SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6108 (top, skirt, and scarf)

14 more reviews
Viewed 330 times 
Reviewed by:Lori9999
photo

 
 
About Lori9999star
AZ United States
Member since: 12/6/12
Reviews: 25 (patterns: 24)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/12 3:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said... (4/30/13 2:51 AM) Reply
It looks great for all the trouble you had. Thanks for the heads up.
usbeckers said... (1/7/13 10:20 PM) Reply
Thank you for the review and advice on the arm hole... looks great :)
Lori9999 said... (12/16/12 1:20 PM) Reply
Vonnevo, I don't have a wooden clapper, but did my best to to reduce the bulk by grading and smashing with a hammer. I am thinking that if I make this top again, I might try either re-working the front facing pattern piece by eliminating the pleat completely or replacing it with a dart, which could then be trimmed to lie flatter.
RisaJ said... (12/16/12 10:41 AM) Reply
Top looks great on you. Thanks for the review.
Vonnevo said... (12/16/12 2:47 AM) Reply
Thank you and congratulations on writing your first review !!! Your top looks fabulous, despite your difficulties with the armhole finish. I have this pattern and was very excited to see your review. I pulled out my pattern and yes, I think there may be a better way to finish the armholes, to eliminate the bulk. My RTW cowl top is finished in a similar way too. I wonder if flattenning the shoulder seams with wooden clappers, will reduce the bulk. I often do this with knits on side seam facings.
Lori9999 said... (12/15/12 9:25 PM) Reply
Thanks everyone for your very kind comments.
EleanorSews said... (12/15/12 5:24 PM) Reply
In spite of the difficulties, this top is lovely on you. Both fit and fabric are perfect for you.
Irene said... (12/15/12 4:31 PM) Reply
I feel duly warned by your review . . . but you look fabulous in this top, and it fits you beautifully.
BrendaJoyce said... (12/15/12 4:16 PM) Reply
Even though you had trouble with the pattern, this top really looks stunning on you. The fit is fabulous, especially around the arms. No gaposis at all.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

StyleArc Riva Raglan T-Shirt

photo
by: CissieW

Review
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Simplicity 1886

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review