SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 1750 (Robin's Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2993 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 244
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/05 9:03 PM
Last Updated:11/26/06 2:35 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
Cute jacket. I can't wait to see what you make to go with it. Maybe a black skirt?
4/2/05 9:19 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Yup. A black skirt is exactly what's next on the list... ;)
4/2/05 9:27 PM
Levone said...
Very nice jacket. Love the colors.
4/2/05 10:43 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for the review, Lisa. I love your jacket. It is a great start for the contest!
4/2/05 11:00 PM
Kathryn said...
Lisa, I always love reading your reviews, and this one is up to your usual excellent standards--fun to read and lots to learn in each one. The jacket is really cute, with the black contrast, and must be comfortable to wear. The alterations you made were interesting as well, since I have now learned, through you, that even though one size works in one of the Silhouettes patterns, it may not necessarily work in another one in the same line. Thanks for saving me from a fitting mistake in the future!
4/2/05 11:37 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice!
4/3/05 0:19 AM
annsew65 said...
Lisa, even though you had such a struggle for what you thought was going to be so simple, it really looks nice! Great job! I may see that pattern in my future!
4/3/05 1:58 AM
jlg said...
Your jacket turned out great. Looks pretty on you.
4/3/05 6:22 AM
Nancy Anne said...
That is absolutely beautiful- looks way better than the pattern drawing!
4/3/05 8:52 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very pretty jacket -- the shoulder pads help it hang very nicely. Even though the binding was pain, it looks great.
4/3/05 9:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lisa, great save on this jacket. I love the pink and black. I cannot get the Silhouette patterns to fit right for me and always jealous and happy for others who get them right. I love the fashion look of them, but I have so many variables in size that it becomes frustrating. I love the look of the pockets and the front binding. You did an excellent job with ravelly fabric and fitting concerns.
4/3/05 10:25 AM
drsue said...
Very pretty. I've been scared away by the weird sizing on these patterns myself. I like many of their designs though.
4/3/05 11:04 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lisa, yours looks much better than the pattern photo. Great job! I wish she would re-design her fashions for smaller shoulders. I never make Silhouettes patterns because the shoulders look so dated, even when the styles are not. -Ann
4/3/05 11:32 AM
Tiner W said...
Very, very pretty jacket!
4/3/05 7:55 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Lisa, I've been considering this pattern for a while; I've almost clicked on the "Add to Cart" button several times. Your version looks wonderful, but your warnings about the sizing has made me think that I'll save this one for a time when I have more patience. In addition to writing a review that's filled with helpful construction and style imformation, you've saved me from adding a another Procrastination Pattern to my current stash. Thank you, and enjoy the jacket; your work paid off.
4/3/05 8:36 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Looks good despite being a pain in the neck. Thanks for the tips on the binding. So how was the Atlanta Expo?
4/4/05 6:27 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks so much for the comments, ladies! Linda, I think Peggy's patterns are just like anyone else's ... the trick is to get the right fit in the shoulders. If you can get that, then you can measure/pivot/slide to make the rest work. I did the same thing here I would've done to a Big 4 pattern, I just had to figure out what size to start with. Oh...I didn't have to lower the bust point, though ;). Rennie, the Expo was GREAT...I came away inspired, enlightened, exhausted, and over my planned fabric purchase allotment...all in all, a success! :)
4/5/05 3:49 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Your jacket is beautiful, Lisa! All your headaches with the binding were worth it. :-)
4/5/05 4:12 PM
Gingersew said...
Very pretty jacket ... you'd never guess you had any problems with it! Thanks for the thorough review ... makes me want to try the pattern!
4/10/05 7:08 AM
Rhoda K said...
Lisa, I'm bumfuzzled . . . the jacket that comes up thru your photo is light blue w/black trim, a very nice looking jacket. In your review you mention Nancy E's fabric. I'm assuming you haven't made it out of that fabric yet as your description under the photo mentions fabric from Joann's. Then further down in the review you mentioned not using plain "poly/cotton bias tape on that beautiful fabric". From the caption under the photo, I get the impression that you weren't too crazy about the fabric from Joanns. Please help me get my brain cells in working order. Or, I'll figure it out after I post this!!
11/26/06 2:01 PM
trinicity said...
very lovely
11/26/06 2:31 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Rhoda, I'm not sure what happened w/the photo link. I just made sure it linked to the correct album at Photoworks(click on 'view photos' in the photoworks welcome page to see both jackets in the album), although the thumbnail I uploaded is showing for the project photo. I made two jackets; The original jacket (Apr '05) was the pink cotton from JoAnn's, with black trim...I've no idea why it would show as light blue(?); the new (today's update) jacket is from a very nice red wool/lurex plaid.
11/26/06 2:40 PM
moushka said...
That red plaid is to die for! Both jackets look great. You'll look very festive in the red for Christmas. Great reveiw.
11/26/06 4:24 PM
jo37 said...
Great jacket. I have some of Peggy's patterns, but have not made any. Thanks for the info about the sizing.
11/26/06 4:41 PM
LBJ said...
Both jackets are gorgeous. Good job!
11/26/06 4:56 PM
Elona said...
I love the red one especially. It looks great on you, and is that a new hairdo?
11/26/06 5:02 PM
Mini said...
When I looked at the pattern cover, I liked everything about the design except those big old "Dynasty" shoulders. It looked like it didn't fit the model at all. Yours looks so much better, and no one would ever guess that you had to fight with the fabric or binding to get that nice result:).
11/26/06 6:37 PM
jlg said...
I really like your red jacket; I think that the color is very becoming.
11/26/06 6:57 PM
cecelia said...
Your jacket is lovely, and I'm sure the matching black skirt will really set it off. The trim really adds to its style.
11/26/06 6:58 PM
PegL said...
The new jacket is great! You should wear red more often!
11/27/06 0:07 AM
hongkongshopper said...
I agree, the red looks great - and very festive! congratulations on getting the "job" done so quickly!
11/27/06 9:46 PM
CherylStillSews said...
Just stumbled across your review whilst researching Silhouette patterns - I like the pink but the red is stunning!
5/22/07 0:41 AM
Lisa Laree said...
note: I did make a royal blue jacket w/black trim, but it was after the red one...in 2008...
1/11/14 10:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Butterick 5610

photo
by: Aurelie

Review
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

Buy Now
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 8353

photo
by: JeannieWat...

Review