SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 2568 

Viewed 563 times 
Reviewed by:merteuil
photo

 
 
About merteuilstar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/13 8:37 AM
Last Updated:1/1/13 9:12 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 23 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BettyMike said...
Absolutely Gorgeous!
1/1/13 8:43 AM
caper81 said...
Very impressive coat! :)
1/1/13 8:58 AM
cltucker said...
What a sewing inspiration for the new year!
1/1/13 9:07 AM
Quickie said...
I am speechless in awe!
1/1/13 9:09 AM
Renren said...
Wow! It's perfect in every detail. And I see it's a Marfy, so that means no instructions, which impresses me even more.
1/1/13 9:50 AM
Re Becca said...
I agree, absolutely gorgeous! Amazing details that you carried off perfectly! You can't go wrong with a Marfy coat, they almost make me wish I needed a coat.
1/1/13 9:54 AM
jlg said...
I love this.
1/1/13 9:58 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Beautiful!
1/1/13 10:13 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Congratulations on making such a beautiful coat! Perfect for Switzerland :)
1/1/13 10:24 AM
jenleeC said...
Fantastic coat! You have done an amazing job!
1/1/13 11:01 AM
PattyE said...
Stunning coat!
1/1/13 11:03 AM
bluenines said...
Absolutely Gorgeous! Love the piping on the inside. and yes coats due take a bit to sew , but what a wonderful coat
1/1/13 11:17 AM
koo104 said...
Nice job, your hand picking around the pocket flaps, the good final pressing, these are the details of a good tailoring. Also you sleeve headers are really well done. Besides it fits and hangs really well. Brava!
1/1/13 11:21 AM
carolynw said...
Perfection - may have taken a long time to finish this project but every minute paid off in one beautiful coat. Great sewing!!
1/1/13 11:36 AM
usbeckers said...
Very nice. It looks great.
1/1/13 12:32 PM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! What a beautiful piece of wearable art! You should be so proud!
1/1/13 2:29 PM
JillyBe said...
This looks like elegant perfection! Personally, I think anyone who makes a tailored Marfy that ends up looking like that is beyond an intermediate sewist...time to upgrade your rating, I say!
1/1/13 3:14 PM
Maree P said...
Your coat is simply stunning. The finish and drape is fabulous.
1/1/13 3:25 PM
CypGrl said...
What a gorgeous coat! I must have some of that fabric that does not attract cat fur.
1/1/13 3:39 PM
Sigrid. said...
Gorgeous. What an impressive coat. Great job and review.
1/1/13 5:55 PM
MariannaSew2Pro said...
What an amazing piece of work! Love the Danton collar (didn't know it was called that)!
1/1/13 6:24 PM
Rhoda K said...
Just beautiful! Wonderful job on your buttonholes.
1/1/13 7:26 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Wow. It's fabulous!
1/2/13 0:16 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
"All of the above"!! WOW!
1/2/13 1:59 AM
cocosloft said...
Simply beautiful. Love the addition of piping, and your expert sewing.
1/2/13 4:11 AM
cindyann said...
Just fabulous!!
1/2/13 9:14 AM
betty bushwacker said...
wow. just....wow.
1/2/13 10:23 AM
cleverkitty said...
outstanding coat, perfect fit! those buttonholes are gorgeous and buttons too.
1/2/13 5:52 PM
MaryDB said...
Oh wow, the coat is beautiful and perfect. I am so impressed by those hand-sewn buttonholes.
1/2/13 10:06 PM
regal80 said...
you did a great job!! It's show stopping beautiful!
1/2/13 10:42 PM
Phillis2 said...
You did a spectacular job. I would have loved to see more of the tailoring work you did. I've been afraid to try Marfy patterns 'cause I like as much instruction as I can get but I think you've encouraged me to try a Marfy pattern. Thanks.
1/7/13 8:45 PM
nancy2001 said...
Spectacular coat and spectacular work! You need to change your rating from Intermediate to Advanced. Congratulations! You've also convinced me to try a Marfy pattern.
3/23/13 11:04 AM
calypso said...
Your coat is fabulous! Thanks so much for the in depth review. I've looked at this pattern for awhile and wondered how it would turn out. Just wonderful. Thanks again :)
4/16/13 8:16 PM
FromHeadToFoot said...
You made a beautiful coat. Thank you for your detailed review including your reference to "The Classic Guide to Sewing The Perfect Jacket - Tailoring". I'll add that to my library if it helps make something so lovely.
11/7/13 8:38 PM
becca a said...
This coat is a work of art! It is truly beautiful--beautiful construction, beautiful fit, beautiful fabric. Wow!
3/1/14 1:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Simplicity 2217

photo
by: scattie

Review
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now