Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2198 (OOP Vintage Vogue Suit) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 2036 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/05 1:30 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kathy_AZ said...
What a beautiful jacket!
5/1/05 1:36 PM
Lorrie McGraw said...
I clicked on the picture and thought I got the pattern photo!!! Clicked back and looked again. I was dumbfounded. This is sooo gorgeous. I called my 12 year old who is just learning to sew and showed her and she thought it was AMAZING!!! Beautiful, beautiful job. I must get this.
5/1/05 1:45 PM
Snowblossom said...
Wow, its gorgeous! I, too, thought that your picture was the pattern picture for a moment. Absolutely wonderful.
5/1/05 2:03 PM
Nancy Anne said...
I love these kinds of styles, and you did a top-rate job making this look professional and classic. Treating it as if it were tailored was a wise decision- the efforts really show in yor beautiful finished jacket.
5/1/05 2:10 PM
Marrs said...
What a fab Jacket ... stunning!
5/1/05 2:43 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Gorgeous jacket! Very unique and flattering.
5/1/05 2:53 PM
Tiner W said...
I love it!
5/1/05 2:56 PM
meli88a said...
what a great design - such a shame it's OOP again. very nice job, it's a beautiful jacket!
5/1/05 3:33 PM
jlg said...
Great jacket. This is a neat pattern.
5/1/05 3:52 PM
Olivia Sews said...
It is beautiful!! Very well made. I need to take a look at those retro patterns!
5/1/05 4:18 PM
Lisette said...
Very original.
5/1/05 4:25 PM
CarolynGM said...
Darn -- I wish that pattern were still available. The shoulder treatment would make my tiny shoulders look bigger! Your suit and photography are just superb.
5/1/05 4:46 PM
Patti B said...
Gorgeous jacket! Very helpful review too.
5/1/05 5:20 PM
lmg said...
Wow! What an superb job you did on this lovely style. Thank you for the review...this may get me to try a vintage pattern.
5/1/05 8:19 PM
LoriB said...
Stunning jacket!
5/1/05 8:52 PM
Kathryn said...
Elegant, and tres chic!
5/1/05 11:44 PM
Liana said...
This is just beautiful! Another great garment from you, and as always, a very helpful, well-written review. I wish this was still available too.
5/2/05 2:00 AM
KathleenS said...
Anyone who wants this I expect it comes up on Ebay from time to time. Kay, I'm very excited to see this review as I've always wanted to see it made up and to see what someone else thinks of it too. You've done a great job (as usual). I've got as far as making a mock-up of it (waiting for the right fabric). I agree with a lot of your helpful comments. Especially that the hard bit of this that requires extra care is marking and sewing the front notched panels to make sure that they're symmetrical. I think it's definitely not for beginners just because of this. I found the instructions clear and helpful, except that there are two pieces called "Front Facing". Also I would mention that this is quite a short top/cropped jacket - only 49 cm (?) long.
5/2/05 6:38 AM
AnneM said...
Great jacket & suit.
5/2/05 7:15 AM
MaryBeth said...
Ditto all previous comments. I absolutely have to either find this pattern or do a knock off. Perfect style for me. Gosh Kay, thanks so much for the excellent review and esp for the great photo!!!
5/2/05 9:06 AM
Modiste Madness said...
What a lovely jacket. I wish they would bring that one back tot he pattern books.
5/2/05 9:28 AM
flowermama said...
Wow, beautiful and so unique. Flawless job and such a helpful review.
5/2/05 9:59 AM
moushka said...
Kay, this is a seriously beautiful jacket! I could kick myself for not buying the pattern when if first came out. If i can find a copy in a size 14 or 16, I'll make it to wear to the rehearsal dinner for my daughter's wedding next year. It looks stunning on you. Thanks for sharing.
5/2/05 1:15 PM
valerie sews said...
What a beautiful detailed jacket. I admire your work.
5/3/05 1:40 AM
PattiA said...
Elegant and sophisitcated--thank you for an excellent review. Like a few others, I did a double-take with the photo; I would have sworn that this was a cover photo from the pattern company.
5/5/05 8:44 PM
Patzee said...
Wow!
7/21/05 6:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Sew Liberated 117
photo
Review by VintageTem... on 10/15/13
Read Review

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by withoutsea... on 3/23/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3689 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Apple Picking Dress Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us