SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Cynthia Guffey Patterns> 4007 (Princess seamline skirt)

Viewed 2153 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/05 8:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Pretty skirt, and it looks good on you, but 6 sentences of instructions for a pleated skirt?
2/8/05 9:07 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I have this pattern, too! It's the only CG pattern I have; I just couldn't resist it after I saw it on the model at last year's sewing expo...it moved so nicely. Just waiting for the right fabric...your paper template idea is great!
2/8/05 9:10 PM
Tina C said...
Pattie, Very pretty skirt. And how clever using a foam paintbrush to daub water on the pleats!
2/8/05 10:09 PM
marya said...
Thanks for bringing attention to a classy pattern line.I guess I'll wait till I have more experience, or the patterns get more directions. Nice work on your skirt. It looks very graceful to wear and walk in.
2/8/05 10:27 PM
drsue said...
Boy, you'd think you'd get more instructions for $18! Good job despite the lack of instruction.
2/8/05 10:38 PM
AnneM said...
Great looking outfit. I'll skip the pattern, though - I like instructions.
2/9/05 5:57 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful skirt! Wish I could get a closer up pic of the pleats and the bottom of it. I am with Anne- I'd have to pass on this one with so little instructions.
2/9/05 6:39 AM
Deepika said...
Wow what a nice skirt. I've seen this pattern but never had the courage to make it up :)
2/9/05 7:30 AM
Patti B said...
Thanks for the kind words - I do like the skirt and it's fun to wear. It really wasn't difficult to sew even with the lack of instructions and is so well drafted that the fit is good. Nancy Anne, did you see the link to the pleat view at the end of the first paragraph?
2/9/05 8:40 AM
Campbell said...
I have 2 Cynthia Guffey patterns and found the lack of instructions very discouraging. I probably could make them but I am in no rush.
2/9/05 8:40 AM
Phoebe said...
You did a beautiful job with the skirt, the fit is perfect. My mom once told me a trick for pleats. If you iron them with a bit of vinegar-water, the pleats will last. I used a pressing cloth soaked in a bit of vinegar water and then use a clapper to hold in the steam. It looks like your method did a great job, I just wanted to give you yet another way to accomplish the task.
2/9/05 9:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely outfit. I like the look of the skirt.
2/9/05 6:29 PM
mjrsew said...
Good review. I love that skirt. It is really a classic. Re: Cynthia's instructions---I agree that they are written for people who know how to sew. However, many of the techniques that go into her patterns are actually quite clearly explained in her books. I have them all but don't remember if there is a section on pleating. I'll check it out and let you know. The cost of Cynthia's patterns (for any patterns in truth) is for the design and the drafting--not instructions or photos or any of the extras. I've made several of her patterns and find them so well drafted that the pieces always fit together and alterations are realtively easy to make regardless of what methods you use. Great job!!!
2/10/05 4:07 PM
mjrsew said...
Good review. I love that skirt. It is really a classic. Re: Cynthia's instructions---I agree that they are written for people who know how to sew. However, many of the techniques that go into her patterns are acutally quite clearly explained in her books. I have them all but don't remember if there is a section on pleating. I'll check it out and let you know. The cost of Cynthia's patterns (for any patterns in truth) is for the design and the drafting--not instructions or photos or any of the extras. I've made several of her patterns and find them so well drafdted that the pieces always fit together and alterations are realtively easy to make reagrdless of what methods you use. Great job!!!
2/10/05 4:10 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very pretty skirt. There was also an article in this month's Threads about sewing without instructions. Maybe combined with the pleats article that can take a lot of the frustration out of it. I really like the way the skirt and the sweater match. Nice job! -Ann
2/10/05 8:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: karen n

Review
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8884

photo
by: Sue Anfang

Review