Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 8398 (jacket, vest, skirt, & pants) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1440 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Sew it seams
photo
About Sew it seamsstarstar
MT USA
Member since: 7/15/03
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/05 8:50 PM
Last Updated:3/3/05 10:09 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BjP said...
I think it's really cute. Love the red ribbon/snaps. Looks sharp!
3/2/05 9:39 PM
lmg said...
I think you have a great looking jacket there. Love the ribbon idea and the red snaps.
3/2/05 9:57 PM
PVA said...
I like your jacket & I especially appreciate the photos & construction details. I feel certain you'll enjoy wearing it. I do agree the style certainly seems just right for a knit.
3/2/05 10:39 PM
gabrielle said...
I would never have thought of that as a wovens pattern, either. That's a really sharp jacket; I think you made terrific design choices. I especially like that grosgrain trim. Glad to know a spool of thread and a hammer will do the trick for setting snaps, too. :)
3/2/05 11:15 PM
Kathy Russell said...
Wow I expected to read a review of success because that's what your end product looks like. Great color choices and changes. I love the snaps and grosgain ribbon. Very inspiring results.
3/3/05 0:47 AM
Eli said...
I have to reiterate what already has been said - it is one SHARP jacket! Sorry for the problems though...
3/3/05 0:55 AM
SewingSusan said...
Wow. You have really done a wonderful job. Great jacket.
3/3/05 6:09 AM
cindyann said...
What a nice looking jacket. I love it.
3/3/05 7:12 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I've had a few surprises on patterns that I picked up on the basis of the photo/drawing w/o checking the fabric recommendations, too...both on garments that I thought should be knit and weren't and structured garments that looked designed for wovens but actually insisted on knits. Kinda makes you think 'What were these people thinking?" ;) You have a great looking jacket despite the misleading pattern! Great job!
3/3/05 7:59 AM
MaryBeth said...
Nice design details for sure!!! Brilliant additions!
3/3/05 8:26 AM
Georgene said...
Very nicely detailed. Good save...aren't you glad you didn't give up? You used your pattern as a springboard for your own idea, and adapted as you went along. It doesn't get better than that.
3/3/05 9:19 AM
Sew it seams said...
Thanks everyone for your positive comments. I do apologize for my atrocious spelling errors! I was interupted several times while trying to post this review and I neglected to check my spelling when I finished. Those of you with dislexia know what I mean when I say almost *every* word looks misspelled to me. :) I'm off to correct!
3/3/05 10:05 AM
Lou. said...
Oh wow I absolutely love your jacket, this is totally my kind of top and I would pay big bucks for something like it!
3/3/05 12:18 PM
sewsue said...
This looks fantastic, and well worth the time and effort you put into it. It is lovely.
3/3/05 3:03 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Despite hating the instructions, you certainly came up with a winner! What a great looking jacket. I love the ribbon trim and the colors!
3/6/05 3:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8582 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by mhoutz on 1/8/12
Read Review

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern
Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Au Bonheur des Petites Mains 40033
photo
Review by Noile on 4/10/12
Read Review

Vogue 1369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3703 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3703 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us