Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2011-120 (Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 345 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:ManiMayor
photo
About ManiMayorstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 10/5/09
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/7/13 1:22 PM
Last Updated:2/7/13 1:24 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KensingtonCrab said...
Very pretty!
2/7/13 2:39 PM
nicegirl said...
This came out great--so sad you don't love it! And thanks for the idea about the lining. I am planning another version of this that will need to be lined and I had been trying to figure out the front lining. A scoop neckline attached at the shoulders and armscye but free floating at the neckline makes perfect sense.
2/7/13 3:05 PM
lillydee said...
i like it...it might take a while to grow on you,but.do give it the chance. You look great in it.
2/7/13 7:21 PM
21wale said...
I feel the same way about ruffles on myself, however the dress is really beautiful and looks lovely on you.
2/7/13 10:28 PM
SewWil said...
Pretty dress! Sorry your were disappointed with it. I think it looks very nice on you.
2/7/13 10:52 PM
beauturbo said...
I actually like it a lot, and think the ruffles look really nice on you. But yes, I think everyone has made something that even if it turned out just like it was supposed to, sometimes later you decide just the style or such is not for you. I wonder what would happen if instead of having ruffles almost all the way down the font of it, if you only left just the ones around the neckline? That would be way less ruffles that way, even though I still think it looks very good on you, just as is even right now.
2/7/13 11:55 PM
Jrhee said...
Oh, I hope you haven't given it away yet. Even though you say it is not your style, you sewed it beautifully and it looks great on you!
2/8/13 1:29 AM
KathleenS said...
Yes, that's happened to me. It's a great dress though, I'm sure someone will be excited to find it at the charity shop.
2/8/13 4:44 AM
becca a said...
The dress is very pretty. It is such a disappointment to put all that work into making something and then not to be happy with the result. It has happened to me so many times. It is really hard to know what you will like before you try it on, so when you try a new style that looks lovely in pictures it can be a surprise to see how it actually feels when you put it on.
2/8/13 10:05 AM
Pamela R said...
I think that the dress looks great on you,but,if you are troubled by the ruffle, take the part around the neck off, or cut it way down. First start by folding it inside to see if that will satisfy you.
2/8/13 10:50 AM
lamstu said...
I actually love this dress and love it on you. Maybe if you wear it a few times, you'll feel more comfortable? I'd never have thought to make this from the wool, but now I might have to copy you. Although, I'm not really a ruffles kind of girl myself.... And I have this experience almost every year for 40 years of sewing. It's good - it means that you're stretching your horizons!
2/8/13 10:27 PM
Levone said...
Lovely dress!
2/9/13 12:29 PM
tiadia said...
I really like this dress, ruffles and all, but I know what you mean about taking the time to make it up perfectly and then realizing it's really not your cup of tea! That's the down side to sewing instead of trying it on before you spend all that time making it. But I love your tweed version! I love tweed, and it makes this dress a little less "ruffly", if you know what I mean. It's gorgeous!
2/11/13 6:49 PM
ManiMayor said...
Thanks so much ladies for your kind comments! I have decided to give this dress a fair chance by actually wearing it a couple of times before giving up on it. Thanks for helping me to stretch my horizons!
2/12/13 1:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

New Look 6557 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by svenskafli... on 6/30/08
Read Review

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6575
photo
Review by ryan's mom on 2/3/13
Read Review

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Details
Price: $89.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5419 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5419 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6024 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 6024 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us