SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> MariaDenmark> 801 (Super Socks)

Viewed 238 times 
Reviewed by:hannybobbins
photo

 
 
About hannybobbins
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 8/17/12
Reviews: 2 (patterns: 1)
Skill level:Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/14/13 4:46 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $7.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $7.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MartiP said... (1/16/13 10:46 AM) Reply
I have used the flatlock technique but found that it sometimes comes apart where you serge over the little heel seam.
MartiP said... (1/16/13 10:46 AM) Reply
I have used the flatlock technique but found that it sometimes comes apart where you serge over the little heel seam.
2 Airedales n Me said... (1/16/13 1:19 AM) Reply
I also use a flat-lock stitch on my serger for socks and that really helps. I adore fleece socks in my hiking boots and Hunters...for dog-walking they're the best.
MariaDenmark said... (1/15/13 2:11 AM) Reply
They look great - what a fun print. I sometimes make them using the flatlock stitch (no seam allowance needed, then), to make them completely flat. But actually I wear my socks (constructed w ordinary serger stitch) all day in my boots - over thinner socks - when I'm at the fabric store (meaning I stand and walk for 8 hours) this time of year. And no problems..
MartiP said... (1/14/13 5:44 PM) Reply
I have a similar pattern and I find that the socks are comfortable as long as you stitch them with a sewing machine rather that a serger. I use a triple straight stitch (strength + stretch!) and have some that have lasted for years.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 6400

photo
by: STARG

Review
The Whimsy Bag Paper Pattern

The Whimsy Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details
Kwik Sew 2900

photo
by: LiZ

Review