SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8356 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1676 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 356
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 295 people
patterns reviewed: 256
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/05 11:55 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KarenP said...
Very nice! I think the neck binding gives it a more finished look.
2/5/05 1:03 PM
Amanda L said...
What a cute top! It goes so perfectly with the 3032 skirt and the scarf is a great finishing touch (even if unfinished!) Any pattern that uses a yard of fabric is a friend of mine, I'll have to get it!
2/5/05 1:08 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Deepika, this top looks fantastic on you! The colors are beautiful and I love it with that skirt in the second pic. Wow, it must really be low-cut to start with, but the adjustments you made look great and I think the neckline is perfect on you.
2/5/05 1:09 PM
Gilraen Surion said...
beautiful. Looks great. With the scarf and the skirt vey sophisticated.
2/5/05 2:12 PM
Nickle said...
Very pretty top. The coloring of the fabric really looks nice on you. I like what you did to the neckline.
2/5/05 2:52 PM
PVA said...
Wonderful top! I'm amazed you were able to get that scarf, neckline binding & long skinny tubes for the ties + the top out of 1 yd. of fabric! (Wow) Maybe you're not a genius, just a magician! (ROFLOL)
2/5/05 2:57 PM
jlg said...
Great top, Deepika. I agree with the others; the colors are wonderful on you.
2/5/05 3:54 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Perfection - the fit, the fabric, the colors, the scarf, everything. I think the neck binding adds alot, too. Not bad for a girl in a "sewing slump". ;-)
2/5/05 4:12 PM
Gigi Louis said...
D, it's just beautiful! I bought this pattern too - I had a dress with this shoulder treatment when I was in high school and I loved it!
2/5/05 4:20 PM
tigger said...
beautiful fabric and great review - I love the KS skirt in the second photo as well!
2/5/05 4:31 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Oooh, it's so pretty with the scarf and skirt! I agree with you, that scarf looks better unfinished and soft than with hemmed edges. Excellent save with the binding and deep shoulder seams.
2/5/05 4:51 PM
ryan's mom said...
Beautiful shirt, beautiful print--looks great on you!
2/5/05 5:28 PM
Vonnevo said...
Absolutely beautiful..colour, fit and style..all adds up to a great outfit. I like the your neckline much better than the original. Thanks for the info.
2/5/05 6:41 PM
drsue said...
I like your top so much better than the original. Why is burda making everyone look like a hussy these days?
2/5/05 9:39 PM
Deepika said...
You all really know how to cheer somebody up! And yes with this top I am officially out of my slump Karla :) Amanda you NEED this pattern. But definitely raise the neck. There is no way the pattern photo is from this pattern because its way too low! Pat I am neither :) Just hated to throw the fabric and really this top take so little... .you should definitely try it. Thanks you all for such sweet comments.
2/5/05 10:36 PM
PhyllisC said...
Deepika - this is very you -prefect!
2/5/05 10:56 PM
sewsue said...
Nice top and the scarf looks perfect!
2/6/05 3:12 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Such a beautiful outfit! I love the fabric and color combo!
2/6/05 3:57 AM
AnneM said...
No such thing as cheating - just design opportunities. I like the styles of this pattern.
2/6/05 8:43 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Like this a lot!
2/6/05 4:50 PM
JDpenelope said...
Yes, Yes, Yes! Everything said above, and more. You go girl.
2/6/05 5:29 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Great looking outfit! Don't you love the feeling of stepping out in a completely coordinating ensemble? Especially one you've sewn. Definitely a 'Glamour' DO photo.
2/7/05 10:04 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

New Look 6658

photo
by: Achallengi...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2011-105

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now