SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> LaFred> 110 (Maia Jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1953 times 
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo

 
 
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/10/05 6:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
deeque said...
I have made this jacket several times and I love it. I did lengthen the sleeves by 2inches to have an easier cuff roll. I made it out of men's suiting wool so it was a stiffer fabric.
2/3/06 0:29 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your jacket is so flattering and pretty!
5/11/05 11:08 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I love your jacket and love the fabric. I purchased the pattern right before jlg wrote her review. I have yet to make it so glad to see your write up of it and need to pull my pattern out and give it a try.
5/11/05 7:04 PM
Nancy Anne said...
What a versatile jacket! You did a beautiful job and I am sure you will enjoy it for years to come. Nancy Anne
5/11/05 7:58 AM
MarilynB said...
Great jacket. Great review. I especially like your comment that the designer cares that our projects turn out well.
5/11/05 7:22 AM
AnneM said...
Nice jacket that doesn't require too much fabric. I have a need for that; I have a short amount of a silk-wool blend that is crying out to be made into a skirt suit.
5/11/05 6:45 AM
Georgene said...
I love the bias cut collar in your fabric. Nice job!
5/11/05 6:38 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautifully done, Mickeyfan. I've shied away from LaFred patterns because of the drawings, but your review and Diane E's could make me take a another look. It makes such a difference to see a pattern made up and modeled by a real person.
5/11/05 5:25 AM
jlg said...
Beautiful job with your jacket. You look great in it.
5/11/05 5:18 AM
Nickle said...
Love your jacket- the style and fabric. Looks great on you.
5/11/05 3:57 AM
PVA said...
Wonderful results, thanks for this review! It really is a beautiful jacket & it looks like the fit is right on! Perfect with a camisole.
5/11/05 0:03 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Very nice jacket. I really like your fabric choice.
5/10/05 9:55 PM
KarmenG said...
The shoulders look good and so do the sleeve caps.
5/10/05 9:25 PM
MickeyFan said...
Thank you everyone! Karmeng, I typically sew a 12 in Big4 (usually Vogue). According to my bust, that is exactly what I should have cut for this jacket. The jacket is snug across the shoulders with a close-fitting sleeve
5/10/05 7:57 PM
drsue said...
Such a nice jacket! I have the pattern but have been not inspired by it, but now I'll reconsider.
5/10/05 7:54 PM
KarmenG said...
Very nice review and a you made a fabulous looking jacket. Considering the pattern sketch and your experience with the fit, Fred must have intended this to be a jacket worn without much underneath. What size did you make and what is your usual size in the Big 4? I'd like to judge whether I'd go up a size when making it. This one has been on my list for quite sometime. I think Fred is meticulous with her instructions - good to hear you give them high grades; and that pattern pieces are marked accurately. I look forward to making this one up. Thanks again for all the detail - you always sew such nice looking garments.
5/10/05 7:44 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Gorgeous! Much better looking than the very stylized pattern illustration.
5/10/05 7:42 PM
Patti B said...
That is a lovely jacket. It's amazing what a difference a change in number of buttons makes.
5/10/05 7:38 PM
Jackie V said...
This jacket reminds me of a jacket that I had many years ago. It had the same seaming in the front and the pockets were the same. The only thing different was that the Jacket had a Tuxedo Collar. I happen to like the sleeves the way they are. You did a wonderful job of matching fabric to pattern.
5/10/05 7:27 PM
MaryBeth said...
Nicely informative review. I love that we're getting so many reviews of LaFred patterns. I've never been drawn to this jacket but I like yours. It looks less formal with fewer buttons and more comfy/casual.
5/10/05 7:24 PM
Tiner W said...
I love this jacket. Yours is so pretty. This pattern is definitely on my wish list!
5/10/05 6:29 PM
els said...
Gorgeous jacket.
5/10/05 6:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1027

photo
by: emr

Review
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

More Info