Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Petite Plus Patterns: Basic Shell Blouse (101 Basic shell blouse) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1644 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Learn To Sew
photo
Friend of PR
About Learn To Sewstar
WA USA
Member since: 4/12/05
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/05 11:57 AM
Last Updated:2/1/06 3:01 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said...
I have a Burda shell with that type of facing - and I love it too! Good luck with your next one - oh and good review, I found it helpful.
5/24/05 12:15 PM
Irene Q said...
Congratulations on your first review! Let us know how the next one turns out.
5/24/05 12:53 PM
Doris Stewart said...
I have this at the top of my 'to do' pile - thanks for the review.
5/24/05 2:03 PM
Learn To Sew said...
I have been talking to others who have made this pattern. Julie from Timmel Fabrics recommens making it up in a lovely, high quality knit, in a size smaller than if you made it in a knit. She says it makes up so nicely, you will make the pattern over and over and over.
5/26/05 11:23 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad to see your review. I just purchased the pattern and plan to sew it up this weekend.
5/26/05 7:59 PM
Peggy L said...
I'm glad you like this pattern and are getting the fit to suit you perfectly. I know you have struggled with this but what a great tried and true pattern to have. Good review.
12/28/05 3:36 PM
Mini said...
This is a nice pattern, but it does have a problem due to the total lack of back shaping. I think that adding a center back seam, and/or back shoulder darts will make it fit more comfortably and solve the problem of the neckline not sitting correctly. A center back seam can also eliminate the need for a faced keyhole opening. Just make a wide seam allowance, and leave the center back seam open enough to pull over the head easily. For a neater finish, the center back seam allowance can be topstitched around the opening. Less bulk, and much easier than the faced opening.
12/28/05 11:50 PM
Learn To Sew said...
Mini, One of the alterations I will need to make next time is shoulder darts. I might consider the back seam instead of the keyhole. That seems so out of date to me.
2/1/06 3:42 PM
sideseams said...
Thanks for the review. I have been thinking about purchasing this pattern and now I know what to expect.
2/1/06 5:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Lazy Girl Designs 211 Wonder Wallet
photo
Review by Deepika on 3/8/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mini Wardrobe May 2009
photo
Review by kal1 on 5/31/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )
McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us