Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3232 (Skort, cardigan & tank) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2186 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR
About Leslie in Austinstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 243 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/05 10:11 AM
Last Updated:3/12/05 10:32 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Great job, Leslie; you got your miracle. It turned out very cute. By the way, you are quoting one of my favorite movies.
3/9/05 10:26 AM
PVA said...
This is an idea whose time has come! I need this pattern for golf this summer -- the whole thing! Thanks so much for this review, especially the details for not stretching-out the fabric while sewing! Your cardi is just beautiful, & of course the stone is perfect! 8^D)
3/9/05 10:36 AM
PegL said...
Really cute top and a fun, informative review! Makes me feel "twue luv" (quoting the Princess Bride minister's lisp!)
3/9/05 10:37 AM
Georgene said...
Looks cute, probably looks even better on you. Did you tape the shoulders? Your neck binding is very well done, congratulations.
3/9/05 10:44 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Thanks for mentioning the shoulders, Georgene. I've added info on that to my review. Even though I did stabilize them with a length of fusible tape that matched the patterns seamline, looking back at the photos I see that the shoulders still look a little stretched out--on the neckline close-up the ribs toward the shoulder look a little wider. Hmmmm....
3/9/05 11:03 AM
Vivienne said...
It looks great - I think the 3/4 sleeves really suit that fresh green colour. I really mean it. (Anybody want a peanut?)
3/9/05 11:07 AM
coloreyec said...
Beautiful. Love the color. And binding the neckline instead of facing it was a nice design change.
3/9/05 11:14 AM
PhyllisC said...
I love the zipper Leslie....I've bought RTW clothes that don't fit just for the zipper pull! In the end it's about the same $$ as mail order (shipping etc.) I cut them off and save them. If you look on the back of the pull it tells you the size - which you means you can use that pull with any zipper tape of the same size.
3/9/05 11:17 AM
Carol Wisman said...
To CUTE! Looks great, think I've got to get it today! Nice fresh look for spring!
3/9/05 11:18 AM
Lisette said...
I love the look of the bound neckline. You are quoting one of my favorite films..
3/9/05 11:32 AM
Sew it seams said...
Great looking cardigan. And I love that color!
3/9/05 11:46 AM
AnneM said...
That certainly does match the stone! You got your miracle. (That is a cute movie.) Interesting idea on cutting the fusiknit cross-grain.
3/9/05 12:17 PM
sewkal said...
Great job, Leslie- your persistence paid off! I also love tops like this over a cami- I must have ten RTW ones. Love the color, but unfortunatley that shade of green makes me look more like Fiona (from Shrek) than Princess Buttercup!
3/9/05 12:25 PM
Lou. said...
Love it Leslie, I'm going to get this pattern now, I have been waiting for your review!
3/9/05 12:30 PM
Elona said...
Super cute top, Leslie! The binding job is just beautiful.
3/9/05 12:31 PM
LoriB said...
Very cute! It's time to change your sewing skill assessment - you are way beyond "advanced beginner"!
3/9/05 1:14 PM
tigger said...
I have this exact fabric from fabric.com and was wondering what to use it for - this looks so good I might just have to try something like this. Looks great!
3/9/05 1:17 PM
drsue said...
I love your cardigan. I've never owned a zippered one, I may have to try.
3/9/05 1:51 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great job, Buttercup - I mean Leslie! I really love the binding. I have decided I hate facings lately, too. Except when I put them in a pattern that doesn't have them. :) -Ann
3/9/05 1:53 PM
SandraB said...
Great job Leslie. l love that green colour.
3/9/05 2:58 PM
Tiner W said...
Very, very pretty!
3/9/05 3:36 PM
Lori V said...
great cardigan, love the color and your necklace
3/9/05 9:44 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Leslie, your sweater top is just so gorgeous!! Any chance we could see you wearing the luvy sweater? The binding that you did is so great. Love the Princess Bride commentary! Thanks for the zipper source and the terrific review.
3/9/05 10:31 PM
Hilary said...
Leslie, this looks great!! Love your review, that movie is a classic, lol-my personal favorite is the "INconCEIVable!!" comment by the short bad guy(what was his name!?) in the beginning :oP Thanks for the details about the binding -I like the look of that, and now I may have to try it too. I have this pattern but the style of the cardigan in the drawing is so-so and yours looks fabulous. Thanks!
3/10/05 7:57 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Wow! Beautiful! Are you meaning to say that you managed to make this with just one yard of fabric? My mind got hung up on that fact and I couldn't read the rest of the review with a clear head. :)
3/10/05 8:58 AM
Sue_WA said...
I love it! Love the color, the zipper, everything! Your binding looks excellent.
3/10/05 8:59 AM
PixieCat said...
Love the color, the style, the review!
3/10/05 3:23 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great review. I think you just sold a few dozen copies of this pattern, at least.
3/11/05 5:30 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I love it too Leslie! How did I miss this review the first time?? Hilarious review! I remember your search for the zipper. Looks like you found your match and your miracle. The sweater looks fabulous, and that's one of my favorite colors.
3/12/05 10:52 AM
Diane E said...
I thought I'd left a comment before, but I'm glad I didn't because not only did I like it before, but I really like it with you in it! Thanks for making me want yet another pattern....
3/12/05 3:55 PM
Tonya said...
Ya know, Kwik Sew should start paying patternreview members to use our pictures for their patterns - they always come out looking so much better than the drawings! Great job, Leslie, and I see you have fine taste in movies. :)
BTW, Hilary, the short bald guy's name was Vizzini. (Yes, you're very smart. Shut up.)
3/12/05 5:58 PM
BjP said...
Wuv it, wuv it.....this pattern should now be your "twu luv foweva". :)
3/12/05 6:22 PM
MariaDenmark said...
Leslie - I love it! Great job - and it looks really good on you!
3/13/05 1:27 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
It works! Look at you--the sweater, the stone, the shoes... you are a SIGHT! Love the 3/4-length sleeves. So feminine.
3/13/05 10:21 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thanks for posting the picture!! I just knew how great it would look!
3/13/05 6:55 PM
mClones said...
Leslie, I just came upon this. What a beautiful job of binding! And, of course, a knockout sweater.
2/24/06 8:00 PM
lynne leblanc said...
I love Leslie's comments on what she changed about the pattern. Not sure I'm skilled enough to try it myself, but maybe someday!
9/26/09 11:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 2219
photo
Review by JessicaFer... on 9/23/11
Read Review

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Pocket PJs Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pocket PJs Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2008-108
photo
Review by Maree P on 1/25/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5626 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5626 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us