SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Cynthia Guffey Patterns> 4007 (Princess seamline skirt)

Viewed 2156 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 170
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/05 8:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very pretty skirt. There was also an article in this month's Threads about sewing without instructions. Maybe combined with the pleats article that can take a lot of the frustration out of it. I really like the way the skirt and the sweater match. Nice job! -Ann
2/10/05 8:35 PM
mjrsew said...
Good review. I love that skirt. It is really a classic. Re: Cynthia's instructions---I agree that they are written for people who know how to sew. However, many of the techniques that go into her patterns are acutally quite clearly explained in her books. I have them all but don't remember if there is a section on pleating. I'll check it out and let you know. The cost of Cynthia's patterns (for any patterns in truth) is for the design and the drafting--not instructions or photos or any of the extras. I've made several of her patterns and find them so well drafdted that the pieces always fit together and alterations are realtively easy to make reagrdless of what methods you use. Great job!!!
2/10/05 4:10 PM
mjrsew said...
Good review. I love that skirt. It is really a classic. Re: Cynthia's instructions---I agree that they are written for people who know how to sew. However, many of the techniques that go into her patterns are actually quite clearly explained in her books. I have them all but don't remember if there is a section on pleating. I'll check it out and let you know. The cost of Cynthia's patterns (for any patterns in truth) is for the design and the drafting--not instructions or photos or any of the extras. I've made several of her patterns and find them so well drafted that the pieces always fit together and alterations are realtively easy to make regardless of what methods you use. Great job!!!
2/10/05 4:07 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely outfit. I like the look of the skirt.
2/9/05 6:29 PM
Phoebe said...
You did a beautiful job with the skirt, the fit is perfect. My mom once told me a trick for pleats. If you iron them with a bit of vinegar-water, the pleats will last. I used a pressing cloth soaked in a bit of vinegar water and then use a clapper to hold in the steam. It looks like your method did a great job, I just wanted to give you yet another way to accomplish the task.
2/9/05 9:12 AM
Campbell said...
I have 2 Cynthia Guffey patterns and found the lack of instructions very discouraging. I probably could make them but I am in no rush.
2/9/05 8:40 AM
Patti B said...
Thanks for the kind words - I do like the skirt and it's fun to wear. It really wasn't difficult to sew even with the lack of instructions and is so well drafted that the fit is good. Nancy Anne, did you see the link to the pleat view at the end of the first paragraph?
2/9/05 8:40 AM
Deepika said...
Wow what a nice skirt. I've seen this pattern but never had the courage to make it up :)
2/9/05 7:30 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful skirt! Wish I could get a closer up pic of the pleats and the bottom of it. I am with Anne- I'd have to pass on this one with so little instructions.
2/9/05 6:39 AM
AnneM said...
Great looking outfit. I'll skip the pattern, though - I like instructions.
2/9/05 5:57 AM
drsue said...
Boy, you'd think you'd get more instructions for $18! Good job despite the lack of instruction.
2/8/05 10:38 PM
marya said...
Thanks for bringing attention to a classy pattern line.I guess I'll wait till I have more experience, or the patterns get more directions. Nice work on your skirt. It looks very graceful to wear and walk in.
2/8/05 10:27 PM
Tina C said...
Pattie, Very pretty skirt. And how clever using a foam paintbrush to daub water on the pleats!
2/8/05 10:09 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I have this pattern, too! It's the only CG pattern I have; I just couldn't resist it after I saw it on the model at last year's sewing expo...it moved so nicely. Just waiting for the right fabric...your paper template idea is great!
2/8/05 9:10 PM
jlg said...
Pretty skirt, and it looks good on you, but 6 sentences of instructions for a pleated skirt?
2/8/05 9:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: Joyatee

Review
StyleArc Melissa Blouse

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now