SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2799 (Tom & Linda Platt dress)

Viewed 2080 times 
Reviewed by:gabrielle stanley
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About gabrielle stanleystar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 2/20/03
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 6:54 AM
Last Updated:3/25/05 2:26 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FirecrackerKTM said...
What a beautiful dress!
4/10/08 4:16 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Everyone else beat me to appropriate adjectives. It's beyond wonderful, and your review is great. Thanks.
5/11/05 6:23 AM
Inger said...
A dress for me! But where do I find the 60" material needed? Silk georgette would suit me better!
5/10/05 6:10 PM
gabrielle stanley said...
I'm in the UK and my source only sells wholesale, I'm afraid.
4/25/05 3:55 AM
JDpenelope said...
Just saw this review! Wow, beautiful. I'm curious how wide your fabric is and where you got it!
4/24/05 6:22 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Very pretty dress. My hat is off to you for finding graded blues for the overlay.
3/26/05 11:55 AM
CarolynGM said...
What a lucky client you have! How did you hem the layers, by the way?
3/26/05 7:33 AM
Jan B. said...
Fabulous! Lovely dress
3/25/05 11:18 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
What a gorgeous gown! Thank you for sharing this amazing project.
3/25/05 3:03 PM
Annika said...
Thank you for making this dress! I've been mulling over buying the pattern for some time and I love being able to see it on a real person!
3/25/05 1:42 PM
els said...
The dress is beautiful.
3/25/05 1:06 PM
flowermama said...
Lovely gown and so beautifully done! Thanks for sharing it and for the picture on a person which really showcases the effect of this gown.
3/25/05 1:01 PM
Eli said...
it is spectacular indeed!
3/25/05 12:07 PM
PattiA said...
Gabrielle, this is one stunning gown!
3/25/05 10:52 AM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful dress... I love it.
3/25/05 9:53 AM
Elona said...
What a beautiful gown! I have often wondered how this one would look on a real person. Your client must be positively delighted.
3/25/05 9:44 AM
Melody said...
What a beautiful dress. You must also be credited for having a wonderfully developed color sense.
3/25/05 8:55 AM
PhyllisC said...
You get a ton of credit alone for persevering and finding the right color gradations (and in silk to boot!) Wonderful gown.
3/25/05 8:36 AM
Hilary said...
That is *gorgeous*! I always loved this dress in the catalog- but as a SAHM I just can't think of a good place to wear it, lol. Thanks for sharing!
3/25/05 8:10 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely! I'm sure your client was very pleased.
3/25/05 7:49 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
What a gorgeous formal! You should get lots of referals from this happy client. Lots of helpful tips here.
3/25/05 7:38 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely, lovely job! I really like the idea of the separate tunic. I could see that in a coordinating lace fabric too! -Ann
3/25/05 7:14 AM
AnneM said...
This is one of those wonderful Vogue patterns that make you wish you had a formal event to go to. Love your version; wonderful fabric combination. Thanks for the info on taking out the neck gaping.
3/25/05 7:03 AM
Georgene said...
Wonderful version of this dress! Lucky lady, did she say what she would do with the separate top layer?
3/25/05 7:00 AM
Deepika said...
Gabrielle, your dress is smashing! Just like you rated, difficult but gorgeous results. Totally worth the time. Thanks for reviewing.
3/25/05 6:37 AM
clare said...
wow! it was well worth hunting down the fabric for this one!
3/25/05 5:12 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Gabrielle, I have to agree with you, it's truly spectacular, congratulations!!!
3/25/05 4:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

McCall's 5525

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Butterick 5510

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Poppet Purse Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

More Info