SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Fashion Sewing Group> 1945 (Jacket)

14 more reviews
Viewed 2840 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 272 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/05 4:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 32 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia in NC said...
very professional looking and elegant
4/16/05 5:05 PM
Peggy L said...
Kay - beautiful jacket. You did a great job. How about a picture of the sleeve vents?
4/16/05 5:18 PM
els said...
Thanks for the review, your jackets is gorgeous tailor made. I use a lot of the same tailoring techniques as you described.
4/16/05 5:36 PM
Patti B said...
Lovely jacket. You and karmeng make a great sewing team -- betweeb the 2 reviews ALL is revealed!
4/16/05 5:47 PM
Eli said...
As you other jackets, this one is also awesome in craftsmanship and detail! If you don't minf, can you elaborate on the technique for the cap, I don't think I understood it and it seems to prodice superb results.
4/16/05 6:06 PM
jlg said...
Great job. The details are very well done. Thanks for the thorough review.
4/16/05 6:37 PM
lmg said...
What a beautiful jacket! Thank you very much for this detailed review. Both this review and the one by karmeng are much appreciated.
4/16/05 9:05 PM
Liana said...
Beautiful jacket, and what a helpful, detailed review you've written! Thanks for all the great tips, and the sleeve cap technique sounds marvelous.
4/16/05 10:09 PM
Lori V said...
great job
4/16/05 10:18 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this very detailed & informative review. The jacket is very elegant! Now I must read karmeng's review. (8^D)
4/17/05 0:00 AM
kathi s said...
Beautiful jacket- I envy your mastery of the pattern. Faced with several problems that might have cowed me, you worked your way through to a great conclusion
4/17/05 0:03 AM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful jacket love you details, very helpful review, sounds like it was a fun project to share.
4/17/05 5:53 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Kay...you've done such a great job on the tailoring, and in writing the review. Did you have to remark your pocket placement on one of your front pieces and forgot that you had raised them 1 1/2"? One pocket looks 1 1/2" higher than the other. Or is this an optical illusion?
4/17/05 6:17 AM
Raewyn Hayes said...
Thanks for the instructive and even handed review. I am wondering if perhaps the front lining piece is cut on such an odd angle so you can use a RTW technique as outlined in Threads #108 ("Where Lining Meets Facing" by Allison Page). However, if there are no instructions to reflect this technique, the shaping is of little use.
4/17/05 6:22 AM
blue mooney said...
some very good information in your review, thanks. Your jacket is beautiful, but I don't think you told us if it makes you "powerful" or not.
4/17/05 7:12 AM
JoleneF said...
Your jacket is stunning and you did a great review!
4/17/05 8:24 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Gorgeous! I know you'll get a lot of use out of this jacket.
4/17/05 8:51 AM
MickeyFan said...
Excellent review. Your jacket turned out beautifully! I had much the same experience as you. I had a good outcome but I kept wondering what the $20 pattern price was for.
4/17/05 10:32 AM
marjenann said...
Magnificent jacket!! The review was also very impressive!
4/17/05 11:16 AM
petra said...
I love this jacket, but reading your instructions I think that it is beyond my skills at the moment!. I am sure that you have lots of compliments when you wear it. Terrific job.
4/17/05 1:55 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Beautiful and yet powerful. I love the color. I bet it would make a lovely suit with pants or a skirt. It's very RTW and expensive looking.
4/17/05 2:06 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I wish you had reviewed this pattern about two years ago when I made it!!! Nonetheless, your jacket looks great and all of your modifications worked out well.
4/17/05 7:14 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thank you so much for sharing all your tailoring details with us. Your skill is evident in this gorgeous jacket.
4/17/05 8:34 PM
redhead said...
Great review and a wonderful jacket. You have given me some food for thought for my next 1945 project. Thanks!
4/18/05 8:51 AM
Tina Rathbone said...
Your work is stunning. This one's beyond my grasp, but what a timeless jacket you've made. I've saved this review in my "Favorites" in case I ever attempt a tailored jacket ... one of my sewing 'dreams.' :)
9/13/05 4:05 PM
AllNewtoMe said...
I'm new to sewing and this is very inspiring to me!
10/10/10 6:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1061

photo
by: shaleenyma...

Review
McCall's 6185

photo
by: rachella

Review
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now