SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7301 (Boot leg pants)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1917 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 355
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 292 people
patterns reviewed: 255
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/05 7:26 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Skymom said...
I think it was worth a try to make these pants, but agree that you probably could have worn a smaller size--although these don't look bad. But since you've got the Burda 8513 to fit so nicely, I'd probably just stick with those. They're really flattering on you, even though I think the pattern photos are kind of scary!!
5/24/05 8:13 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Ah! I see what you mean. Vogue doesn't know how to draft pants as weel as Burda or Neue Mode. My grandmother called shorter pants "pedal pushers" as in you could peddle on a bike and not get oil from the chain on your pants. But what is the length difference between them & capris? Oh, you made me crack up there! Nothing wrong & everything right about a little junk in the trunk :)
5/24/05 8:14 AM
elizajo said...
Burda 8513 is the greatest. Your review of it led me away from Butterick and Vogue fitted pants patterns when I was on the third muslin of each. I have made 5 pairs of 8513s in the past 2 weeks. Yesterday I guiltlessly threw out my denim muslins from the Butterick/Vogue patterns and cut out a denim 8513. Don't care if they're cut from the same pattern as the 5 others, they fit! I made 2 of my 8513s capris by folding at the shorten line to maintain the flare. In the 1960s pedal pushers were cut slimmer through the leg and closer to the knee than the ankle.
5/24/05 8:33 AM
Hilary said...
I think these look nice on you-but I agree, that Burda does look better. And you definitely could do a smaller size, especially with the stretch woven! I think the capris are meant to hit right above mid calf? And cropped pants are supposed to be about four inches above the ankle. Btw I wish my trunk had as little "junk" as yours! LOL
5/24/05 8:53 AM
CatherineN said...
Dear One, you do not have a fat behind, you are just developing the mature female curves that we are taught to hate. The Burdas are a more becoming cut for you. You are a good seamtress and have learned so much.
5/24/05 9:17 AM
alicia said...
I like the length of these on you - but since you've got the Burda pattern down so well, stick with it!! I've struggled on & off with a Vogue pants sloper for the past year - looks like I need to get the 8513 to play with.
5/24/05 9:41 AM
Maychi said...
I agree, once you find 'the right' pattern, stick with it - the length and the shape of pant legs are so easy to modify, that it's a waste of money and time to even try other patterns. And Burda is definitely the best!
5/24/05 10:25 AM
Teri said...
Ditto to what has already been said......I need to get that Burda pattern too:)
5/24/05 11:08 AM
flowermama said...
First, congratulations on hitting the 100 review mark! Secondly, ditto about the burda pants patterns. Even when pants look ok (and these do), if they don't feel right when you wear them it's not worth the time or fabric to make them again.
5/24/05 12:08 PM
Lisette said...
I agree with everyone that the Burda pants fit you much better. You might want capris without the flare..
5/24/05 12:16 PM
SouthernStitch said...
The only thing I don't like is the flare. I think it's too sharp. Pedal pushers were right below the knee in my day. Capris look best I think when they don't hit the fattest part of the leg. I have to watch that cause I have huge calves! I LOVE the Burdas on you.
5/24/05 12:25 PM
MaryBeth said...
Just can't beat that Burda on you!
5/24/05 12:36 PM
Deepika said...
Man, don't you hate it when you spend so much time making a muslin and the final project still doesnt come out quite right. I was almost convinced that this will be THE pants pattern I will want to sew over and over again, but so far nothing fits as well as those burdas.

Flowermama thanks! I didnt notice that until you mentioned and now I feel I have to go home and celebrate my 100th pattern review :) Its the little things in life!

The greatest thing about comments is that you all have convinced me that this is not the pattern for me and the fact that I understand what fits me well. Thanks!!!

Mary I agree, the flare looks weird. Oh well. Bye bye Vogue and welcome back Burda!
5/24/05 2:03 PM

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 4401

photo
by: vickyh

Review
Simplicity 2166

photo
by: usbeckers

Review
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Buy Now
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now