SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8285 (Dress & Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1689 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 185
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 174
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/05 9:19 PM
Last Updated:4/15/05 9:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jan B. said...
I had a RTW dress like this years ago and loved it. Unfortunately, it was rayon and I washed it--shrunk incredibly. Thanks for the review, think I'll try this one. You do such a nice job of sewing and reviewing.
4/15/05 9:38 PM
els said...
love the design details of your dress,about the circulair buckle there was a thread last year on the message boards.
4/16/05 4:01 AM
CarolynGM said...
Nice print and a very interesting style. How does it look on? Is there any "pooching" where the gathering is?
4/16/05 6:06 AM
Lisette said...
Lovely dress. Have you checked www.mjtrim.com, I know they carry a lot of buckles.
4/16/05 6:59 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Kay that dress is stunning! I agree with Lisette - try M&J. You might also try Daytona Trims in New York. Their phone number is (212) 354-1713. -Ann
4/16/05 7:38 AM
JoleneF said...
What a beautiful dress!
4/16/05 7:42 AM
Tiner W said...
Awesome! I've been eyeing this pattern; now I'm convinced I need it! Your dress is so beautiful and unusual!
4/16/05 8:38 AM
Kay Y said...
In answer to Irina's question, it does not "pooch" out, despite the fabric in the midriff area. The fabric is pleated there, you can press it quite flat, and the effect is to shape the front rather than bulk it up at all. Thanks all for the nice feedback, and for the tips on the buckle - on with the search!
4/16/05 10:32 AM
CatherineN said...
If preshrunk, bemberg is washable.
4/16/05 4:11 PM
rosa said...
HI Kay, Your dress looks fabulous. I have just bought this pattern - like you for the jacket and just like you I cannot find the buckle! However, while I'm searching I'll do the dress which looks so much better in your picture than on pattern packet. Thanks so much. Rose in Sydney
4/16/05 7:14 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Really like the look of this pattern. Your dress turned out nice.
4/18/05 5:01 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Kay, I think Burda changed the pattern numbers on you. This number is now a zip front blouse! Any chance of showing a shot of the pattern envelope?
9/4/06 2:36 PM
Vintage Joan said...
(Lorna, Kay reviewed Burda 8285, but the "Burda pattern info." incorrectly shows 8286. Both apparently now out of print, unfortunately.)
1/29/08 12:05 PM
Margaret said...
Kay, I'd be interested to know if you ever found the type of buckle the pattern wants. I don't think I've seen anything like it, so I ended up using two thin metal rings instead. The dress looks great -- I love it in that print!
3/12/10 5:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Marfy 2276

photo
by: devviePuu

Review
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6071

photo
by: margy.64

Review