SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6119 (Long or Short Halter Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 304 times 
Reviewed by:slmstyle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About slmstylestarstarstarstar
OR United States
Member since: 9/17/08
Reviews written: 139
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/20/13 1:22 PM
Last Updated:8/19/14 1:04 AM
Project Photo:New Look: 6119 by slmstyle

New Look: 6119 by slmstyle  New Look: 6119 by slmstyle  
Pattern Photo:New Look 6119
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Challis  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: New Look Workroom from Project Runway, Misses' halter neck sundress in two lengths and sash.

Side of bodice

Pattern Sizing: 4-16. I made the 16 in view A for a wonderful client.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, it does, but better I think! The weird green dress and the blue sash on the cover of this pattern is neither flattering or chic:

Pattern Envelope

I have uploaded new photos of the dress on my client. The dress looks much better on her!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy. Includes instructions for French Seams as well which makes me very happy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love this pattern for it's simplicity and elegant lines. It lends itself well to many fabrics and creative executions.

My client wanted to knock off a dress that she was wearing in a wedding in a less expensive and more casual fabric and this pattern was an almost identical design. The sash alone cost her $100.00 to purchase at the dress boutique in Portland and I made this sash from long scraps of fabric after cutting out the dress pattern! Certainly not worth $100 of fabric and sewing!

Fabric Used: Printed rayon challis from Mill End in Beaverton, OR. The colors are really great for her, she looks so GOOD in the dress!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: A full bust adjustment and french seams throughout, so nothing crazy hard.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes and yes! I want to make the short version as well. I really love this dress, and so does she!

Conclusion: Great, easy pattern that sews up fast and makes a great maxi or mini dress for many occasions depending on fabric choice. Get it and sew it!
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prostheticsgirl said...
Cute! I love summer maxi dresses
1/20/13 1:30 PM
caper81 said...
Gorgeous fabric! What a great dress :)
1/20/13 2:28 PM
velosewer said...
This is wonderful.
1/20/13 4:05 PM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful...love the fabric!
1/20/13 8:00 PM
Sue Parrott said...
What a beautiful dress! So pretty!
1/20/13 9:04 PM
margy.64 said...
Lovely elegant design. Very nice dress.
1/20/13 9:34 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous maxi!
1/20/13 9:45 PM
betty bushwacker said...
If she paid $100 for the sash alone, then I wonder what the whole dress worked out to. Your version is beautiful and I bet she is thrilled.
1/21/13 9:34 AM
Sew tell me said...
Love the fabric choice!
1/21/13 2:36 PM
SewPrincess said...
Very nice! Great fabric choice as well!
1/21/13 2:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2011-120

photo
by: Merche

Review
McCall's 5927

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now