SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8285 (Dress & Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1689 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 272 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/05 9:19 PM
Last Updated:4/15/05 9:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jan B. said...
I had a RTW dress like this years ago and loved it. Unfortunately, it was rayon and I washed it--shrunk incredibly. Thanks for the review, think I'll try this one. You do such a nice job of sewing and reviewing.
4/15/05 9:38 PM
els said...
love the design details of your dress,about the circulair buckle there was a thread last year on the message boards.
4/16/05 4:01 AM
CarolynGM said...
Nice print and a very interesting style. How does it look on? Is there any "pooching" where the gathering is?
4/16/05 6:06 AM
Lisette said...
Lovely dress. Have you checked www.mjtrim.com, I know they carry a lot of buckles.
4/16/05 6:59 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Kay that dress is stunning! I agree with Lisette - try M&J. You might also try Daytona Trims in New York. Their phone number is (212) 354-1713. -Ann
4/16/05 7:38 AM
JoleneF said...
What a beautiful dress!
4/16/05 7:42 AM
Tiner W said...
Awesome! I've been eyeing this pattern; now I'm convinced I need it! Your dress is so beautiful and unusual!
4/16/05 8:38 AM
Kay Y said...
In answer to Irina's question, it does not "pooch" out, despite the fabric in the midriff area. The fabric is pleated there, you can press it quite flat, and the effect is to shape the front rather than bulk it up at all. Thanks all for the nice feedback, and for the tips on the buckle - on with the search!
4/16/05 10:32 AM
CatherineN said...
If preshrunk, bemberg is washable.
4/16/05 4:11 PM
rosa said...
HI Kay, Your dress looks fabulous. I have just bought this pattern - like you for the jacket and just like you I cannot find the buckle! However, while I'm searching I'll do the dress which looks so much better in your picture than on pattern packet. Thanks so much. Rose in Sydney
4/16/05 7:14 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Really like the look of this pattern. Your dress turned out nice.
4/18/05 5:01 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Kay, I think Burda changed the pattern numbers on you. This number is now a zip front blouse! Any chance of showing a shot of the pattern envelope?
9/4/06 2:36 PM
Vintage Joan said...
(Lorna, Kay reviewed Burda 8285, but the "Burda pattern info." incorrectly shows 8286. Both apparently now out of print, unfortunately.)
1/29/08 12:05 PM
Margaret said...
Kay, I'd be interested to know if you ever found the type of buckle the pattern wants. I don't think I've seen anything like it, so I ended up using two thin metal rings instead. The dress looks great -- I love it in that print!
3/12/10 5:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Simplicity 4968 OOP (50s/60s)

photo
by: gabc

Review
McCall's 5941

photo
by: VivianZ

Review
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now