Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2004-101 (jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1274 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/05 5:47 PM
Last Updated:4/15/05 5:47 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
I love what you did with this pattern -- thanks for the details about the cuffs. I've sewn collars with stands like that a time or two and really like the effect. The fabric is also gorgeous.
4/15/05 5:55 PM
Irene said...
Beautiful jacket! Thanks for including the detail view of the collar stand. I'm encouraged to modify some of my existing patterns.
4/15/05 6:10 PM
els said...
Your jacket is beautiful.About the cuffs you also can cut the cuffs pattern twice for each cuff, and make them reversible in fabric.In other words cut a fabric cuff facing the same height as the outer cuff.
4/15/05 6:20 PM
Liana said...
Very pretty, and a lovely job, as with all your garments. What fun to pull this out for spring!
4/15/05 9:40 PM
edube said...
Isn't it interesting to see all the variations of the same garment! I preferred the view with the hood because there are no shoulder pads and I thought the hood would give a little extra *oomph* to the shoulder area, but I really like your version as well. Very nice.
4/15/05 9:48 PM
lmg said...
Thanks for the review. I was thinking about making this pattern and your review was timely. I love those collars as well. I see them more and more in Burda patterns
4/15/05 9:48 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Very nice job, I like this collar also, it really let's you to have the collar open or colsed and it looks good both ways, this is a standard collar treatment for men's tayloring.
4/16/05 0:13 AM
Anne Frances said...
Thank you so much for this and the photo of the collar detail. I've been looking at some Burda WoF designs with collars like this and couldn't figure out quite how they worked. Now I want to try this on a blouse. The jacket and fabric are very smart.
4/16/05 6:20 AM
blue mooney said...
Thanks for reviewing, regardless of when you made this up. I love your version, and kudos for good photos. It's often hard to see details in black garments. You've made me want to take another look at this pattern. Thanks again!
4/16/05 6:53 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Your jacket is very stylish, especially with the semi-kangaroo pockets.
4/16/05 11:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Kwik Sew 3854 Shorts
photo
Review by pterion on 5/20/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6594
photo
Review by SueV on 6/9/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7074 Pattern
Burda 7074 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us