Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2339 (Misses' ) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 382 times 30 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:wingamajig
photo
Friend of PR
About wingamajigstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/27/11
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/12/13 6:29 PM
Last Updated:1/13/13 10:27 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
It's not bad for a muslin. The next one will be even better, and in the meantime you've got a snazzy casual shirt!
1/13/13 3:35 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
How flattering on you! I must find this in the bowels of my pattern stash. Thanks for all the great fit tips!
1/13/13 8:49 PM
sewingcanary said...
Iíve been looking through fitting books but canít find what Iím looking for. I see you are familiar with pattern adjustments and I donít want to steer you wrong, so think on this and see if it might work to make it hang better in front. It rides high in the middle. This can be from a couple things but with one pic itís hard to know why. It could be riding back from the shoulders because the back neck is too high or the shoulder is wrong or the back shoulder too low, or it could be needing more length in the center front at waist downward. Note the pattern the envelope picture points out where the shoulder seam sits. You may need to add there. Remember, if you make the back seam larger you will also need to change the neck, collar and sleeve the same amount. To add to centre bodice length, you could try splitting the pattern across and adding a wedge from centre line tapered to nothing at the side seam (start with ĹĒ or 1 cm and increase as needed, tapering to nothing at the side seam). However, this would skew the front line a bit and youíd have to straighten it. If the adjustment is relatively minor, drawing a line down from neck to hem wouldnít change the overall width much and no further adjustment would be necessary. If a larger amount was added, you might have to add the loss from the widest part on to the side seam at the level of the wedge. Batik was a great choice. It gets softer and softer as time goes on. I love it. Thanks for your review!
8/4/13 1:10 PM
wingamajig said...
thanks sweingcanary - I should have mentioned that I made an error in the front when cutting out the facings, and I raised the center front to adjust by 5/8". So, it is not as bad as it seems. I do think my high bust adjustment could come back down a bit, it adds to the effect you are seeing, and causes drag lines. I am going to examine how the shoulder seam is sitting though now that you mention it. I have this pattern first on my list for fall sewing - so I'd love to get the fit correct.
8/5/13 1:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

StyleArc Grace Trans-seasonal Coat Grace
photo
Review by Pollycotto... on 7/22/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8923
photo
Review by Kendrasews... on 9/30/13
Read Review

Simplicity 2194 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 2194 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8883 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8883 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us