Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Fashion Sewing Group: 1945 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1806 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/14/05 7:55 AM
Last Updated:2/14/05 8:10 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Well for all the trouble with pattern markings you ended up with a spectacular jacket. Wonderful!
2/14/05 7:57 AM
Patti B said...
It is gorgeous even though it sounds as if it was an ordeal. In my house, this would probably be a UFO! Lovely job.
2/14/05 8:27 AM
Sew it seams said...
Great jacket and review. I love your work. Thanks for the tip on trying the Claire Schaeffer pattern.
2/14/05 9:25 AM
PVA said...
Your careful cutting certainly paid off! I couldn't help but notice the absolutely perfect match of the plaid all across the front of the jacket! Especially the lapels -- perfect! I too thank you for the tip about Claire Schaeffer pattern. And, a great big double thank you for this review!
2/14/05 9:48 AM
Nickle said...
Nice job matching up the plaid- especially with the 2 piece sleeves-I like plaids but usually avoid them for that reason. Your time and work involved really paid off.
2/14/05 11:22 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
Beautiful plaid matches! Despite your struggles it certainly turned out great.
2/14/05 11:23 AM
Mommo said...
A lovely garment and a very helpful (informative ;) review. Thank you!
2/14/05 12:42 PM
Anne Frances said...
That is a stunning jacket - especially the matched plaid. The cut looks great - you don't say if you had to alter the fit? Even if it was a struggle it was really worth it and I will certainly think of giving the pattern a go, bearing all your warnings in mind
2/14/05 1:16 PM
jlg said...
So beautifully done.
2/14/05 1:58 PM
Georgene said...
Excellent review, thank you for the cold, clear eye on this pattern. I have been interested in the FSG pattern line, she has an interesting concept. Better in theory than execution?
2/14/05 2:41 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful! You will get many compliments on this. Nancy did do directions for lengthening this into a dress in a recent newsletter. I have a zip-front shortened version of this on today. I really like all the different possibilites with this pattern.
2/14/05 2:53 PM
Awlful said...
What an absolutely stunning jacket! You are a talented artisan.
2/14/05 3:04 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is so wonderful and gorgeous, despite the difficulties that you endured. I am really impressed with how you did with matching the plaid fabric!! Thank you for the jacket construction tips via C Schaeffer.
2/14/05 6:53 PM
KarmenG said...
Great review and thank you for writing it. I just cut this pattern in muslin last night to do my fitting changes. I like the many fitting lines on it. Thanks for the comments about collar and lapels - I will dig out my Claire S pattern - good idea. How did the sleeves set in? Was the ease just right or did you have to work it in? Thanks again!
2/14/05 7:45 PM
Lori V said...
very beautiful
2/14/05 10:42 PM
Tini said...
woooow. gorgeous
2/15/05 1:52 AM
AnneM said...
I do like those pockets. Lack of markings is one of my pet peeves on patterns; leave it up to me if I want to use them or not. Your jacket looks so much better than the pattern drawing. I have a Claire Schaeffer already, so I'll start with that one!
2/15/05 4:23 AM
MickeyFan said...
Thank you all for your nice comments. Karmeng, I felt like the ease on the sleeves was about right. I had to trim off a small (less than 1/8 inch?) sliver on the front of the sleeve cap. I did interface my entire sleeve because I felt like the fabric needed the support. As a result, I got a really nice raised cap. If you don't interface the whole sleeve, you might consider interfacing just the sleeve cap to give it extra support. Anne Francis, I did no fitting adjustments - which is typical for me when making tops or jackets. I made a 10, and I ususally sew a 12 in Big 4. The fit is right on the money through the shoulders and chest. Georgene, I definitely think you should give the Fashion Sewing Group a try. I know this review came off as more negative than positive, but I think that Nancy Erickson's designs are worth a try - especially for a more experienced sewist. Part of me thinks plaid matching was really the root of my difficulties...
2/15/05 6:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I made this pattern about two years ago. Before my involvement with PR. Your review captured all my struggles with this pattern and I am glad you shared this information. The jacket is long but with the adaptations to this pattern as you mentioned allows for shortening. Your jacket looks lovely, great job!
2/15/05 8:57 AM
Nancy Anne said...
What a stunning jacket, and your review is terrific! I hope it does wind up growing on you and you get lots of wear out of it!
2/15/05 2:54 PM
MaryBeth said...
Love the neckline of the collar. I hadn't noticed it before your review. I sure do like the results you labored so hard to achieve!
2/17/05 4:24 PM
Liana said...
It looks great. Wonderful plaid matching, and a very nice result overall. Very good, substantive review. Thank you.
2/17/05 8:18 PM
WJean said...
Well, it's more than a year since you reviewed this pattern but, I'm glad the picture is still up for viewing. You did a fantastic job putting this togethr in spite of the dislikes that you mentioned. I've wondered about these patterns, especially because of the add-ons for changing the style. Your jacket is wonderful and encouraging for someone that's been thinking about giving them a try.
11/14/06 8:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 1886 Misses Top
photo
Review by jrbarham on 3/16/12
Read Review

New Look 6613 Pattern
New Look 6613 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8333 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other LL007 Padfolio
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 2/17/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us