Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4818 (Lizzie McGuire jacket/hat) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 1241 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/05 2:05 AM
Last Updated:4/21/05 2:07 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
noreend said...
Gorgous jacket with a great fabric find. I have this on my "to do" list for my DD, but she won't be nearly as thrilled as your DD as my suede/sherpa is brown-ivory. Thanks for the heads up on the sizing.
4/21/05 6:04 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket
4/21/05 6:11 AM
sosoatsewing said...
What a fun jacket! Thanks for pointing out what those piles of Suede backed sherpa in my local fabric store can be used for...Love the color....lucky daughter!
4/21/05 6:14 AM
Cambric Tea said...
Sweet! What a fun review to read. You make a really vital point about reading the cover photo on the pattern with a harsh eye. I've been known to be tricked by weird poses and cute accesories. New Look is a fiend for doing this. That fabric is beautiful.
4/21/05 6:17 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Very cute jacket! I just showed this one to my 11yo DD who promptly requested one.
4/21/05 6:21 AM
Steffie said...
Thanks for the review! I have this pattern and love the jacket. You sure got a great price on the fabric. I found it by me at Hancock but the price is $29.00 per yard - even at 25% off, that is pretty pricey for a kid's jacket. Maybe next season I will find it for less. Great review. GREAT jacket!!
4/21/05 6:31 AM
Mbarkle said...
Belinda, that is gorgeous! I would never have noticed the zipper, the pink is in the same color family, so it blends well. I wish I could find suede/sherpa in those colors, just beautiful. . .
4/21/05 6:54 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Belinda, what a wonderful jacket! I'm sure it must feel like an expensive treasure for DD. Loved your review -- helpful and quite entertaining. I'll be sure to wave when I see you on the street. ;)
4/21/05 7:57 AM
flowermama said...
What a great jacket and so nicely finished! Thanks for the info on the sleeve length, I get tricked by pattern photos too!
4/21/05 10:07 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful, well-designed jacket. You did a fabulous job. I agree with you about spending so much time on something for a little one. They outgrow anything so quickly. I try to make beautiful, but simple things for my granddaughters too.
4/21/05 10:36 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Great review - and I promise if I see you on the street I'll fuss at her too! Been there. You can really tell this is yummy fabric from the picture. I want one too!
4/21/05 11:12 AM
touran said...
That is the most scrumptious pink suede. Lucky DD. Must be so fun to have little girls.
4/21/05 11:18 AM
Aarvic said...
WAAAA, I can't see the pictures. I've made this jacket twice! I used a black "mink" faux fur and fuschia "leapard" faux fur and I lined it both times. It's worth the effort to me because every time someone compliments her on it, she smiles really big and says "my MOM made it for me".
4/21/05 11:35 AM
Corey said...
Great review and a beautiful jacket! What a lucky girl!
4/21/05 1:59 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful work. I think the light pink zipper looks like a nice design element. Geez, you and others make me hesitate to post reviews for quick and easy clothes for my grandchildren! Your jacket is very special.
4/21/05 2:33 PM
PhyllisC said...
That is one stylin' jacket...!
4/21/05 2:47 PM
Cami said...
What a stunner. DD must be delirious with glee. Very helpful review.
4/21/05 7:01 PM
pharmercoon said...
Your jacket looks great! I know what a pain those bulk faux suedes can be. I made 2 suede backed fur coats a couple of months ago. My teenage niece saw mine and loved it-but I don't plan to fool with that stuff again any time soon. Thanks for the review-there are no little girls in our family but it was still a fun read! Kay
4/21/05 11:44 PM
Aarvic said...
I can finally see the picture, I don't know what the problem was... The jacket is beautiful, your daughter must love it, and if she doesn't, mine would!!!
4/22/05 12:32 PM
Messy said...
Belinda, this is a beautiful jacket for your daughter. Where do you get Lizzie McGuire patterns in Australia? My daughter also loves these patterns, but we are always told they are unavailable in Australia. Thanks, Jac.
4/23/05 12:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks to everyone for the lovely comments. Jac, I am very lucky to have a dear friend in the US who shares my passion for sewing. She is kind enough to buy the LMcG patterns for me at the 99c sale and post them over. You could always buy them over the internet, although they are a lot more expensive.
4/25/05 4:47 AM
Sew4Fun said...

4/25/05 4:47 AM
appleton78 said...
Love the fact that you tell us to go "beyond the pattern instructions"! Why don't they start giving us more professional finishing techniques? Unless you have read books (I have) you don't know there are many simple finishes that make garments go from homemade to WOW....no wonder teenagers won't sew anymore. Another superb review!
5/18/08 8:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Burda 9691 Dress
photo
Review by inertia on 10/6/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3580 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3580 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5957 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5957 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6899
photo
Review by SueT on 7/28/12
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Pocket Purse
Lily Pocket Purse

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us