Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6020 (Misses' Dresses & Purse) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 429 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:margy.64
photo
Friend of PR
About margy.64star
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 7/27/12
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/1/12 7:07 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BrendaJoyce said...
That dress is really pretty and I think you did a great job on fitting. I haven't read a lot of fitting books but everybody here seems to like "Fit For Real People" by Pati Palmer and Marta Alto.
12/1/12 7:54 AM
CissieW said...
Another winner! I love the print and the swing of the skirt!
12/1/12 9:24 AM
Morisot said...
Charming dress.
12/1/12 9:39 AM
Rhoda K said...
Gorgeous dress - love your fabric. Congrats on getting the fit worked out.
12/1/12 10:09 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Love the print and the fit looks great. Have you read "Pattern Fitting with Confidence" by Nancy Zieman? She recommends selecting the bodice size based on your shoulders (since they're harder to adjust for) and then altering for other body parts. I can't help but wonder since you pinched out so much, how a 10 would fit in the shoulders tapering to a 12 at the waist (possibly with a FBA)?
12/1/12 10:16 AM
Acient3 said...
You did a beautiful Job, the dress is gorgeous
12/1/12 11:39 AM
miausiau said...
Beautiful dress! I have had some bad times with New Look bodices myself; sometimes another company will fit better. In the end though you have a pattern now that fits and is ready for next time.
12/1/12 7:28 PM
SewWil said...
Pretty dress! Looks great on you.
12/2/12 0:53 AM
lilikats said...
The dress looks beautiful on you, and it was definitely worth the extra work on the pattern placement. I have a few fitting books, but have found "The Complete Photo Guide to Perfect Fitting" by Sarah Veblen an absolute revelation when it comes to getting the fit right. I recommend it highly
12/2/12 4:24 AM
PeggyA said...
I second the recommendation for "a Complete Photo Guide to Perfect Fitting" by Sarah Veblen. It is comprehensive yet very easy to understand and apply. You did a great job fitting your dress!
12/2/12 9:09 AM
dorothyann2 said...
Perfect!
12/15/12 3:20 AM
BlueRock said...
Beautiful! I am planning on using this pattern for my first ever attempt at making a dress and if it turns out anything like yours, I will be delighted.
12/30/12 6:46 PM
koffeegypsy said...
Love your choice of pattern material on this and you look great in it! I made this for my stepmother and she loves the fit as well, it's a very flattering summer dress. One of my favorite books is the Reader's Digest Complete Guide to Sewing - it has great pictures of any kind of tailoring/alteration you may want to do as well as full explanation of things that may not make sense when sewing. If you want the actual tailoring section look for one that was printed in the 1970's to about 1982. At some point in the 80's they removed the actual Tailoring section of the book :(
4/14/13 4:04 PM
hopflower said...
This is one of the prettiest dresses I have seen in a long while. Really wonderful. You just don't see 'pretty' any more.
2/4/14 11:31 AM
MaryMacTree said...
Beautiful Dear! Lovely Lovely Fabric! Perfect
3/23/14 9:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Kwik Sew 3189 Jumper
photo
Review by leapyfrog on 6/9/08
Read Review

New Look 6269 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6269 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2241 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2241 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3027
photo
Review by Sanchara on 3/5/14
Read Review

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light Black
PerfectFuse Light Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us