SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 150 (Dana's Top)

10 more reviews
Viewed 2664 times 
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/05 6:13 PM
Last Updated:5/8/05 8:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
*Jessica* said...
I love the fabric. this turned out very well.
10/8/06 6:03 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Diane, Your tops are very pretty and I love your fabric choices. A sewing day was exactly the same gift I asked for and received on Mother's day. Happy belated Mother's Day!
5/10/05 2:31 PM
AnneM said...
Thanks for the reply, Diane. Nice 2nd top as well.
5/9/05 7:23 PM
Patti B said...
Both of your tops are great! Love the hydrangea fabric. Your review will be very handy when it's time to sew.
5/9/05 8:21 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this very complete review -- I like this pattern line, but I do have to shorten the length of sleeves & bodices given that I lack about 6" in overall height when I stand next to Peggy! I saw the photos from this pattern when it first came out & have wanted to order it. This review is going to be a real help when I "getaroundtoit"! (8^D)
5/8/05 9:26 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I really like you tops. I have this on my wish list now. Thanks for your review.
5/8/05 9:07 PM
bonnie said...
Diane-thanks for the reply. forgot to mention that I had previously bought this top in RTW at Dillards and loved it (with no front darts), and then noticed and bought the pattern from Sagers website.
5/7/05 2:54 PM
Diane E said...
Good morning. Thanks for your comments. Bonnie, eliminating the dart would only add 3/4" back in to the top's circumference around the waist/hip. I think Peggy may be trying to eliminate some bulk below the waist, but that might be better achieved with a vertical fisheye dart beginning a couple of inches below the bust point. When I make my second top (maybe today?) I'll comment on what happens when I fold out some length above the dart. AnneM, this morning I just noticed that the back of my pattern envelope says has S,M,L,XL instead of 1,2,3,4 and what's on the website is different. The sizing is confusing and it helped me to think in terms of standard S,M,L,XL. Honestly I think flat pattern measuring and comparing the pattern to existing favorites is the only way to pick the size any more, given all the variations in designers and bodies.
5/7/05 11:12 AM
Teri said...
Diane, Your top looks great on you. I love the fabric. I am with Gigi, yours looks so much better than the pattern envelope. Good job.
5/7/05 9:13 AM
AnneM said...
I like this style, & your top is very nice. There are very few pattern sizes, though. Is sizes 1-4 like XS to L?
5/7/05 9:11 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Diane, this is an excellent review. I appreciate your detailed comments on the pattern instructions. Your top looks just great!
5/7/05 8:32 AM
Kathryn said...
Wonderful job, Diane! It's nice to know that you liked this pattern enough to sew it again, several times. I'm going to look more closely at it now, thanks to you. Wonderful review, with great fabric and good fit!
5/7/05 8:20 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful top, Diane! Honestly, your version is so much prettier than the photo on the pattern envelope.
5/7/05 7:20 AM
JDpenelope said...
Very pretty, and such a nice fit! I'm not sure I'd guess as accurately as you did in choosing the correct size, considering the stretch of the fabric and the negative ease in the pattern, though. So, you didn't need to do a full bust adjustment? Might be worth a try in that case!
5/7/05 7:13 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Thanks for a good review. It's interesting that the pattern has negative ease, because just giving a cursory glance at the envelope (model photo and back drawing) would make you think the pattern has a lot of ease. It does say it is very close fitting, but not until you read well down into the description. Yours looks great! -Ann
5/7/05 6:46 AM
bonnie said...
Diane-I just recently made this pattern as well and loved the fit. The only questionable factor is that dart. did not care for it, and it was exceptionally low placed on me as well. do you think it could be eliminated, and the fit kept intact?
5/7/05 4:27 AM
jlg said...
Beautiful top. Very helpful review.
5/6/05 10:09 PM
BjP said...
Very pretty and looks great on you!
5/6/05 9:42 PM
PegL said...
Very informative review -- thanks! I like Silhouette patterns but like you, find the directions sometimes lacking. Peggy Sager is very helpful though if you email her with questions and is quick to respond. I would think it would be easier on her though just to write better instructions! lol Cute top with a unique design.
5/6/05 9:32 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice top. The pattern looks very interesting - something I never would have found without your excellent review of it.
5/6/05 9:29 PM
Rosie who use to be Rose said...
Thanks for the informative review. The top looks great!
5/6/05 9:12 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Thanks for this helpful review. I love your fabric choice.
5/6/05 8:18 PM
Patti B said...
Very pretty top. I have been wondering about this pattern line so it's nice to have a good review.
5/6/05 7:04 PM
Clev said...
Thanks, that's a helpful review and I don't think I've paid any attention to the pattern company if I've ever even heard of them. Looks like someone who doesn't need directions would do fine.
5/6/05 7:02 PM
MaryBeth said...
Interesting pattern, I'd not looked closely at it and now see that it has an interesting crossover above the bust. What a good idea. Thanks for reviewing this pattern and doing it so well.
5/6/05 6:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

More Info