SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3232 (Skort, cardigan & tank)

8 more reviews
Viewed 2206 times 
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 245 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/05 10:11 AM
Last Updated:3/12/05 10:32 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lynne leblanc said...
I love Leslie's comments on what she changed about the pattern. Not sure I'm skilled enough to try it myself, but maybe someday!
9/26/09 11:14 AM
mClones said...
Leslie, I just came upon this. What a beautiful job of binding! And, of course, a knockout sweater.
2/24/06 8:00 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks for posting the picture!! I just knew how great it would look!
3/13/05 6:55 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
It works! Look at you--the sweater, the stone, the shoes... you are a SIGHT! Love the 3/4-length sleeves. So feminine.
3/13/05 10:21 AM
MariaDenmark said...
Leslie - I love it! Great job - and it looks really good on you!
3/13/05 1:27 AM
BjP said...
Wuv it, wuv it.....this pattern should now be your "twu luv foweva". :)
3/12/05 6:22 PM
Tonya said...
Ya know, Kwik Sew should start paying patternreview members to use our pictures for their patterns - they always come out looking so much better than the drawings! Great job, Leslie, and I see you have fine taste in movies. :)
BTW, Hilary, the short bald guy's name was Vizzini. (Yes, you're very smart. Shut up.)
3/12/05 5:58 PM
Diane E said...
I thought I'd left a comment before, but I'm glad I didn't because not only did I like it before, but I really like it with you in it! Thanks for making me want yet another pattern....
3/12/05 3:55 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I love it too Leslie! How did I miss this review the first time?? Hilarious review! I remember your search for the zipper. Looks like you found your match and your miracle. The sweater looks fabulous, and that's one of my favorite colors.
3/12/05 10:52 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great review. I think you just sold a few dozen copies of this pattern, at least.
3/11/05 5:30 AM
PixieCat said...
Love the color, the style, the review!
3/10/05 3:23 PM
Sue_WA said...
I love it! Love the color, the zipper, everything! Your binding looks excellent.
3/10/05 8:59 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Wow! Beautiful! Are you meaning to say that you managed to make this with just one yard of fabric? My mind got hung up on that fact and I couldn't read the rest of the review with a clear head. :)
3/10/05 8:58 AM
Hilary said...
Leslie, this looks great!! Love your review, that movie is a classic, lol-my personal favorite is the "INconCEIVable!!" comment by the short bad guy(what was his name!?) in the beginning :oP Thanks for the details about the binding -I like the look of that, and now I may have to try it too. I have this pattern but the style of the cardigan in the drawing is so-so and yours looks fabulous. Thanks!
3/10/05 7:57 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Leslie, your sweater top is just so gorgeous!! Any chance we could see you wearing the luvy sweater? The binding that you did is so great. Love the Princess Bride commentary! Thanks for the zipper source and the terrific review.
3/9/05 10:31 PM
Lori V said...
great cardigan, love the color and your necklace
3/9/05 9:44 PM
Tiner W said...
Very, very pretty!
3/9/05 3:36 PM
SandraB said...
Great job Leslie. l love that green colour.
3/9/05 2:58 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great job, Buttercup - I mean Leslie! I really love the binding. I have decided I hate facings lately, too. Except when I put them in a pattern that doesn't have them. :) -Ann
3/9/05 1:53 PM
drsue said...
I love your cardigan. I've never owned a zippered one, I may have to try.
3/9/05 1:51 PM
tigger said...
I have this exact fabric from fabric.com and was wondering what to use it for - this looks so good I might just have to try something like this. Looks great!
3/9/05 1:17 PM
LoriB said...
Very cute! It's time to change your sewing skill assessment - you are way beyond "advanced beginner"!
3/9/05 1:14 PM
Elona said...
Super cute top, Leslie! The binding job is just beautiful.
3/9/05 12:31 PM
Lou. said...
Love it Leslie, I'm going to get this pattern now, I have been waiting for your review!
3/9/05 12:30 PM
sewkal said...
Great job, Leslie- your persistence paid off! I also love tops like this over a cami- I must have ten RTW ones. Love the color, but unfortunatley that shade of green makes me look more like Fiona (from Shrek) than Princess Buttercup!
3/9/05 12:25 PM
AnneM said...
That certainly does match the stone! You got your miracle. (That is a cute movie.) Interesting idea on cutting the fusiknit cross-grain.
3/9/05 12:17 PM
Sew it seams said...
Great looking cardigan. And I love that color!
3/9/05 11:46 AM
Lisette said...
I love the look of the bound neckline. You are quoting one of my favorite films..
3/9/05 11:32 AM
Carol Wisman said...
To CUTE! Looks great, think I've got to get it today! Nice fresh look for spring!
3/9/05 11:18 AM
PhyllisC said...
I love the zipper Leslie....I've bought RTW clothes that don't fit just for the zipper pull! In the end it's about the same $$ as mail order (shipping etc.) I cut them off and save them. If you look on the back of the pull it tells you the size - which you means you can use that pull with any zipper tape of the same size.
3/9/05 11:17 AM
coloreyec said...
Beautiful. Love the color. And binding the neckline instead of facing it was a nice design change.
3/9/05 11:14 AM
Vivienne said...
It looks great - I think the 3/4 sleeves really suit that fresh green colour. I really mean it. (Anybody want a peanut?)
3/9/05 11:07 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Thanks for mentioning the shoulders, Georgene. I've added info on that to my review. Even though I did stabilize them with a length of fusible tape that matched the patterns seamline, looking back at the photos I see that the shoulders still look a little stretched out--on the neckline close-up the ribs toward the shoulder look a little wider. Hmmmm....
3/9/05 11:03 AM
Georgene said...
Looks cute, probably looks even better on you. Did you tape the shoulders? Your neck binding is very well done, congratulations.
3/9/05 10:44 AM
PegL said...
Really cute top and a fun, informative review! Makes me feel "twue luv" (quoting the Princess Bride minister's lisp!)
3/9/05 10:37 AM
PVA said...
This is an idea whose time has come! I need this pattern for golf this summer -- the whole thing! Thanks so much for this review, especially the details for not stretching-out the fabric while sewing! Your cardi is just beautiful, & of course the stone is perfect! 8^D)
3/9/05 10:36 AM
jlg said...
Great job, Leslie; you got your miracle. It turned out very cute. By the way, you are quoting one of my favorite movies.
3/9/05 10:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Butterick B4755

photo
by: LBT4539

Review
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

More Info
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

More Info