 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress! I like the contrasting buttons.
11/28/12 10:20 PM
wendyrb said...
I've never made a Marfy yet, but your beautiful and beautiful on you results are inspiring. Even better, your review is so thoughtful and encouraging, I imagine this is something I could handle. Love the way you timed yourself- sewing + dinner + animal care = dress done.
11/29/12 1:05 AM
cleverkitty said...
really sharp, love the way it looks on you...
11/29/12 8:14 AM
Sewiing Sue said...
Your guideline is very helpful: If you've done a a dress with darts and shirt with front facings you can handle this dress. I like the bodice detail on the pattern. Kudos on the execution!
11/29/12 10:07 AM
BettyMike said...
What a fabulous dress! Very sharp look! Your review is great, so detailed and well written. Thanks!
11/29/12 10:31 AM
BillieJean said...
Gorgeous dress!
11/29/12 2:14 PM
Elizabeth made this said...
Pinstripe anything always looks so classy, and it's such a whimsical choice here in such a ladylike dress. The contrasting buttons really bring it all together.
12/2/12 7:58 AM
Fictionfan said...
Fantastic-looking, perfectly fitted, and so flattering! I'm impressed that you made it up so quickly. You've become a Marfy expert! Though you said that you don't intend to make this again, this classic style is such a wardrobe staple; I think you should consider making another, perhaps in a print? With all the alterations you make, the great fit you achieve, the beautiful sewing job, using terms like "turn of the cloth", and the fact that you are sewing patterns that lack instructions and for which you are drafting pieces, why do you rate your skills as intermediate?? Thanks for the review!
1/21/13 8:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 3551
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/25/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 1018 Jasmine
photo
Review by VintageBlu... on 11/23/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)
Colette Patterns Hazel Pattern (1021)

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6942 Pattern
Burda 6942 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us