SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2005-108 (tee shirt)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1923 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/05 8:20 PM
Last Updated:3/12/05 8:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
I love your shirt! I liked this style too but there is no way I'd be comfortable wearing it as is-way too low for me. I will try this now that I see it can be more modest :o) How did you add to the neckline-did you just make a wider tie, by add height to the center or did you slash and pivot ? Thanks for a great review!
3/12/05 8:27 PM
Izzie said...
Fabulous top! You did a beautiful job of raising the neckline, thanks for the instructions.
3/12/05 9:04 PM
Jan B. said...
Very pretty. Good solution to the plunging neckline.
3/12/05 10:38 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Kay, you did very well, I love your top too, the neckline is a whole lot better now, congrats!!!
3/12/05 10:46 PM
jlg said...
Very cute top. Great job changing the neckline.
3/13/05 5:34 AM
Lisette said...
I love this top thanks for the details on raising the neckline.
3/13/05 6:45 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Excellent review. I like the idea of the elastic/narrow serged edge. Do you think it might work easier if you used a very narrow elastic or an elastic cord? -Ann
3/13/05 8:23 AM
Nancy Anne said...
What a beautiful shirt! If this is the muslin, I can't wait to see the real deal. LOVE the results of the fitting adjustments you made.
3/13/05 8:41 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful top! I think it turned out great.
3/13/05 8:56 AM
Kay Y said...
Ann, I puzzled over how best to handle these edges for a while and did consider an elastic cord. I decided on the clear elastic because I knew cutting it wouldn't hurt its stretchiness and I have had good luck stabilizing knit edges with it before. I ended up having to fudge the edges i.e. restitch sections that hadn't been caught in the stitches as a result of the curve. I use my serger a lot to finish inside garments but I'm not an expert at this sort of technique. I am very open to suggestions on how to finish knit fabric edges with the serger! I'd also love to know where to get coloured foldover elastic, or how to dye it. My neat-nik personality would prefer that finish.
3/13/05 12:38 PM
stebo79 said...
I am planing to do this shirt - and due to the revealing neckline I already thought about changing it the way you did... I love the colour of your shirt. I recognised it is hard to find blue jersey ...
3/13/05 1:55 PM
Maggie Anne said...
Thanks so much for this review which isvery timely. I really want to make this top but was wary ofthe low neckline. Now I know how to tackle it
4/3/05 5:10 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Love your shirt and the color. I made this pattern, and I wish I had seen your review first!
5/8/05 3:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2181

photo
by: Aroura

Review
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Buy Now
Contest 509-1020

photo
by: twotoast

Review