Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Fashion Sewing Group: 1945 (Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1826 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:KarmenG
photo
Friend of PR
About KarmenGstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/3/03
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/05 4:55 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia in NC said...
your jacket is gorgeous. wow.
4/16/05 5:01 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Stunning jacket!! Thanks for the tips about the button placement. Would you say that this would be better for an intermediate sewist?
4/16/05 5:04 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful job! I love bound buttonholes and yours look fantastic. Sounds like the two of you had a great time with this jacket. They are both stunning.
4/16/05 5:15 PM
Patti B said...
Gorgeous jacket, Lois!
4/16/05 5:44 PM
els said...
Another stunning jacket.
4/16/05 5:45 PM
KarmenG said...
Jennifer - I think an intermediate sewist would be fine. I opted for some speed tailoring touches which still produced a nice result. Peggy Sagers and Mary Rohr have both published videos/books on that stuff if you need input. Go for it!
4/16/05 5:56 PM
jlg said...
Lovely. The workmanship is impressive.
4/16/05 6:36 PM
Kay Y said...
Great recovery on the sleeves!! I really like that look with the button above the opening. I may have to borrow the idea sometime....
4/16/05 8:15 PM
Lori V said...
very beautiful
4/16/05 10:06 PM
Liana said...
Beautiful jacket. Looks like you two had a great time doing a wonderful project.
4/16/05 10:13 PM
MarilynB said...
Your jacket is wonderful. I have made this jacket twice and love the look of it. Even with all the flaws in the pattern and instructions, it is a flattering jacket.
4/16/05 10:41 PM
PVA said...
Beautiful jacket -- I love your design touches, as in the open sleeve vent topped with a button. (I like the buttons, too.) The great part about deciding to use this pattern in spite of its shortcomings is that now we all can refer back to the reviews that give us advance warnings about the trouble spots. (8^D)
4/17/05 0:08 AM
kathi s said...
Beautiful job! I love your fabric. You and Karmeng have really got this pattern mastered. After reading both your comments, I think that I will have to leave this one for a time when I have better skills. Congratulations!
4/17/05 0:10 AM
PixieCat said...
Wow! This is what I aspire to be able to make some day. Gorgeous!
4/17/05 5:37 AM
blue mooney said...
another lovely jacket. Thanks for doing these side-by-side reviews. Very helpful, and it sounds like it was fun, too!
4/17/05 7:17 AM
JoleneF said...
What a beautiful jacket and a great review!
4/17/05 8:20 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful jacket! I love the change you made to the sleeve.
4/17/05 8:52 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Lois, I'm so impressed. Your jacket is fabulous. You got the fit perfect and have done such a professional job on those bound buttonholes and welt pockets.
4/17/05 10:35 AM
MickeyFan said...
Another excellent review and a lovely jacket. I'm certain you will get many compliments!
4/17/05 10:38 AM
MaryBeth said...
Your jacket looks great! I love the slits at the sleeves. Good save and I like the length of the slit: it's eyecatching and interesting.
4/17/05 10:47 AM
KarmenG said...
Thanks for all the kind comments. Mary Beth the slit is 3" long. The photo makes the sides look uneven but they are the same length.
4/17/05 11:51 AM
Tricia Plummer said...
Karmeng, This review was very helpful to me. I subscribe to Nancy's newsletter and have all her patterns (not to mention her beautiful fabrics!) I tried this pattern once but the fabric from her newsletter raveled an awful lot and I probably lost a size and a half (before I decided to serge the edges!) Anyway, I've been afraid of the pattern ever since (although the raveling had nothing to do with the pattern) but after reading your review, I'm going to make a muslin and give it another shot. Thanks for the great info.
4/17/05 2:46 PM
KarmenG said...
Tricia - I'm glad you'll give it another try. Feel free to write if you have questions. I took the less traditional route of Speed Tailoring and fused the entire jacket which minimized raveling. Good luck and we'll be looking for your review! ; )
4/17/05 3:36 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your jacket looks great. You and Kay Y did a great job with a trying pattern.
4/17/05 7:24 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a fun idea -- to collaborate with someone on a pattern! Your buttonholes and slash pockets look absolutely perfect. Congratulations on such a beautiful garment and for having the patience to master what sounds like a very difficult pattern.
4/17/05 8:42 PM
natural blue said...
Oh Lois, What beautiful work! Congrats on a stunning addition to your wardrobe.
4/20/05 4:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2007-117 Blouse
photo
Review by Markie1 on 1/31/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mango Tango Mango Tango
photo
Review by jannw on 2/28/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 3830 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 3830 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2908 Pattern
Jalie 2908 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us