SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7881 (Claire Shaeffer Pants)

30 more reviews
Viewed 2735 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/05 12:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 27 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
Just thinking lately about making these pants. Yours look great. Thank you for the review.
10/16/07 9:03 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I bought this pattern today ... eventually I will get at it! Nice to know you are near by for when I need help on it!
3/1/07 12:38 PM
Robbie Jo said...
I am totally impressed. You have inspired me to give this a try.
9/17/06 8:09 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Great-looking pants, and a very impressive total outfit photo. You'll enjoy wearing this.
5/8/05 7:47 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great fitting pants. Classic look is always in.
5/8/05 7:09 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful pants! They look like they fit perfectly!
5/2/05 5:05 PM
flowermama said...
Beautiful and so classic. Thanks for all the construction details. I can only aspire to this level of sewing.
5/2/05 9:49 AM
AnneM said...
Thanks for the review & info. I'm making a different pair of pants now, but have this lined up for a relatively near-future project.
5/2/05 7:17 AM
MaryBeth said...
Wonderful outfits! You're inspiring me now LOL I've got to try this pattern!
5/1/05 10:30 PM
Elona said...
Beautiful, beautiful pants! Congratulations and huzzahs are in order.
5/1/05 10:22 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
What a fantastic looking pair of pants, very classy with the jacket. I am making these pants at the moment - your review has really helped, especially your comments about beefing up the waistband - I am lining mine too so I'll bear that in mind when I come to the waistband.
5/1/05 8:28 PM
Sue Anfang said...
Thanks for the detailed review. As always your reviews are great and your tailoring impeccable! These are on my to-sew list!!
5/1/05 7:34 PM
CarolynGM said...
I'm so glad you made and reviewed this pattern. I just love the pattern and your version looks as classy as it gets.
5/1/05 4:35 PM
PVA said...
Beautiful, very elegant pants! Thanks for this review -- I'm sometimes tempted to just get all the CS patterns I can get my hands on!
5/1/05 4:07 PM
CatherineN said...
CS certainly knows fine sewing and how to help others produce the same. These pants look professional and becoming on you.
5/1/05 3:56 PM
jlg said...
Pretty pants. You did a beautiful job.
5/1/05 3:53 PM
Kay Y said...
Jennifer, if you buy the bigger size for the hips, you have to cut a slightly different curve for the waistband to get a smaller size. You can see the differences between the 12, 14 and 16 on the tissue, you just have to draw a notional 10 on the tissue, about again as much smaller than the 12 as the 12 is to the 14, to get a 10 waistband. Hope this makes sense.
5/1/05 3:46 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful pants! -Ann
5/1/05 3:30 PM
CSY said...
I just bought this pattern. Your pants inspire me to get a pair done. Nice work. Thanks for posting the review and gorgeous picture.
5/1/05 3:24 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Thank you for your thoughtful and insightful review. Your slacks are so elegant on you! Being a soul with the same pattern dilemna, I appreciate you mentioning to get the larger size and tapering down at the waist! Did you find that the waistband fit you better?
5/1/05 3:22 PM
Levone said...
Your pants look great. Thanks for the thorough review.
5/1/05 3:16 PM
drsue said...
You pants look great! I had to same issue with little puckers around the waistband.
5/1/05 3:07 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful pants; fabulous fit!
5/1/05 2:52 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Next time Vogue patterns are on sale, this one is coming home with me. Beautiful pants, thoroughly reviewed. I like seeing the combo photo.
5/1/05 2:52 PM
Lisa Laree said...
That is one fabulous pair of pants!
5/1/05 2:24 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Great pant's and a fantastic combo!!!
5/1/05 2:06 PM
MarthaH said...
Just beautiful.
5/1/05 1:30 PM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Kay, you'll be glad to know that Vogue magazine reported last fall that waistbands are on the RISE! So much more practical, though, is to do as you do - stick to something you like and that flatters you. Your pants are gorgeous. Thanks for the detailed commentary on Claire's instructions.
5/1/05 1:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5490

photo
by: Renren

Review
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Buy Now