SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7608 (Today's Fit French-Cut Jean)

22 more reviews
Viewed 2863 times 
Reviewed by:Teri
photo

 
 
About Teristar
ID USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/05 12:18 PM
Last Updated:5/8/05 6:16 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Evatgirl73 said...
Nice fitting jeans, they look great on you! I like the back detail, interesting. Great review!!!
4/23/05 12:28 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You went though a lot to get these pants to work and got a great fit. They show off your little backside very nicely. Thanks for the review.
4/23/05 12:30 PM
bunz said...
Thanks for this review. I've been wondering abt the SB patterns -- they seem to get more postivies than negative.
4/23/05 1:11 PM
Gillian said...
Nice pants! You've inspired me.
4/23/05 1:15 PM
Geri Lynn said...
Oh...very nice!! Those look fantastic on you. I like the look of the back yoke being the waist band...I bet that's very comfortable.
4/23/05 1:37 PM
drsue said...
Very nice. I think the yoke as waistband is a nice idea.
4/23/05 2:08 PM
ryan's mom said...
These jeans look great on you! Thanks for the pattern review. I have this in my stash and haven't used it yet. I made one of the Today's Fit flat-front pant with a straight leg out of stretch grey corduroy so I know what you mean about that lycra. Interesting note about that back yoke too.
4/23/05 3:27 PM
cindyann said...
Great looking pants. I have this pattern, but haven't tried it yet. Funny that you found them to be short. I've never tried a S.B. pattern, but in her books, the models all wear pants that are much to short IMO.
4/23/05 3:36 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your pants look so wonderful on you! Thanks for the great review.
4/23/05 6:52 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your jeans look like they fit you perfectly. I do like that interesting back yoke. The pants look way too short on the model in the pattern photo, so no wonder you had to lengthen them.
4/23/05 7:23 PM
jenniferpa said...
Thes look really great. I've got this pattern, and I'd better get around to making it. I'm sure I read that someone on here used these pants for a class with SB, and she actually told her that they always needed to be cut longer.
4/23/05 9:10 PM
JDpenelope said...
Your pants fit perfectly. I wonder if the "french cut" refers to the shorter length, which is not in fashion right now? Or does that describe the straight leg look?
4/24/05 4:06 AM
PixieCat said...
Your jeans look great. I have this pattern and can't wait to try it.
4/24/05 5:04 AM
Teri said...
Thanks everyone for your nice comments. I wore the pants to dinner last night and to church this morning and they are very comfy. Penelope, I don't know what the French cut is. I agree that most of the pictures I see of SB pants are too short. I always thought that was because they were samples made for her and the models were all taller. Just beware if you make this patten that you will most likely have to lengthen the legs.
4/24/05 12:01 PM
jenniferpa said...
French cut refers to to the cut at the crotch and hips. I got my copy of the pattern out and I can't believe how short it is - I'm going to have to add at least 4 inches, and I'm only 5'5"!
4/24/05 8:29 PM
MaryBeth said...
These are well fitting jeans! I'm glad I finally read your review and do appreciate your tips. Thanks for sharing your take on this pattern. I especially found the experience with the differences between ABC and DEF important information.
4/25/05 12:09 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Great job on your jeans. I appreciate this review cause I need to make these soon.
4/25/05 1:00 PM
PegL said...
Your jeans are awesome! Fantastic fit! I have this pattern -- just need to get brave and try it! Thanks for the great review!
4/26/05 9:33 PM
Julia_oz said...
I have several pieces of stretch corduroy which I've been wanting to make into pants but haven't found the right pattern. This looks like it could be it. Thanks!
5/8/05 6:56 PM
Diane E said...
All I can say is, "wow." Your jeans look fantastic!
5/8/05 8:37 PM
valerie sews said...
Your jeans look great. Thanks for the tip on taking them in to make them snug.
5/9/05 3:35 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Very thorough review - thank you :-)
5/9/05 10:03 AM
lilhoney57 said...
Your pants look outstanding!
5/10/05 6:07 PM
VtMartha said...
Your pants are great and they inspired me to make my own pair. I made them in a heavy weight dark blue denim. After some alterations, I am really pleased with them. I actually wore them to a wedding in Nashville this weekend with fancy boots. But... I can't get the snap to stay applied. Before I even got the jeans on, the snap came apart and I had to send my DH scurrying around the hotel to find a safety pin. Pinning it together so the pin and broken snap parts didn't show was the most difficult part! How did you get a snap through 2 layers of interfaced heavy fabric?
6/6/05 2:49 PM
Teri said...
Martha, I am so glad that you made a pair of jeans that you like. I didn't use a snap (sorry I didn't mention that in the review) I used a Prym jean button, just like the ones you find on RTW. I was afraid that the snaps would do just what you described. I am sure that you could change out the snap for the button and then make a button hole. I think you would be much happier with the results. You can also get jean supplies, buttons, rivets, zippers, and topstiching thread, from the Bee Lee Company in Dallas, Tx. Their phone number is 1-800-527-5271. They don't have a website, but they will send you a catologue. Good luck.
6/7/05 8:50 AM
VtMartha said...
Thanks, Teri, for your help. I have some of those buttons on hand - just thought the snap would be easier in my last minute push to finish these on time. I will also order one of those catalogs.
6/8/05 10:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Butterick 5558

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now