SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4818 (Lizzie McGuire jacket/hat)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1241 times 
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo

 
 
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/05 2:05 AM
Last Updated:4/21/05 2:07 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
noreend said...
Gorgous jacket with a great fabric find. I have this on my "to do" list for my DD, but she won't be nearly as thrilled as your DD as my suede/sherpa is brown-ivory. Thanks for the heads up on the sizing.
4/21/05 6:04 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket
4/21/05 6:11 AM
sosoatsewing said...
What a fun jacket! Thanks for pointing out what those piles of Suede backed sherpa in my local fabric store can be used for...Love the color....lucky daughter!
4/21/05 6:14 AM
Cambric Tea said...
Sweet! What a fun review to read. You make a really vital point about reading the cover photo on the pattern with a harsh eye. I've been known to be tricked by weird poses and cute accesories. New Look is a fiend for doing this. That fabric is beautiful.
4/21/05 6:17 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Very cute jacket! I just showed this one to my 11yo DD who promptly requested one.
4/21/05 6:21 AM
Steffie said...
Thanks for the review! I have this pattern and love the jacket. You sure got a great price on the fabric. I found it by me at Hancock but the price is $29.00 per yard - even at 25% off, that is pretty pricey for a kid's jacket. Maybe next season I will find it for less. Great review. GREAT jacket!!
4/21/05 6:31 AM
Mbarkle said...
Belinda, that is gorgeous! I would never have noticed the zipper, the pink is in the same color family, so it blends well. I wish I could find suede/sherpa in those colors, just beautiful. . .
4/21/05 6:54 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Belinda, what a wonderful jacket! I'm sure it must feel like an expensive treasure for DD. Loved your review -- helpful and quite entertaining. I'll be sure to wave when I see you on the street. ;)
4/21/05 7:57 AM
flowermama said...
What a great jacket and so nicely finished! Thanks for the info on the sleeve length, I get tricked by pattern photos too!
4/21/05 10:07 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful, well-designed jacket. You did a fabulous job. I agree with you about spending so much time on something for a little one. They outgrow anything so quickly. I try to make beautiful, but simple things for my granddaughters too.
4/21/05 10:36 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Great review - and I promise if I see you on the street I'll fuss at her too! Been there. You can really tell this is yummy fabric from the picture. I want one too!
4/21/05 11:12 AM
touran said...
That is the most scrumptious pink suede. Lucky DD. Must be so fun to have little girls.
4/21/05 11:18 AM
Aarvic said...
WAAAA, I can't see the pictures. I've made this jacket twice! I used a black "mink" faux fur and fuschia "leapard" faux fur and I lined it both times. It's worth the effort to me because every time someone compliments her on it, she smiles really big and says "my MOM made it for me".
4/21/05 11:35 AM
Corey said...
Great review and a beautiful jacket! What a lucky girl!
4/21/05 1:59 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful work. I think the light pink zipper looks like a nice design element. Geez, you and others make me hesitate to post reviews for quick and easy clothes for my grandchildren! Your jacket is very special.
4/21/05 2:33 PM
PhyllisC said...
That is one stylin' jacket...!
4/21/05 2:47 PM
Cami said...
What a stunner. DD must be delirious with glee. Very helpful review.
4/21/05 7:01 PM
pharmercoon said...
Your jacket looks great! I know what a pain those bulk faux suedes can be. I made 2 suede backed fur coats a couple of months ago. My teenage niece saw mine and loved it-but I don't plan to fool with that stuff again any time soon. Thanks for the review-there are no little girls in our family but it was still a fun read! Kay
4/21/05 11:44 PM
Aarvic said...
I can finally see the picture, I don't know what the problem was... The jacket is beautiful, your daughter must love it, and if she doesn't, mine would!!!
4/22/05 12:32 PM
Messy said...
Belinda, this is a beautiful jacket for your daughter. Where do you get Lizzie McGuire patterns in Australia? My daughter also loves these patterns, but we are always told they are unavailable in Australia. Thanks, Jac.
4/23/05 12:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks to everyone for the lovely comments. Jac, I am very lucky to have a dear friend in the US who shares my passion for sewing. She is kind enough to buy the LMcG patterns for me at the 99c sale and post them over. You could always buy them over the internet, although they are a lot more expensive.
4/25/05 4:47 AM
Sew4Fun said...

4/25/05 4:47 AM
appleton78 said...
Love the fact that you tell us to go "beyond the pattern instructions"! Why don't they start giving us more professional finishing techniques? Unless you have read books (I have) you don't know there are many simple finishes that make garments go from homemade to WOW....no wonder teenagers won't sew anymore. Another superb review!
5/18/08 8:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 4221

photo
by: twotoast

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now