SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5425 (Lined Coat)

4 more reviews
Viewed 619 times 
Reviewed by:Viviette
photo

 
 
About Viviette
CA USA
Member since: 1/13/13
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/13 3:09 PM
Last Updated:1/16/13 12:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewrose said...
You and that coat are gorgeous!
1/18/13 6:48 PM
sugarduck said...
This looks like a beautiful costume from a 1940s technicolor film. I LOVE the pop of red in the hood's lining. Beautiful coat!
1/17/13 5:18 AM
Scheri said...
Absolutely perfect :-)
1/17/13 2:49 AM
Claverie said...
You must be proud. What a beautiful coat!
1/16/13 6:02 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful work!
1/16/13 4:59 PM
PattyE said...
Wow, great job on this!
1/16/13 4:50 PM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful creation! Very boutique-worthy!
1/16/13 1:14 PM
Viviette said...
Thanks so much, everyone! I guess I tagged it as "Easy" based on the original pattern, not my modifications. The pattern is listed as "easy to make" on the envelope, and I think that it would be pretty easy for a beginner coat. Princess seams are easier to modify for shape, and it doesn't have any welt pockets, ect. that are more advanced to make. @Karen Easter, I do, but I'm not sure how to load more than one photo to the review? Sorry, still learning about the site. :) @Becca A., I did it a fast and dirty way because I had already cut the self fabric - I lowered the sleeve cap height at the top by about an inch and reshaped the cap down to the notches. The next time I make the coat, I will recalculate the sleeve ease and change the pattern.
1/16/13 12:17 PM
becca a said...
Gorgeous coat! You really altered the pattern to make it your own. How did you remove the extra sleeve cap ease?
1/15/13 11:53 PM
Karen Easter said...
Do you have a picture of the back?
1/15/13 10:58 PM
Karen Easter said...
I love what you have done with this pattern!
1/15/13 10:58 PM
margy.64 said...
Your coat looks so professionally made. It's absolutely gorgeous and you wear it like a professional model. Fantastic work.
1/15/13 7:16 PM
charid dawn said...
Great job. Workmanship looks spotless. I can't imagine this being a great beginner project, especially with them modifications. Your garment looks better than the one on the package.
1/15/13 4:41 PM
tigergirl said...
I am speechless, what a stunning coat. Despite the "easy & great for beginners" tag, I doubt that I'd even contemplate it.
1/15/13 4:11 PM
slmstyle said...
Beautiful job on this gorgeous coat!
1/15/13 4:04 PM
bigalsgal said...
i agree with everyone- this is beautiful!
1/15/13 1:41 PM
cindyann said...
Just lovely!!!
1/15/13 1:30 PM
Silknmore said...
Absolutely gorgeous. Congratulations
1/15/13 11:46 AM
usbeckers said...
WOW. Very nice.
1/15/13 11:37 AM
JudyMac said...
Gorgeous!
1/15/13 10:08 AM
lbrundage said...
absolutely amazing. It's such a romantic coat!
1/15/13 9:35 AM
ThreadsofFaith said...
Simply breath taking!
1/15/13 8:14 AM
mending maven said...
Wow! Great workmanship and love the lined hood giving that pop of color around you face. Wonderful
1/15/13 8:07 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Beautiful!!!
1/15/13 8:06 AM
Lori V said...
So pretty.
1/15/13 6:57 AM
SavageCoco said...
Outstanding workmanship!
1/15/13 4:02 AM
Clareew said...
Wonderful, great review
1/15/13 3:14 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful coat! Great job.
1/15/13 0:18 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
gorgeous coat! I just love it!
1/14/13 11:50 PM
KG2 said...
That looks amazing!! Great job!
1/14/13 10:48 PM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous coat!
1/14/13 9:37 PM
sewbehind said...
Very beautiful. You look great in it.
1/14/13 7:20 PM
Viviette said...
Yay! Thank you, everyone! Karen N., Thank you for the tip! I fixed it, it seems to be linked now.
1/14/13 6:35 PM
catty said...
That is absolutely gorgeous.
1/14/13 4:53 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Beautiful!
1/14/13 4:35 PM
lauraborealis said...
Gorgeous!
1/14/13 4:26 PM
Dilliander said...
Fabulous coat! The piping was a great idea.
1/14/13 4:14 PM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful coat and congrats on your 1st pattern review.
1/14/13 4:06 PM
karen n said...
Very storybook and wonderful! fyi - I don't think your review is linked to the pattern. Maybe the "B" in front of the # is throwing it off?
1/14/13 4:01 PM
pamscott said...
That is just beautiful. :0)
1/14/13 3:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

New Look 6571

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Vogue Patterns 1187

photo
by: Monabel

Review
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now