SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8285 (Dress & Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1692 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 188
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 277 people
patterns reviewed: 177
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/05 9:19 PM
Last Updated:4/15/05 9:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said... (3/12/10 5:21 PM) Reply
Kay, I'd be interested to know if you ever found the type of buckle the pattern wants. I don't think I've seen anything like it, so I ended up using two thin metal rings instead. The dress looks great -- I love it in that print!
Vintage Joan said... (1/29/08 12:05 PM) Reply
(Lorna, Kay reviewed Burda 8285, but the "Burda pattern info." incorrectly shows 8286. Both apparently now out of print, unfortunately.)
Lorna C. Newman said... (9/4/06 2:36 PM) Reply
Kay, I think Burda changed the pattern numbers on you. This number is now a zip front blouse! Any chance of showing a shot of the pattern envelope?
Danvillegirl said... (4/18/05 5:01 PM) Reply
Really like the look of this pattern. Your dress turned out nice.
rosa said... (4/16/05 7:14 PM) Reply
HI Kay, Your dress looks fabulous. I have just bought this pattern - like you for the jacket and just like you I cannot find the buckle! However, while I'm searching I'll do the dress which looks so much better in your picture than on pattern packet. Thanks so much. Rose in Sydney
CatherineN said... (4/16/05 4:11 PM) Reply
If preshrunk, bemberg is washable.
Kay Y said... (4/16/05 10:32 AM) Reply
In answer to Irina's question, it does not "pooch" out, despite the fabric in the midriff area. The fabric is pleated there, you can press it quite flat, and the effect is to shape the front rather than bulk it up at all. Thanks all for the nice feedback, and for the tips on the buckle - on with the search!
Tiner W said... (4/16/05 8:38 AM) Reply
Awesome! I've been eyeing this pattern; now I'm convinced I need it! Your dress is so beautiful and unusual!
JoleneF said... (4/16/05 7:42 AM) Reply
What a beautiful dress!
GorgeousFabrics said... (4/16/05 7:38 AM) Reply
Kay that dress is stunning! I agree with Lisette - try M&J. You might also try Daytona Trims in New York. Their phone number is (212) 354-1713. -Ann
Lisette said... (4/16/05 6:59 AM) Reply
Lovely dress. Have you checked www.mjtrim.com, I know they carry a lot of buckles.
CarolynGM said... (4/16/05 6:06 AM) Reply
Nice print and a very interesting style. How does it look on? Is there any "pooching" where the gathering is?
els said... (4/16/05 4:01 AM) Reply
love the design details of your dress,about the circulair buckle there was a thread last year on the message boards.
Jan B. said... (4/15/05 9:38 PM) Reply
I had a RTW dress like this years ago and loved it. Unfortunately, it was rayon and I washed it--shrunk incredibly. Thanks for the review, think I'll try this one. You do such a nice job of sewing and reviewing.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 280868-1002

photo
by: EmeraldEri...

Review
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Pattern Details