SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3283 (Crafts Neck Pillows, Hot Water)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1313 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 369
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 267
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/18/05 12:59 PM
Last Updated:5/18/05 12:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lou. said...
I have this pattern too Deepika. Love your pillow. For anyone with long hair, try the towel wrap, I made one (although not fromt his pattern) and they rock.
5/19/05 9:45 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Even quicker than running to the store to buy one? Yowza! Those are magic words! I happen to have a pounding headache tonight. One of these sounds wonderful. Thanks for reviewing, and hope your Dad likes it (especially w/embroidery!).
5/19/05 7:27 AM
alicia said...
I bought several buckwheat hull pillows on eBay, and used them as my supply. :) It was less expensive than buying them outright - I didn't need 'too' much so I couldn't justify buying it in bulk to bring the cost down.
5/19/05 0:33 AM
Amanda L said...
How cool! The embroidery rocks. Your Dad is gonna love it!
5/18/05 10:26 PM
PattiK said...
Great work, been meaning to get this pattern. A couple of years back I made a similar pillows from a McCalls pattern with regular stuffing then from buckwheat hulls. I bought my hulls from jCrow.com and even made sleep pillows from them. They are the best!
5/18/05 8:45 PM
Hilary said...
What a nice pillow, Deepika! It looks like a small version of a Boppy (McCalls') copy my Mom made a long time ago. I like the other neck pillow and the head wrap, too-I may have to get this! BTW, the embroidery is a really nice touch, and the zipper too. Mamamaia, I think I've seen patterns for children's neck pillows, too, from Kwik Sew, or somewhere-sorry I can't remember exactly where!
5/18/05 3:52 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Deepika -- I'm always looking for quickie-type gifts & this pattern looks really great!
5/18/05 2:58 PM
Deepika said...
Alicia, Where did you get buckwheat hulls?
5/18/05 2:05 PM
alicia said...
Very nice! Love the quick projects. I've made a few of these filled with buckwheat hulls and lavender - can put them in the microwave for a minute or two at the end of the day, it's 'almost' as good as a neck rub! I'll have to look at this pattern.
5/18/05 1:36 PM
Deepika said...
I think they might be a tad big for a child's head but you can easily adjust the pattern and make it smaller. I'd say go for it.
5/18/05 1:34 PM
mamamaia said...
Do you think it would fit for a child's neck? My boys tend to fall asleep in the car and then fall over or have their head hanging at strange angles. This might solve the problem. BTW I saw them for $15-30 at the airport and that was without a zipper :-).
5/18/05 1:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Buy Now