Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cynthia Guffey Patterns: 4007 (Princess seamline skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 2142 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/05 8:47 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Pretty skirt, and it looks good on you, but 6 sentences of instructions for a pleated skirt?
2/8/05 9:07 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I have this pattern, too! It's the only CG pattern I have; I just couldn't resist it after I saw it on the model at last year's sewing expo...it moved so nicely. Just waiting for the right fabric...your paper template idea is great!
2/8/05 9:10 PM
Tina C said...
Pattie, Very pretty skirt. And how clever using a foam paintbrush to daub water on the pleats!
2/8/05 10:09 PM
marya said...
Thanks for bringing attention to a classy pattern line.I guess I'll wait till I have more experience, or the patterns get more directions. Nice work on your skirt. It looks very graceful to wear and walk in.
2/8/05 10:27 PM
drsue said...
Boy, you'd think you'd get more instructions for $18! Good job despite the lack of instruction.
2/8/05 10:38 PM
AnneM said...
Great looking outfit. I'll skip the pattern, though - I like instructions.
2/9/05 5:57 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Beautiful skirt! Wish I could get a closer up pic of the pleats and the bottom of it. I am with Anne- I'd have to pass on this one with so little instructions.
2/9/05 6:39 AM
Deepika said...
Wow what a nice skirt. I've seen this pattern but never had the courage to make it up :)
2/9/05 7:30 AM
Patti B said...
Thanks for the kind words - I do like the skirt and it's fun to wear. It really wasn't difficult to sew even with the lack of instructions and is so well drafted that the fit is good. Nancy Anne, did you see the link to the pleat view at the end of the first paragraph?
2/9/05 8:40 AM
Campbell said...
I have 2 Cynthia Guffey patterns and found the lack of instructions very discouraging. I probably could make them but I am in no rush.
2/9/05 8:40 AM
Phoebe said...
You did a beautiful job with the skirt, the fit is perfect. My mom once told me a trick for pleats. If you iron them with a bit of vinegar-water, the pleats will last. I used a pressing cloth soaked in a bit of vinegar water and then use a clapper to hold in the steam. It looks like your method did a great job, I just wanted to give you yet another way to accomplish the task.
2/9/05 9:12 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely outfit. I like the look of the skirt.
2/9/05 6:29 PM
mjrsew said...
Good review. I love that skirt. It is really a classic. Re: Cynthia's instructions---I agree that they are written for people who know how to sew. However, many of the techniques that go into her patterns are actually quite clearly explained in her books. I have them all but don't remember if there is a section on pleating. I'll check it out and let you know. The cost of Cynthia's patterns (for any patterns in truth) is for the design and the drafting--not instructions or photos or any of the extras. I've made several of her patterns and find them so well drafted that the pieces always fit together and alterations are realtively easy to make regardless of what methods you use. Great job!!!
2/10/05 4:07 PM
mjrsew said...
Good review. I love that skirt. It is really a classic. Re: Cynthia's instructions---I agree that they are written for people who know how to sew. However, many of the techniques that go into her patterns are acutally quite clearly explained in her books. I have them all but don't remember if there is a section on pleating. I'll check it out and let you know. The cost of Cynthia's patterns (for any patterns in truth) is for the design and the drafting--not instructions or photos or any of the extras. I've made several of her patterns and find them so well drafdted that the pieces always fit together and alterations are realtively easy to make reagrdless of what methods you use. Great job!!!
2/10/05 4:10 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very pretty skirt. There was also an article in this month's Threads about sewing without instructions. Maybe combined with the pleats article that can take a lot of the frustration out of it. I really like the way the skirt and the sweater match. Nice job! -Ann
2/10/05 8:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Butterick 6838 6838
photo
Review by Kayseri on 9/9/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1008 lace skirt
photo
Review by French.Sea... on 9/16/13
Read Review

McCalls 6228 Pattern ( Size 34-36 )
McCalls 6228 Pattern ( Size 34-36 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us