SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 2643 (Marfy Sweetheart dress)

Viewed 784 times 
Reviewed by:Achallengingsew
photo

 
 
About Achallengingsewstar
CT
Member since: 1/11/13
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/16/13 7:09 PM
Last Updated:1/17/13 11:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mmcp said...
Wow just spectacular--the final product is gorgeous.
1/16/13 7:14 PM
Re Becca said...
It looks really pretty! I would love to see a bigger photo link in your review. I too am a Marfy addict, they really do fit perfectly. Do you have your new catalog yet?
1/16/13 7:45 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
OH MY GOD! That is amazing made in your fabric choice. Such an unbelievable dress
1/16/13 7:57 PM
Achallengingsew said...
Thank you all so much! I think I fixed the link so that it shows all the photos including muslin now. I'm heading to Marfy to order the new catalog, my poor credit card!!
1/16/13 8:27 PM
tigergirl said...
as mmcp said - spectacular. The fabric you've chosen is just perfect.
1/16/13 8:53 PM
Steph huck said...
Stunning!!! I can only dream of sewing that beautifully.
1/16/13 9:00 PM
PattyE said...
Oh it's stunning!
1/16/13 9:11 PM
velosewer said...
Absolutely stunning dress. Your photos are really great.
1/16/13 9:16 PM
margy.64 said...
Love your fabric choice. Your dress is stunning.
1/16/13 9:40 PM
jenleeC said...
Stunning dress! Your fabric is glorious and the perfect choice for this pattern. Thank you so much for all the construction photos. Every time I see another wonderful Marfy creation I am cross all over again that their sizing doesn't cater for petites.
1/16/13 9:45 PM
cmcarr said...
Beautiful!
1/16/13 11:28 PM
Margie T said...
Stunning.
1/17/13 0:46 AM
SewWil said...
Stunning dress! Looks amazing on you.
1/17/13 1:01 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I think you have more than intermediate skills. Your patience with the muslin paid off, your dress is a knock out!
1/17/13 1:25 AM
2 Airedales n Me said...
You must be soooo patient! But boy did your patience and hard work pay off. So nice that you had Susan K looking in on your work...a memorable experience and a VERY memorable dress! Wow!
1/17/13 1:37 AM
McFeather said...
Wow, what an inspiring dress! Love your fabric choice as well.
1/17/13 1:43 AM
slmstyle said...
Simply gorgeous! The fabric, the fit, everything! Thank you for the review.
1/17/13 1:55 AM
pdiddly said...
beautiful dress and o well made
1/17/13 2:51 AM
mmcp said...
ditto-ing jenleeC, it's really frustrating that they don't make smaller sizes.
1/17/13 6:16 AM
Karine said...
Your dress is absolutely stunning. It's remarkable that you didn't make any pattern alterations and achieved such a beautiful fit. I particularly liked your fabric layout - the pattern on the fabric is just perfect on the dress. I really enjoyed seeing all of your muslin construction photos - thanks for sharing them.
1/17/13 6:48 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your dress is amazing! I would love to study with Susan Khalje!
1/17/13 7:08 AM
fourkid said...
Gorgeous, and so flattering! Excellent job.
1/17/13 7:15 AM
Silknmore said...
Fabulous dress. What a challenging project and you made it work out beautifully.
1/17/13 8:57 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Absolutely beautiful. The fabric is to die for.
1/17/13 10:13 AM
Myspirit4 said...
oh wow! That is amazing...
1/17/13 10:18 AM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, my...this is truly a work of art! Just gorgeous!
1/17/13 10:27 AM
Achallengingsew said...
Thank you all again, your comments are so incredibly lovely....I cannot recommend a class with Susan enough Goodbye Valentino (you have a great blog!) or Marfy patterns, its such a shame they come in so few size options. I know they recommend taking them to a pattern maker to alter but it does defeat the object some what....
1/17/13 11:13 AM
Nenewhis said...
Oh my goodness, that is one beautiful dress!
1/17/13 11:18 AM
nicegirl said...
Totally gorgeous--a perfect use of that fabric and the fit and workmanship are just beyond. Love it.
1/17/13 11:28 AM
kangafrog said...
Wow! I was going to say "spectacular" but I see that word has (deservedly) been used several times already, so I will say "magnificent" instead. Great fabric, great fit, great photos and you look fabulous. Well done!
1/17/13 11:44 AM
mnitts said...
You and the dress look beautiful. So much work but well worth it.
1/17/13 12:51 PM
Pj3g said...
Incredible!!!
1/17/13 2:19 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Breathtakingly beautiful. Congratulations to you.
1/17/13 4:15 PM
Fishwipe said...
Wow!!
1/17/13 4:26 PM
norie creates said...
Wow! Fabulous dress! It's stunning on you!
1/17/13 4:59 PM
Diane333 said...
Had to show your work to my family. Incredible!
1/17/13 8:06 PM
KathleenS said...
That's amazing. Beautiful job with the print placement.
1/18/13 3:14 AM
Marge99 said...
Absolutely gorgeous.
1/18/13 5:59 AM
jenjen2025 said...
The dress is absolutely beautiful and your choice of fabric is also magnificent. It is stunning. I too love Marfy patterns though I do find them challenging at times they are far superior in both fit and design than any others.
2/3/13 8:56 PM
Fictionfan said...
Oh my, to be able to sew up a pattern without any alterations! You are so the Marfy model! Georgeous dress, amazing fabric, how many places or occasions can you find to wear it! Time to knock that skill rating up to advanced.
2/4/13 10:05 PM
FrauW said...
I have been googly eyeing that pattern forever! Well, not forever, but ever since I saw it. A masterpiece. Wish I had somewhere to wear a dress like that.
3/17/13 1:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2011-20

photo
by: Ejegmama

Review
StyleArc Cosy Cardi

photo
by: sfshaza

Review
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now