Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Indygo Junction: Carry With Style Book (Tulip Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1880 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/05 4:36 PM
Last Updated:5/19/05 8:25 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice looking bag. Love the lining fabric. Looks good together. Great tip on the tabs.
5/15/05 4:44 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love the bag and the contrasting fabrics. Great job.
5/15/05 5:05 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Very cute! Mom will love it. Lots of helpful tips. Where do you recommend we get this book?
5/15/05 5:06 PM
Mel.J said...
That's gorgeous! Love the choice of fabrics, I bet your mom will be thrilled. (And people will start dropping hints that they want one too...)
5/15/05 6:15 PM
els said...
Very pretty bag, your mother will love it.
5/15/05 6:27 PM
PVA said...
I love the bag, Deepika, thanks for this review! I also appreciate your tip on the zipper pocket in the lining. An absolute necessity! The book sounds great, I'll have to look it up.
5/15/05 6:37 PM
alicia said...
Nice bag, thanks for the detailed tips!
5/15/05 6:58 PM
Tiner W said...
How fun!
5/15/05 7:08 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
What great colors! Your mom will love it.
5/15/05 10:51 PM
Nancy L said...
Peltex is great stuff. I think it has fusible glue on both sides of it rather than one side like Timtex.
5/16/05 0:18 AM
Jackie M said...
Hey, Deepika, GREAT PURSE! Are any of those fabrics by chance Waverly Home Dec fabrics in 45" width sold on bolts? Cuz they look really similar to ones I'm using to make some curtains and Roman shades with, except I went with the the blue-green-chocolate brown color scheme (without the orange, purple and magenta in your fabric) ...
5/16/05 7:01 AM
Deepika said...
Nany the peltex I have isnt fusible. Or maybe it is. I didnt see any gluey texture on either side. Do you get yours from Joanns?
Jackie YES! These are from the 45" wide bolts and I had a tough time deciding between the colors I chose and the ones you mentioned :) I like the new Home dec line they are carrying now. Perfect for making cute handbags. And hey... when you are done with the Roman Shades, I'd love to see them.
Thanks everyone for your kind comments! I am finishing up my version now and I will post a photo of that soon too.
5/16/05 7:28 AM
Maychi said...
Very cute bag, Deepika! Love the beaded trim!
5/16/05 8:28 AM
Skymom said...
That is the cutest purse! You should go into bag design, Deepika--you make the nicest handbags.
5/16/05 11:13 AM
candyo said...
I really llke your fabric and notion choices. Great bag!
5/16/05 5:18 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a pretty purse! The tabs are so cute too. It will be the envy of onlookers when you carry it around.
5/19/05 9:40 PM
KarmenG said...
Deepika - Great bags - really wonderful! You're becoming a pro on theses.
5/19/05 10:05 PM
touran said...
That's is the most fun bag I've seen in a while. The construction is so professional - no wonder you're hooked.
5/19/05 10:09 PM
PVA said...
Gosh, Deepika, just when I thought it couldn't get better, it got better! Both bags are absolutely great! Very professional.
5/20/05 10:36 AM
BorderCollieMom said...
Well, after reading Deepika's review on May 16, I just had to add this book in my collection! It arrived yesterday and it really is a good value with so many different pattern/styles. Your bags are very nice, Deepika. I can't wait to make a few.
5/20/05 12:08 PM
Sawyer Brook Fabrics said...
Deepika - Great bags - really wonderful! You're becoming a pro on theses.
5/20/05 2:22 PM
esmer said...
Thank you Deepika for the sewing tips. Your purse turn out so Cool!
5/20/05 5:24 PM
Gigi Louis said...
How did I miss this? Your bags are fantastic!
6/17/05 1:53 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Another "how did I miss this".... Both bags are so cute!
3/14/06 8:44 AM
shabby said...
So excited to find this review. from bag I covet from your Threads article. Where did you buy the handle Deepika?
10/15/06 4:50 PM
Deepika said...
Shabby, believe it or not, the handle was from Joann's fabrics! They have really good handles these days. Everytime I go there, I just have to control myself and not come home with a few more. I have a big box filled with all sorts of handles. I am a collector I guess ;-)
10/16/06 7:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Farbenmix Insa Insa
photo
Review by dakotasews on 7/30/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Annie Petal Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ruffle Bum Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )
Peek-A Boo Ruffle Bum Romper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -24 mo )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PR Member's Pattern Savage Coco
photo
Review by meggipeg on 2/26/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1763 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1763 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us