Online Sewing Class: Create a Jacket Muslin
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2339 (Misses' )

36 more reviews
Viewed 413 times 
Reviewed by:wingamajig
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About wingamajigstar
Member since: 8/27/11
Reviews: 61 (patterns: 61)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/13 6:29 PM
Last Updated:1/13/13 10:27 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Just Make it Sew


Quality Fashion Fabrics
Deals!

Home Sewing Depot


Home Dec Sewing Supplies
Deals!

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
FromHeadToFoot said... (4/9/16 12:25 PM) Reply
Thanks for the fitting advice and photos of your pattern changes. I appreciate your back-and-forth with sewingcanary.
wingamajig said... (8/5/13 1:42 PM) Reply
thanks sweingcanary - I should have mentioned that I made an error in the front when cutting out the facings, and I raised the center front to adjust by 5/8". So, it is not as bad as it seems. I do think my high bust adjustment could come back down a bit, it adds to the effect you are seeing, and causes drag lines. I am going to examine how the shoulder seam is sitting though now that you mention it. I have this pattern first on my list for fall sewing - so I'd love to get the fit correct.
sewingcanary said... (8/4/13 1:10 PM) Reply
Iíve been looking through fitting books but canít find what Iím looking for. I see you are familiar with pattern adjustments and I donít want to steer you wrong, so think on this and see if it might work to make it hang better in front. It rides high in the middle. This can be from a couple things but with one pic itís hard to know why. It could be riding back from the shoulders because the back neck is too high or the shoulder is wrong or the back shoulder too low, or it could be needing more length in the center front at waist downward. Note the pattern the envelope picture points out where the shoulder seam sits. You may need to add there. Remember, if you make the back seam larger you will also need to change the neck, collar and sleeve the same amount. To add to centre bodice length, you could try splitting the pattern across and adding a wedge from centre line tapered to nothing at the side seam (start with ĹĒ or 1 cm and increase as needed, tapering to nothing at the side seam). However, this would skew the front line a bit and youíd have to straighten it. If the adjustment is relatively minor, drawing a line down from neck to hem wouldnít change the overall width much and no further adjustment would be necessary. If a larger amount was added, you might have to add the loss from the widest part on to the side seam at the level of the wedge. Batik was a great choice. It gets softer and softer as time goes on. I love it. Thanks for your review!
Lucy in Virginia said... (1/13/13 8:49 PM) Reply
How flattering on you! I must find this in the bowels of my pattern stash. Thanks for all the great fit tips!
FreyaStark said... (1/13/13 3:35 AM) Reply
It's not bad for a muslin. The next one will be even better, and in the meantime you've got a snazzy casual shirt!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Simplicity 2975

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
New Conceptions burping cloths

photo
by: maria 6705

Review
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Pattern Details