SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Petite Plus Patterns> Basic Shell Blouse (101 Basic shell blouse)

Viewed 1647 times 
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Learn To Sewstar
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews: 34 (patterns: 18)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/05 11:57 AM
Last Updated:2/1/06 3:01 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sideseams said... (2/1/06 5:02 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review. I have been thinking about purchasing this pattern and now I know what to expect.
Learn To Sew said... (2/1/06 3:42 PM) Reply
Mini, One of the alterations I will need to make next time is shoulder darts. I might consider the back seam instead of the keyhole. That seems so out of date to me.
Mini said... (12/28/05 11:50 PM) Reply
This is a nice pattern, but it does have a problem due to the total lack of back shaping. I think that adding a center back seam, and/or back shoulder darts will make it fit more comfortably and solve the problem of the neckline not sitting correctly. A center back seam can also eliminate the need for a faced keyhole opening. Just make a wide seam allowance, and leave the center back seam open enough to pull over the head easily. For a neater finish, the center back seam allowance can be topstitched around the opening. Less bulk, and much easier than the faced opening.
Peggy L said... (12/28/05 3:36 PM) Reply
I'm glad you like this pattern and are getting the fit to suit you perfectly. I know you have struggled with this but what a great tried and true pattern to have. Good review.
Danvillegirl said... (5/26/05 7:59 PM) Reply
Glad to see your review. I just purchased the pattern and plan to sew it up this weekend.
Learn To Sew said... (5/26/05 11:23 AM) Reply
I have been talking to others who have made this pattern. Julie from Timmel Fabrics recommens making it up in a lovely, high quality knit, in a size smaller than if you made it in a knit. She says it makes up so nicely, you will make the pattern over and over and over.
Doris Stewart said... (5/24/05 2:03 PM) Reply
I have this at the top of my 'to do' pile - thanks for the review.
Irene Q said... (5/24/05 12:53 PM) Reply
Congratulations on your first review! Let us know how the next one turns out.
SouthernStitch said... (5/24/05 12:15 PM) Reply
I have a Burda shell with that type of facing - and I love it too! Good luck with your next one - oh and good review, I found it helpful.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Burda 8358

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Made By Rae Washi Dress

photo
by: thegreenvi...

Review
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Pattern Details
Chelsea Paper Pattern

Chelsea Paper Pattern

Pattern Details