SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6891 (Misses Easy Pullover Tops)

27 more reviews
Viewed 181 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/25/13 9:52 PM
Last Updated:1/25/13 9:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mhk3boys said...
I love this fabric choice the best BUT I love all four that you have reviewed today! Very pretty and great reviews!
1/25/13 11:25 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Lovely fabric making a very pretty blouse.
1/26/13 4:29 AM
cleverkitty said...
Very nice fabric choice ;)
1/26/13 9:35 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Love, love, love your fabric!
1/26/13 10:19 AM
grey ann said...
Where did you get the fabric. Just stunning.
1/26/13 10:54 AM
Renren said...
Grey ann, I bought the fabric from the red tag clearance section at JoAnn's Fabrics about 4 or 5 years ago. They used to have these beautiful linen blends with embroidery and I would find them on the red tag table for $4 or less. They were marked down from $12.99 per yard. Unfortunately, the yardage was limited by the time they got to the red tag table, but I was still able to buy a few pieces that really caught my eye. This was also before two JoAnns stores in the area consolidated into one store with a much smaller fabric selection. I'm pretty sure I'll never find treasures like these at the current craft-heavy, fabric-light store near the mall.
1/26/13 11:08 AM
jannw said...
Cute top with a beautiful fabric!! Enjoy it!
1/26/13 12:07 PM
katlew03 said...
Very pretty fabric. I have this pattern and will have to try it. Nice selection of tops from one pattern.
1/26/13 1:24 PM
Marie367 said...
All your tops are lovely. This fabric is beautiful! What a great find! Now I think I need this pattern!
1/26/13 2:25 PM
treefrog said...
Gorgeous! Your choice of fabric is fantastic and I love how you have used the border. Looking forward to seeing the sleeved versions.
1/26/13 4:37 PM
loti said...
Love what you did with the pattern placement. It is very chic.
1/26/13 5:33 PM
cocosloft said...
Another beautiful top! And what lovely fabric and placement of the embroidery.
1/26/13 8:07 PM
Quickie said...
I fell in love with this embroydered one , but all your tops in this OPML are nice to see.
1/27/13 6:06 AM
Margaret said...
Looks like you got a nice smooth hem -- great idea using the part without the embroidery! Love this fabric!
1/28/13 11:17 AM
BlueSkysAhead said...
I am interested in choosing fabric to match the pattern also. I want to make some light weight tops like you have here. Where did you get your fabrics from? If you remember? I live out of the way and I drive 45 minutes to what I call the local Joann Fabrics. So I try to order on line but I don't have enough knowledge to know if something is the right choice just by looking at the picture.
2/16/13 11:34 PM
Renren said...
BlueSkysAhead, in answer to your question, my fabrics for the OPML came from WalMart, Gorgeous Fabrics, and JoAnns. I got very lucky with the JoAnns fabrics since I bought them off the red tag clearance table. The fabric is a linen/cotton blend and I haven't seen anything like it since. If you look at fabricmartfabrics, be sure to look for the word "drapey." I have made this pattern 8 times now and the best ones had a good drape to them. Pay attention to whether it is sheer also because sheer wouldn't be good unless you used a cami with it. Drapey and lightweight would be key. Even then, ordering online will sometimes surprise you. It sometimes seems like it is the luck of the draw and I often end up using fabric for another purpose than what I purchased it for because the properties of the fabric were different than I expected. Good luck! Some of the other reviews also stress "drapey fabric"--I think the 1st one did, actually, and my experience would agree.
2/17/13 2:59 PM
BlueSkysAhead said...
Renren, Thank you so much for all your information.
2/19/13 12:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: SteffieMar...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

Buy Now