SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6901 

15 more reviews
Viewed 717 times 
Reviewed by:CurlyCrafter
photo

 
 
About CurlyCrafterstar
WA USA
Member since: 12/10/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/11/13 0:04 AM
Last Updated:1/21/14 1:34 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:New Look 6901
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:ITY Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Pattern for two different knit tops and one elastic waist knit skirt. I think this was also a top/favorite pattern here at PR a couple of years ago (maybe 2009 or 2010?).
Pattern Sizing:
8-18, I cut out size 14
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes, and there were basic tips for sewing with knit fabric that were helpful
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The instructions for the knit skirt were very easy to follow. However, instead of sewing the side seams closed for the top part of the skirt and then the side seams closed for the bottom flounce part of the skirt and then sewing the two sections together, I just sewed each top part to a bottom flounce part and then sewed up the sides.
Fabric Used:
ITY Jersey knit
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
none
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I will definitely sew it again but next time I might make it a few inches shorter (since it fell about 4 inches past my knee) just for variety.
Conclusion:
This is a simple pattern to follow and would be a good introduction to sewing with knits. I think it makes a simple, but pretty and feminine skirt that's comfortable to wear.

More notes on my blog

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nonezzat said...
This is very pretty. I like your tips on the hem.
1/11/13 6:49 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your skirt turned out perfectly! Don't you just love steam a seam
1/11/13 7:45 AM
margy.64 said...
Love your fabric choice. Such pretty colours.
1/11/13 8:05 AM
Myspirit4 said...
very nice! Love the skirt fabric!!
1/11/13 9:18 AM
Elemenopeo said...
pretty!
1/11/13 9:28 AM
Dee2 said...
Your skirt looks really cute. The fabric is beautiful.
1/11/13 6:27 PM
Scheri said...
Great style. Looks soft and comfortable.
1/11/13 9:11 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
I enjoyed the more detailed steps you explain on your blog. Very helpful and gave me lots of good tips. Lovely skirt!
1/12/13 11:26 AM
Elke said...
Looks great on you!
1/21/14 7:42 AM
Quickie said...
Nice skirt
1/21/14 11:39 AM
Renren said...
I like the way you changed the order of construction regarding side seams of skirt and flounce. It seems like you way would be a lot easier.
1/21/14 5:11 PM
Renren said...
I like the way you changed the order of construction regarding side seams of skirt and flounce. It seems like you way would be a lot easier.
1/21/14 5:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Simplicity 4203

photo
by: JessicaFer...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2012-109

photo
by: tiadia

Review
Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Sew Chic Pendleton Dress Pattern (ln8002)

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now