SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8398 (jacket, vest, skirt, & pants)

Viewed 1441 times 
Reviewed by:Sew it seams
photo

 
 
About Sew it seamsstarstar
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/05 8:50 PM
Last Updated:3/3/05 10:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Cook said...
Despite hating the instructions, you certainly came up with a winner! What a great looking jacket. I love the ribbon trim and the colors!
3/6/05 3:27 PM
sewsue said...
This looks fantastic, and well worth the time and effort you put into it. It is lovely.
3/3/05 3:03 PM
Lou. said...
Oh wow I absolutely love your jacket, this is totally my kind of top and I would pay big bucks for something like it!
3/3/05 12:18 PM
Sew it seams said...
Thanks everyone for your positive comments. I do apologize for my atrocious spelling errors! I was interupted several times while trying to post this review and I neglected to check my spelling when I finished. Those of you with dislexia know what I mean when I say almost *every* word looks misspelled to me. :) I'm off to correct!
3/3/05 10:05 AM
Georgene said...
Very nicely detailed. Good save...aren't you glad you didn't give up? You used your pattern as a springboard for your own idea, and adapted as you went along. It doesn't get better than that.
3/3/05 9:19 AM
MaryBeth said...
Nice design details for sure!!! Brilliant additions!
3/3/05 8:26 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I've had a few surprises on patterns that I picked up on the basis of the photo/drawing w/o checking the fabric recommendations, too...both on garments that I thought should be knit and weren't and structured garments that looked designed for wovens but actually insisted on knits. Kinda makes you think 'What were these people thinking?" ;) You have a great looking jacket despite the misleading pattern! Great job!
3/3/05 7:59 AM
cindyann said...
What a nice looking jacket. I love it.
3/3/05 7:12 AM
SewingSusan said...
Wow. You have really done a wonderful job. Great jacket.
3/3/05 6:09 AM
Eli said...
I have to reiterate what already has been said - it is one SHARP jacket! Sorry for the problems though...
3/3/05 0:55 AM
Kathy Russell said...
Wow I expected to read a review of success because that's what your end product looks like. Great color choices and changes. I love the snaps and grosgain ribbon. Very inspiring results.
3/3/05 0:47 AM
gabrielle said...
I would never have thought of that as a wovens pattern, either. That's a really sharp jacket; I think you made terrific design choices. I especially like that grosgrain trim. Glad to know a spool of thread and a hammer will do the trick for setting snaps, too. :)
3/2/05 11:15 PM
PVA said...
I like your jacket & I especially appreciate the photos & construction details. I feel certain you'll enjoy wearing it. I do agree the style certainly seems just right for a knit.
3/2/05 10:39 PM
lmg said...
I think you have a great looking jacket there. Love the ribbon idea and the red snaps.
3/2/05 9:57 PM
BjP said...
I think it's really cute. Love the red ribbon/snaps. Looks sharp!
3/2/05 9:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-125

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Japanese Pattern Books Stylish Dress Book

photo
by: ajhewing

Review