SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2005 (Choice of T-shirts)

97 more reviews
Viewed 2577 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 366
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 299 people
patterns reviewed: 264
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Hall of Fame 2007
Posted on:2/11/05 10:04 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlongo said...
Deepika, I cant believe you actually made this top. It really looks like an upscale RTW purchase!
5/10/06 11:38 AM
knitknitknit said...
Ooooh, Deepika, I got on here last night specifically to find a tee-shirt pattern that would look just like my two Glima tops that I love so much, and your review led me straight to this pattern! I can't wait for it to come! Yesterday I had visited my local fabric store and there were all these crazy knit prints and I was thinking, "Cool, but what would I ever DO with them?" Now I know!! I can't wait for this pattern to get here! Thanks! Jane in MA
1/12/06 4:53 AM
Eme said...
This seriously looks like a top that Anthropolgie would sell for about $98 - no joke! This pattern has been collecting dust in my stash for almost a year now...I just might have to dig it out -- yours looks so amazing! (this review cycled through on the side of the PR boards page, and I couldn't let it go without saying how fabulous your shirt looks!)
9/17/05 5:59 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely top Deepika and a Happy Birthday to you.
2/14/05 3:18 PM
candyo said...
I want this pattern now! You should sell Jalie on PR! I love your top!
2/13/05 3:05 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Very cool fabric...very cool top...the way you've used them together is fabulous. Happy 30th Birthday, Deepika!
2/13/05 4:19 AM
Deepika said...
Wow! thanks you guys... Thanks so much for such lovely comments. Did I say recently that I love you all :) Amelie, I will edit my review to include more details about the stitch settings on the sewing machine. Debe I've made this pattern in a different knit before and I felt that it cut off circulation in my arms... way too tight but for this knit it was totally fine. My knit is super stretchy though so thats the reason.
2/12/05 10:24 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely top. Oh to be just turning 30 again. Happy Birthday in advance.
2/12/05 7:16 PM
Runrover said...
Deepika - the t-shirt and fabric really rocks; 30 never looked so good. The top looks great on you; I especially like the neckband treatment.
2/12/05 5:40 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Love your top! Happy Birthday D.
2/12/05 4:39 PM
sewsue said...
You are right about this being the best T shirt pattern for shape and necklines, but I would like to say that different fabrics with different amounts of stretch and recoverability(!) may need a different pattern size or even a different pattern. I discovered this in my quest for the perfect T shirt pattern and have resolved to keep 3 diferent ones depending on the fabric and fit that I want. All my Jalie Tees look great, but sometimes I still use my old KS pattern whcih is a bit looser fit, or a Great Copy one that has a variety of different necklines and is also a looser fit.
2/12/05 4:25 PM
drsue said...
Man-o-man, that is wonderful. I'm so jealous of your fabric. Very Glima. Happy BD: the 30's are great, you'll see.
2/12/05 10:17 AM
Maychi said...
Happy birthday Deepika! This top looks great on you!
2/12/05 10:07 AM
PVA said...
Wow, what a great shirt! I guess I'll just have to break down & try this pattern -- I live in T-shirts & with that many raves it must be pretty great! Thanks for a great review!
2/12/05 10:05 AM
Debbie Cook said...
What a cool shirt Deepika, and it looks great on you! Happy birthday! Do you think I can find any "42" fabric? LOL!
2/12/05 9:47 AM
cindyann said...
Happy BD, Deepika. So cute. I am also a big fan of this pattern. Your top turned out very great. I remember it from PR weekend too! You look wonderful.
2/12/05 9:23 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Oh, I love it! Great review. It might actually push me toward trying this pattern out! -Ann
2/12/05 8:13 AM
Liana said...
Great shirt, great fabric, great pattern, no wonder it looks so good! I like to sew my knits on the regular machine too, for the same reasons. Your neck band looks wonderful. Do try the bateau neck, it's my favorite. Happy Birthday!!
2/12/05 7:59 AM
Gigi Louis said...
How adorable! Trust me, this may be the last time you'll want to wear your age. ;-)
2/12/05 7:55 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Some of us think you are "admitting" to being 30 - and some of us think you are bragging. Great shirt, great review. Jalie should thank you and 3 dozen other reviewers.
2/12/05 6:30 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Happy birthday Deepika! I remember this fabric, and I wish I had gotten some too (although I have almost a year left). I agree with Leslie, 30 looks good on you!
2/12/05 6:20 AM
Nickle said...
Happy Birthday- Love you top and review.Penny
2/12/05 5:56 AM
Sew it seams said...
I love your top Deepika, you look good in 30! What did you think of the arm? Was it tight? I have this pattern but haven't made it up because of the sizing. Some have said that the arm is rather tight so I put it away and forgot about it. Your t-shirt looks like the perfect RTW style, so I'm going to give it a try. Great review.
2/12/05 5:17 AM
Amelie said...
I love everything about this t-shirt!!! It looks really great on you. Especially helpful are the tips and encouragement for those of us without sergers. Can you give us any more info on what type of stitch ( small zigzag, stretch etc. ) and what type of needle you used? Thanks!
2/12/05 3:59 AM
ChrisK said...
Your tee shirt looks great. I love the colour on you. I've been wondering if I should get this pattern. So... you think I should give this a try???? Your review is convincing enough. I'm going to get it! ;-) Have a happy birthday
2/12/05 2:20 AM
tigger said...
Love the t-shirt - and the placement of the fabric pattern is amazing! Very nice - I've thought about trying some Jalie patterns and now I may have to make this my first! Happy Birthday as well Deepika!
2/12/05 2:07 AM
KathleenS said...
Great print placement, particularly the sleeves!
2/12/05 1:08 AM
Jodi B. said...
Deepika, this is just too uncanny! I'm wearing mine right now. And I used the same pattern so mine looks almost identical to yours! I know, I haven't done a review yet. Maybe I'll post mine right with yours. :) It looks fabulous. I hope you have a great birthday. I wore mine for my birthday and had such fun with it.
2/12/05 1:05 AM
Georgene said...
Hey, I remember that print! Great job with the placement. The big 3-0 on the front is so funny. Time to get Jalie to sell patterns on PR...44 reviews!!
2/12/05 1:05 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Happy B-day! What an excellent way to celebrate, in your gorgeous and glorious new top.
2/12/05 0:51 AM
KarenP said...
I LOVE it! Perfect placement of the print. I've been meaning to give this pattern a try (it's already in my stash) and your review has convinced me to move it up in my "to-do" list.
2/11/05 11:29 PM
dvazz said...
Happy 30th, Deepika! That shirt is amazing on you. Wear it to go out on your birthday and you'll get carded. :)
2/11/05 10:33 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Deepika, that tee *rocks*! Great print (in C/R/L no less--yum), the color is dynamite on you, and the fit looks pretty perfect. Love everything about it. 30 looks good on you, girl.
2/11/05 10:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Butterick 5600

photo
by: princessju...

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

More Info
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

More Info
Popolok Design Cece top/dress

photo
by: KateS

Review