SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Indygo Junction> Carry With Style Book (Tulip Bag)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1881 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 294 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/05 4:36 PM
Last Updated:5/19/05 8:25 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice looking bag. Love the lining fabric. Looks good together. Great tip on the tabs.
5/15/05 4:44 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love the bag and the contrasting fabrics. Great job.
5/15/05 5:05 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Very cute! Mom will love it. Lots of helpful tips. Where do you recommend we get this book?
5/15/05 5:06 PM
Mel.J said...
That's gorgeous! Love the choice of fabrics, I bet your mom will be thrilled. (And people will start dropping hints that they want one too...)
5/15/05 6:15 PM
els said...
Very pretty bag, your mother will love it.
5/15/05 6:27 PM
PVA said...
I love the bag, Deepika, thanks for this review! I also appreciate your tip on the zipper pocket in the lining. An absolute necessity! The book sounds great, I'll have to look it up.
5/15/05 6:37 PM
alicia said...
Nice bag, thanks for the detailed tips!
5/15/05 6:58 PM
Tiner W said...
How fun!
5/15/05 7:08 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
What great colors! Your mom will love it.
5/15/05 10:51 PM
Nancy L said...
Peltex is great stuff. I think it has fusible glue on both sides of it rather than one side like Timtex.
5/16/05 0:18 AM
Jackie M said...
Hey, Deepika, GREAT PURSE! Are any of those fabrics by chance Waverly Home Dec fabrics in 45" width sold on bolts? Cuz they look really similar to ones I'm using to make some curtains and Roman shades with, except I went with the the blue-green-chocolate brown color scheme (without the orange, purple and magenta in your fabric) ...
5/16/05 7:01 AM
Deepika said...
Nany the peltex I have isnt fusible. Or maybe it is. I didnt see any gluey texture on either side. Do you get yours from Joanns?
Jackie YES! These are from the 45" wide bolts and I had a tough time deciding between the colors I chose and the ones you mentioned :) I like the new Home dec line they are carrying now. Perfect for making cute handbags. And hey... when you are done with the Roman Shades, I'd love to see them.
Thanks everyone for your kind comments! I am finishing up my version now and I will post a photo of that soon too.
5/16/05 7:28 AM
Maychi said...
Very cute bag, Deepika! Love the beaded trim!
5/16/05 8:28 AM
Skymom said...
That is the cutest purse! You should go into bag design, Deepika--you make the nicest handbags.
5/16/05 11:13 AM
candyo said...
I really llke your fabric and notion choices. Great bag!
5/16/05 5:18 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a pretty purse! The tabs are so cute too. It will be the envy of onlookers when you carry it around.
5/19/05 9:40 PM
KarmenG said...
Deepika - Great bags - really wonderful! You're becoming a pro on theses.
5/19/05 10:05 PM
touran said...
That's is the most fun bag I've seen in a while. The construction is so professional - no wonder you're hooked.
5/19/05 10:09 PM
PVA said...
Gosh, Deepika, just when I thought it couldn't get better, it got better! Both bags are absolutely great! Very professional.
5/20/05 10:36 AM
BorderCollieMom said...
Well, after reading Deepika's review on May 16, I just had to add this book in my collection! It arrived yesterday and it really is a good value with so many different pattern/styles. Your bags are very nice, Deepika. I can't wait to make a few.
5/20/05 12:08 PM
Sawyer Brook Fabrics said...
Deepika - Great bags - really wonderful! You're becoming a pro on theses.
5/20/05 2:22 PM
esmer said...
Thank you Deepika for the sewing tips. Your purse turn out so Cool!
5/20/05 5:24 PM
Gigi Louis said...
How did I miss this? Your bags are fantastic!
6/17/05 1:53 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Another "how did I miss this".... Both bags are so cute!
3/14/06 8:44 AM
shabby said...
So excited to find this review. from bag I covet from your Threads article. Where did you buy the handle Deepika?
10/15/06 4:50 PM
Deepika said...
Shabby, believe it or not, the handle was from Joann's fabrics! They have really good handles these days. Everytime I go there, I just have to control myself and not come home with a few more. I have a big box filled with all sorts of handles. I am a collector I guess ;-)
10/16/06 7:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

McCall's 6402

photo
by: Bonnie O

Review
PR Member's Pattern Cation Designs Dolman Sle

photo
by: margy.64

Review
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now