SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2005 (Choice of T-shirts)

97 more reviews
Viewed 2577 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 295 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Hall of Fame 2007
Posted on:2/11/05 10:04 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in Austin said...
Deepika, that tee *rocks*! Great print (in C/R/L no less--yum), the color is dynamite on you, and the fit looks pretty perfect. Love everything about it. 30 looks good on you, girl.
2/11/05 10:11 PM
dvazz said...
Happy 30th, Deepika! That shirt is amazing on you. Wear it to go out on your birthday and you'll get carded. :)
2/11/05 10:33 PM
KarenP said...
I LOVE it! Perfect placement of the print. I've been meaning to give this pattern a try (it's already in my stash) and your review has convinced me to move it up in my "to-do" list.
2/11/05 11:29 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Happy B-day! What an excellent way to celebrate, in your gorgeous and glorious new top.
2/12/05 0:51 AM
Georgene said...
Hey, I remember that print! Great job with the placement. The big 3-0 on the front is so funny. Time to get Jalie to sell patterns on PR...44 reviews!!
2/12/05 1:05 AM
Jodi B. said...
Deepika, this is just too uncanny! I'm wearing mine right now. And I used the same pattern so mine looks almost identical to yours! I know, I haven't done a review yet. Maybe I'll post mine right with yours. :) It looks fabulous. I hope you have a great birthday. I wore mine for my birthday and had such fun with it.
2/12/05 1:05 AM
KathleenS said...
Great print placement, particularly the sleeves!
2/12/05 1:08 AM
tigger said...
Love the t-shirt - and the placement of the fabric pattern is amazing! Very nice - I've thought about trying some Jalie patterns and now I may have to make this my first! Happy Birthday as well Deepika!
2/12/05 2:07 AM
ChrisK said...
Your tee shirt looks great. I love the colour on you. I've been wondering if I should get this pattern. So... you think I should give this a try???? Your review is convincing enough. I'm going to get it! ;-) Have a happy birthday
2/12/05 2:20 AM
Amelie said...
I love everything about this t-shirt!!! It looks really great on you. Especially helpful are the tips and encouragement for those of us without sergers. Can you give us any more info on what type of stitch ( small zigzag, stretch etc. ) and what type of needle you used? Thanks!
2/12/05 3:59 AM
Sew it seams said...
I love your top Deepika, you look good in 30! What did you think of the arm? Was it tight? I have this pattern but haven't made it up because of the sizing. Some have said that the arm is rather tight so I put it away and forgot about it. Your t-shirt looks like the perfect RTW style, so I'm going to give it a try. Great review.
2/12/05 5:17 AM
Nickle said...
Happy Birthday- Love you top and review.Penny
2/12/05 5:56 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Happy birthday Deepika! I remember this fabric, and I wish I had gotten some too (although I have almost a year left). I agree with Leslie, 30 looks good on you!
2/12/05 6:20 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Some of us think you are "admitting" to being 30 - and some of us think you are bragging. Great shirt, great review. Jalie should thank you and 3 dozen other reviewers.
2/12/05 6:30 AM
Gigi Louis said...
How adorable! Trust me, this may be the last time you'll want to wear your age. ;-)
2/12/05 7:55 AM
Liana said...
Great shirt, great fabric, great pattern, no wonder it looks so good! I like to sew my knits on the regular machine too, for the same reasons. Your neck band looks wonderful. Do try the bateau neck, it's my favorite. Happy Birthday!!
2/12/05 7:59 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh, I love it! Great review. It might actually push me toward trying this pattern out! -Ann
2/12/05 8:13 AM
cindyann said...
Happy BD, Deepika. So cute. I am also a big fan of this pattern. Your top turned out very great. I remember it from PR weekend too! You look wonderful.
2/12/05 9:23 AM
Debbie Cook said...
What a cool shirt Deepika, and it looks great on you! Happy birthday! Do you think I can find any "42" fabric? LOL!
2/12/05 9:47 AM
PVA said...
Wow, what a great shirt! I guess I'll just have to break down & try this pattern -- I live in T-shirts & with that many raves it must be pretty great! Thanks for a great review!
2/12/05 10:05 AM
Maychi said...
Happy birthday Deepika! This top looks great on you!
2/12/05 10:07 AM
drsue said...
Man-o-man, that is wonderful. I'm so jealous of your fabric. Very Glima. Happy BD: the 30's are great, you'll see.
2/12/05 10:17 AM
sewsue said...
You are right about this being the best T shirt pattern for shape and necklines, but I would like to say that different fabrics with different amounts of stretch and recoverability(!) may need a different pattern size or even a different pattern. I discovered this in my quest for the perfect T shirt pattern and have resolved to keep 3 diferent ones depending on the fabric and fit that I want. All my Jalie Tees look great, but sometimes I still use my old KS pattern whcih is a bit looser fit, or a Great Copy one that has a variety of different necklines and is also a looser fit.
2/12/05 4:25 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Love your top! Happy Birthday D.
2/12/05 4:39 PM
Runrover said...
Deepika - the t-shirt and fabric really rocks; 30 never looked so good. The top looks great on you; I especially like the neckband treatment.
2/12/05 5:40 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely top. Oh to be just turning 30 again. Happy Birthday in advance.
2/12/05 7:16 PM
Deepika said...
Wow! thanks you guys... Thanks so much for such lovely comments. Did I say recently that I love you all :) Amelie, I will edit my review to include more details about the stitch settings on the sewing machine. Debe I've made this pattern in a different knit before and I felt that it cut off circulation in my arms... way too tight but for this knit it was totally fine. My knit is super stretchy though so thats the reason.
2/12/05 10:24 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Very cool fabric...very cool top...the way you've used them together is fabulous. Happy 30th Birthday, Deepika!
2/13/05 4:19 AM
candyo said...
I want this pattern now! You should sell Jalie on PR! I love your top!
2/13/05 3:05 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely top Deepika and a Happy Birthday to you.
2/14/05 3:18 PM
Eme said...
This seriously looks like a top that Anthropolgie would sell for about $98 - no joke! This pattern has been collecting dust in my stash for almost a year now...I just might have to dig it out -- yours looks so amazing! (this review cycled through on the side of the PR boards page, and I couldn't let it go without saying how fabulous your shirt looks!)
9/17/05 5:59 PM
knitknitknit said...
Ooooh, Deepika, I got on here last night specifically to find a tee-shirt pattern that would look just like my two Glima tops that I love so much, and your review led me straight to this pattern! I can't wait for it to come! Yesterday I had visited my local fabric store and there were all these crazy knit prints and I was thinking, "Cool, but what would I ever DO with them?" Now I know!! I can't wait for this pattern to get here! Thanks! Jane in MA
1/12/06 4:53 AM
jlongo said...
Deepika, I cant believe you actually made this top. It really looks like an upscale RTW purchase!
5/10/06 11:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 2573

photo
by: julliams

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2012-113

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now