SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7447 (Misses Pants)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1043 times 
Reviewed by:Lori V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lori Vstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/20/02
Reviews written: 351
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 350
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/13 10:32 PM
Last Updated:7/23/14 1:52 PM
Project Photo:Burda: 7447 by Lori V

Burda: 7447 by Lori V    
Pattern Photo:Burda 7447
Burda Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Updated 7-23-14
I made another pair of these fabulous pants using Mood Fabrics' black-white Italian Cotton. This time I used the leg cut of Burda 6981. I am so happy to have a pant pattern that fits and looks good. The fabric was easy to sew. One thing I would change was I sewed the welt pocket bags using black quilting cotton, you can see this black cotton a bit under the welt. Next time, I will use the fashion fabric for a bit of the pocket bag which might show.
More pictures on my blog

Original review:
Updated 2-7-13 for red version.
Made these pants wide leg. Used Italian suiting from Mood Fabrics.
Check out several pictures on my blog

Original picture can be found here
Pattern Description: Semi-fitted Pants, probably more fitted than semi-fitted.
Pattern Sizing: Size 8 - 20. I made the 12 (38) which is what I make in most Burda patterns.
Instructions: They were good, especially for Burda. I even followed their welt pocket instructions, took a couple of read-throughs but I grasped the concept. Plus, this is the first ever pant welt pockets, I have sewn and the are even!
The instructions went in a nice order, easy to understand and follow.
Changes: I made none this first time. I think for the next time, I might make them shorter, like to wear with flats. I did not add length and I need to wear heels with this pair. I was getting funny wrinkles in the front, around bottom of the zipper. I pulled out my fitting book, one thing they said was the hem was too long. I folded up the hem and no more wrinkles. Easiest fit fix ever.
Also, I might use a size 10 for the back of the pants, they are a bit loose. See if that helps the problem.
Fabric: A stretch denim from Hobby Lobby, not crazy at all about the fabric or the look but it worked for a muslin, which turned out wearable.
Conclusion: A classic style of pants, that fit great without any alterations.

More pics on my blog
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GBK said...
Nice fitting pants! Would have never thought these were a wearable muslin, thex look RTW on you.
1/19/13 1:55 AM
Maree P said...
They look great Lori. I think this is a great pattern...I have made three pairs now ...and I think there may be more. Looking forward to seeing your next pair.
1/19/13 4:57 AM
cleverkitty said...
Beautiful looking pants, your pockets right out of the box look professional. I want to make more blouses too! Love the pictures on your porch.
1/19/13 9:14 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Lovely -- great work. :)
1/19/13 9:32 AM
French.Seam said...
Good tip about using a smaller size for the back legs: I've just had the same problem with Vogue 8774
1/19/13 9:53 AM
Barbara V said...
Nice job on these great fitting pants!
1/19/13 10:25 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very nice! They look better on you than they do on the pattern envelope. They look lovely.
1/19/13 11:54 AM
JanJanB said...
Love these on you! Great job on the welt pockets. I just finished cutting these out.
1/19/13 12:36 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Beautiful pair of pants and an amazing fit!!!
1/19/13 12:51 PM
becca a said...
Great pants and beautiful welt pockets!
1/20/13 9:55 AM
meggipeg said...
Those look blinking fantastic, much better than the pattern picture!!
2/7/13 5:31 PM
Elona said...
What a smashing outfit! The pants look superb on you.
2/7/13 8:24 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! How did I miss your original post? Your pants look terrific.
2/7/13 10:51 PM
Jrhee said...
Awesome pants! Love the color!
2/8/13 1:39 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Nice fit!
2/8/13 6:17 AM
grays08 said...
You've done a great job with your versions of this pant. I would love to find a TNT for me and need to hit up the Burdas for sure as they have great pants!
2/8/13 1:04 PM
margy.64 said...
Great looking pants. The fit is excellent.
2/8/13 8:38 PM
slmstyle said...
Great pants! I made a skirt from this same Italian cotton fabric from Mood & I LOVE it! Love your doggie too ;)
7/23/14 3:27 PM
carolynw said...
Great looking pants!
7/23/14 6:01 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Oh these are cute! I will have to check out these patterns you used! Pants are so much fun to make and wear!
7/23/14 7:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Shape Shape: wave skirt

photo
by: mm

Review
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now
McCall's 5927

photo
by: Sewlful

Review