SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Pillows (Matzoh pillows & Beanbags)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1175 times 
Reviewed by:mClones
photo

 
 
About mClonesstar
NY USA
Member since: 3/18/03
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/22/05 8:49 PM
Last Updated:4/22/05 8:49 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
I showed the photo to my DH when he said "Matzoh pillows? dis I never hoid!" We love it, and *have* to email this review to a few friends...
4/23/05 6:04 PM
cindyann said...
I love it!
4/23/05 3:39 PM
bunz said...
FANTASTIC! Can't believe the fabric -- it's so real!! Good Yontif!
4/23/05 1:29 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
That is so great!! What a fantastic idea- a truly reclining seder. Happy Passover!
4/23/05 1:28 PM
bheath said...
Very neat! They look very comfy. Have a blessed Passover!
4/23/05 10:22 AM
Linda E. said...
cool idean they are great. have a great holiday.
4/23/05 7:11 AM
JDpenelope said...
mClones, I followed your links and read the background on passover, with great interest. Thanks! Went to a seder many years ago, but had forgotten everything about it. You're right, your fabric looks Exactly like the matzoh bread!
4/23/05 7:07 AM
mClones said...
Penelope, here is a link to a very brief story of Passover: http://www.kidsdomain.com/holiday/passover/about.html. This fabric looks practically identical to the real thing, which you can see here: http://www.gothamist.com/images/2004_03_matzoh.jpg. Thanks for the compliments, fellow sewists. The project was a lot of fun and now folks are clamoring for them!
4/23/05 6:41 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the link to the tip for turning points--and the idea to use it on pillows! Loved your tale of the matzoh pillows. To overcome my cultural ignorance, I searched on "matzoh" and found an interesting article at http://www.jewishmag.com/8MAG/CHOMETZ/chometz.htm. Now I know that "matzoh" (unleavened bread) represents the truth and "chometz" (fermented bread) represents falsehood. But I'm still a little confused about why the fabric is called matzoh--does it look like unleavened bread...? Anyway, thanks for the adventure and I love your leavened pillows.
4/23/05 5:51 AM
Mandolin82 said...
I love these, and I'm not even Jewish!
4/22/05 10:56 PM
ldpaulson said...
Those are GREAT Passover gifts! The pillows and beanbags look kosher to me. I think there would have been a problem had you made those types of back rest pillows with arms and braided pieces of fabric for the arms! That would look like a matzoh-challah pillow. Just teasing. Very wonderful project. Happy Holidays.
4/22/05 10:18 PM
ccdcar said...
I love it!!!!! Have a great holiday!
4/22/05 9:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info