SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> NA (Salwar Kameez)

2 more reviews
Viewed 18522 times 
Reviewed by:Mini
photo

 
 
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/5/01 3:43 PM
Last Updated:4/12/03 2:22 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 26 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Mini, thanks for getting me interested in making a salwar kameez for myself :-)
12/18/01 6:21 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Doubt I'll make one, but sure enjoyed the info. it is fun to learn new things. thanks for sharing
1/8/02 11:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I was laying there this morning thinking about this pattern. I had looked at the Folkwear pattern and am glad I didn't buy it now that I have read your review. Thank you.
7/27/02 1:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have the Folkwear pattern. I will take a different look at it now,maybe if I make it I can make some design changes. Thanks for the review
8/18/02 10:50 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for this great tip! I have been having salwar kameez(s?) made in India through a company I found on ebay - so far, the cost has been so low that it isn't worth making my own - especially since they will make to measure or alter anything that they sell to fit. However, as time passes this company will no doubt catch on and the prices will go up - and making my own will become feasible (I have 5 and can't have enough!) - so this review and pattern are most welcome - thanks!
10/28/02 4:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Terry, these outfits are so much fun to make. I still get some from Ebay too, when I want a more decorative style or a special fabric that I can't get here. I would like to see pictures if you start sewing your own.
10/28/02 5:02 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Jane Warren said...
Mini, these are so beautiful! Your review and the lovely pictures have whetted my appetite - yet again PR is shifting me out of my comfort zone (rut?). Do these make up well in voile, or does the fabric need to have more drape to it (like, say, a crepe de chine)?
2/14/03 9:58 PM
Mini said...
Jane, I think voile would be fine. Actually, just about any fabric seems to work, if it is not too stiff and heavy. I have a ready-made embroidered cotton voile kameez. It is beautiful, but rather sheer. You might want to consider lining the kameez, or making a sleeveless underdress in a more opaque fabric.
2/15/03 11:17 PM
DansingnSpirit said...
Hello My name is Pamela and I am DansingnSpirit (Ebay) name also. I can also be reached at dansingnspirit@msn.com. I have the Salwar Kameez Pattern from infant to ladies size 3X. Thank you:)
2/15/03 11:50 PM
Georgene said...
Jane, you can use your voile for the long narrow dupatta scarf that is usually worn with this outfit. Many are made with co-ordinated fabrics with a different color for the pant and a matching print or pattern on the top with a sheer scarf to tie it all together. I also like the 'churidar' style pant that has narrow legs cut on the bias, but are still fairly big on the top with drawstring waist. Wonder if DancingnSpirit has a pattern for them?
2/16/03 0:19 AM
Terry McCormick said...
I went straight to ebay to buy this pattern, thanks to Mini, and because of "buy it now" was able to get it immediately. She emailed to give me a choice of sizes - and said she would have a website soon. Meanwhile, you can easily buy one on ebay. her seller name is: dancingnspirit. One tip from salwar kameez I have and like - if you make the yoke only out of a lightweight fabric - you can make the rest of the salwar from a heavier fabric - and it won't be bulky over your tummy. I like the embellished yokes on the Kameez I buy - so will be challenged to get my machine embroidery/applique skills back in trim again. Also, I plan to replace the plain neckline with one I have on a favorite kurta (the top is called a "kurta") almost a "sweetheart" neckline. Much more flattering for my plump neck and chin(s)!!! I think this pattern will be lots of fun to play with and really appreciate the tip on how to find it! Thanks very much!
2/16/03 3:10 AM
Mini said...
Hi, Pamela-thanks for the update. For those who are interested in sewing their own, there used to be a salwar kameez topic at ww.sewingworld.com. It is not active any more, but I think it still there in the archives. You can get some good design and sewing ideas by browsing through it. Have fun!
2/16/03 11:48 AM
Deepika said...
Link to Salwaar Kameez topic on SewingWorld
2/16/03 11:56 AM
Maria Hatfield said...
Beautiful !!!!
2/16/03 5:01 PM
Shona said...
I live in an area with a large population of immigrants from India, so these outfits are totally commonplace on our streets, in such wonderful colours and prints. There are so many fabric stores that sell the fabrics, sometimes only in suit lengths. Some stores have the fabrics all coordinated and cut to length, including a nice contrast for the scarf. Except for some special silks, the overwhelming favourite for these here is polyester, I think because of the convenience of washing. The many very good quality polyesters available drape well and don't crease easily. I've never actually looked for patterns though, but there are night school courses on sewing them. I always wondered if they were all sef-drafted.....
4/13/03 1:26 AM
Mini said...
Shona, you are right-lots of people know how to draft them. It really isn't hard. On the other hand, there are lots of tunic and dress patterns that can be used for a kameez. The Spring 2003 pattern books have lots of long tunics and dusters with pants, that will give a similar look. I like making the salwar trousers, so that is why I bought this pattern. However, they are not essential. Any pants pattern you like could be substituted. Simplicity 71668, recently reviewed by AnneM is one example.
4/13/03 12:14 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
This type of clothing is so loose,easy and comfortable for moderate to hot weather, thanks for the eBay recommendation too! McCall's 3705 has a nice tunic and pants pattern for anyone looking for a more available source. Note: It does not include transfers for the embroidered version leaving it to your creativity in embellishing. Thanks again!
4/17/03 9:02 PM
CatherineG said...
Thanks for the info. I ordered my pattern on e-Bay. I am waiting for it to arrive. (I was sent the wrong size initially but she was very prompt in advising me that she was sending a replacement). The instructions are very clear and I'm thinking about making the pants in a soft rayon from Batik Butik.
5/26/03 11:40 PM
Mini said...
Batik Butik rayon is great, and I think it will really work with this pattern. Have fun!
5/27/03 4:55 PM
TSingh said...
I'm so glad I found your page again! I too love the salwar kameez. I get nothing but comments when I wear them. I love that it's like wearing a dress yet you are more protected with the pants. Thanks for your lovely photos on yahoo also. Isn't it amazing how in Asia even though most women wear the same type of clothing the designs are so varied!! Each outfit is more beautiful than the next and original. There's nothing like going into a garment store in India, having your measurements taken and coming back to get your one of a kind clothing that fits. Thanks! I bought my original pattern from this link http://www.momwiz.com/Parlour/patterns.htm
7/8/03 11:59 PM
Mini said...
Thanks for the comments Tsingh. I love hearing from other SK fans. That "Momwiz" address is where I originally got this pattern several years ago. I can't seem to stop sewing and wearing these outfits-they are addictive! Now I am working on some for summer using patterns from Kwik Sew and Sew Grand for the tops. By the way, my husband likes these too. He says I look cuter, younger, and thinner when I wear them-got to love that!
7/9/03 2:40 PM
jannah said...
interesting and well written review. I went straight to ebay and bought the pattern
5/27/04 4:33 PM
Brenna20 said...
Was it difficult to sew the pants? My concern is the crotch. Is the crotch comfortable? I bought a pair from momwiz.com and there wasn't really a crotch and very uncomfortable! What about the ones you bought off of ebay? I would love to hear.
11/15/04 10:47 PM
Mini said...
Brenna, the ready to wear salwars I have bought were super comfortable. The ones I sewed were also comfortable, although the style was a bit different. The important thing is that the crotch is meant to be very low-much more so than western style trousers. If you try to fit it so that the seam that joins the legs is close to the body, it will not work. Sometimes salwars are made with a gusset, which could help a too tight fit. Lengthening the yoke may also help.
11/16/04 9:56 AM
Brenna20 said...
Okay, thank you . I think that I will have to buy the pattern on ebay then. I know you haven't seen it lately, but I just checked it out. She said she's sold over 500 patterns and none came with a complaint. So maybe I'll see if I can't use a gusset. thanx for getting back so soon!
11/16/04 8:15 PM
Brenna20 said...
The website to go to is: www.dansingnspirit.us . The Salwar Kameez pattern is $18.95 but with no shipping as well as other things. By the way, your photo link doesn't work.
11/18/04 2:56 AM
Reedy said...
This is absolutely beautiful, Mini. Brenna, thanks for the link.
3/27/05 1:11 PM
TSingh said...
Please don't delete this review. :~) There is still valuable information here! I was able to track back & find momwiz-I'm not sure if she still sells the patterns either. I bought one from her a while ago.
6/2/05 9:46 AM
thaiyal said...
Yes, please dont delete this review. This has great info.
12/14/05 2:56 PM
Mini said...
Thanks, Thaiyal. For those who want to try sewing their own SK's, check out Simplicity and the other major pattern catalogs. Nice patterns for tunic and pants sets are easy to find right now, so get them before the fashion cycle changes direction again;).
12/14/05 5:11 PM
DansingnSpirit said...
I apologize for responding so late. I have had several surgeries since I began this business, and I am currently recovering from another one as I type this. I found this review again and I had to respond. I joined this website a few months ago because I wanted to introduce myself as the new owner of a Salwar Kameez sewing pattern, and of course I also love all the tips and information it has. Anyways, I purchased this pattern business from momwiz in the winter of 2000 and I have worked very hard to make it the best that it can be. I have added more detailed instructions and I tried to make it more clear with sewing techniques, tips and ideas. I also have updated some of the hand drawings with more details, and I replaced the hand drawn pattern layout with a photo picture of 4 different types of layouts. My goal is that any beginner would be able to sew this beautiful garment using simple directions. The Salwar is no longer made according to size, but instead is one size 3X. Since Salwars are made for comfort and typically 1 1/2 times the actual waist I thought why not alter it like the Churidar using personal measurements. I still include the largest size, but I added additional Churidar directions with examples, and drawings. There are 3 different styles. that can be made. The first is the full churidar with no pattern break and cut all on the bias. The second style is made the same only the yoke is created on the straight grain to save fabric. The third style is created just like the Salwar above the seat line and from the seat line below you will use your personal measurements for churidar style or make it more baggy like salwar. The churidar instructions explain the 3 different styles, and help you find your personal size by using a little math, and a step by step approach. Also included is illustrations and examples to help make the Churidar/Salwar to your personal size and style. The Kameez presently fits 3 sizes just like the review says. The 3 sizes and a few alterations help to make the kameez more personally styled for our different body types. If you purchased your pattern prior to December 2000 I think you will find many new improvements, and I am also planning on changing the picture very soon. I appreciate all of your feedback both negative and positive, and please feel free to copy and paste this to anyone who may be interested. Thank you for your much valued reviews. Pamela (DansingnSpirit) .
7/21/07 3:39 AM
tamishel said...
Hi thanks for good review the pattern is now at http://www.dansingnspirit.us/
6/18/08 8:54 AM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for this information and an excellent review.
8/14/08 3:17 PM
faridakhan said...
i would like to find out how can i get a pattern to make salwar kameez.
7/15/09 7:25 PM
bexn said...
faridakhan, the pattern is now at http://www.dansingnspirit.us/. To order an item, click on the picture. DansingnSport purchased the patterns from momwiz in 2000 and used to sell the pattern on eBay. They now have their own website. The cost of their patterns as of this writing is $25, no refunds. There are only two main patten choices offered in a variety of sizes at this time: Salware Kameez (Sizes: Infant, Toddler, Child, Youth, Pre-Teen, Ladies XS, Ladies S, Ladies M/L, Ladies XL) and Choli Sari (Sizes: Ladies S, Ladies M/L, Ladies XL). I have not purchased any patterns yet but plan to do so.
8/10/09 4:41 PM
VelmaVance said...
Hi ~ Thanks for the comments. Does anyone know of a good Salwar Kameez pattern for men? Thanks!
10/4/09 0:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable #6066 Theresa Dress

photo
by: Amanda.Cla...

Review
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Anna Handbag Pattern

Buy Now