Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5425 (Lined Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 594 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Viviette
photo
About Viviette
CA USA
Member since: 1/13/13
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/13 3:09 PM
Last Updated:1/16/13 12:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pamscott said...
That is just beautiful. :0)
1/14/13 3:18 PM
karen n said...
Very storybook and wonderful! fyi - I don't think your review is linked to the pattern. Maybe the "B" in front of the # is throwing it off?
1/14/13 4:01 PM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful coat and congrats on your 1st pattern review.
1/14/13 4:06 PM
Dilliander said...
Fabulous coat! The piping was a great idea.
1/14/13 4:14 PM
lauraborealis said...
Gorgeous!
1/14/13 4:26 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Beautiful!
1/14/13 4:35 PM
catty said...
That is absolutely gorgeous.
1/14/13 4:53 PM
Viviette said...
Yay! Thank you, everyone! Karen N., Thank you for the tip! I fixed it, it seems to be linked now.
1/14/13 6:35 PM
sewbehind said...
Very beautiful. You look great in it.
1/14/13 7:20 PM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous coat!
1/14/13 9:37 PM
KG2 said...
That looks amazing!! Great job!
1/14/13 10:48 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
gorgeous coat! I just love it!
1/14/13 11:50 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful coat! Great job.
1/15/13 0:18 AM
Clareew said...
Wonderful, great review
1/15/13 3:14 AM
SavageCoco said...
Outstanding workmanship!
1/15/13 4:02 AM
Lori V said...
So pretty.
1/15/13 6:57 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Beautiful!!!
1/15/13 8:06 AM
mending maven said...
Wow! Great workmanship and love the lined hood giving that pop of color around you face. Wonderful
1/15/13 8:07 AM
ThreadsofFaith said...
Simply breath taking!
1/15/13 8:14 AM
lbrundage said...
absolutely amazing. It's such a romantic coat!
1/15/13 9:35 AM
JudyMac said...
Gorgeous!
1/15/13 10:08 AM
usbeckers said...
WOW. Very nice.
1/15/13 11:37 AM
Silknmore said...
Absolutely gorgeous. Congratulations
1/15/13 11:46 AM
cindyann said...
Just lovely!!!
1/15/13 1:30 PM
bigalsgal said...
i agree with everyone- this is beautiful!
1/15/13 1:41 PM
slmstyle said...
Beautiful job on this gorgeous coat!
1/15/13 4:04 PM
tigergirl said...
I am speechless, what a stunning coat. Despite the "easy & great for beginners" tag, I doubt that I'd even contemplate it.
1/15/13 4:11 PM
charid dawn said...
Great job. Workmanship looks spotless. I can't imagine this being a great beginner project, especially with them modifications. Your garment looks better than the one on the package.
1/15/13 4:41 PM
margy.64 said...
Your coat looks so professionally made. It's absolutely gorgeous and you wear it like a professional model. Fantastic work.
1/15/13 7:16 PM
Karen Easter said...
I love what you have done with this pattern!
1/15/13 10:58 PM
Karen Easter said...
Do you have a picture of the back?
1/15/13 10:58 PM
becca a said...
Gorgeous coat! You really altered the pattern to make it your own. How did you remove the extra sleeve cap ease?
1/15/13 11:53 PM
Viviette said...
Thanks so much, everyone! I guess I tagged it as "Easy" based on the original pattern, not my modifications. The pattern is listed as "easy to make" on the envelope, and I think that it would be pretty easy for a beginner coat. Princess seams are easier to modify for shape, and it doesn't have any welt pockets, ect. that are more advanced to make. @Karen Easter, I do, but I'm not sure how to load more than one photo to the review? Sorry, still learning about the site. :) @Becca A., I did it a fast and dirty way because I had already cut the self fabric - I lowered the sleeve cap height at the top by about an inch and reshaped the cap down to the notches. The next time I make the coat, I will recalculate the sleeve ease and change the pattern.
1/16/13 12:17 PM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful creation! Very boutique-worthy!
1/16/13 1:14 PM
PattyE said...
Wow, great job on this!
1/16/13 4:50 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful work!
1/16/13 4:59 PM
Claverie said...
You must be proud. What a beautiful coat!
1/16/13 6:02 PM
Scheri said...
Absolutely perfect :-)
1/17/13 2:49 AM
sugarduck said...
This looks like a beautiful costume from a 1940s technicolor film. I LOVE the pop of red in the hood's lining. Beautiful coat!
1/17/13 5:18 AM
sewrose said...
You and that coat are gorgeous!
1/18/13 6:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Vogue Patterns 2429 A-line Dress
photo
Review by ladybegood on 1/21/08
Read Review

Mini Miranda Bag
Mini Miranda Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4076
photo
Review by SueV on 5/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3976 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3976 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us