SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9469 (Men's Shirt)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1323 times 
Reviewed by:jacalhoun
photo

 
 
About jacalhounstarstar
PA
Member since: 9/6/04
Reviews written: 105
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/05 4:57 PM
Last Updated:7/13/05 8:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Teri said...
Your dad's shirt looks great. I am sure he will be thrilled! Thanks for the nice review. If I understand your yoke description it sounds like the way I do yokes. I got it out of a Claire Shaffer book (I think), or maybe it was my KS pattern.....anyway, I agree, it works great.
5/26/05 5:29 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, this looks really nice! And you described the yoke trick very well. Maybe you can combine (maybe grade? ) a few of the things you like from this pattern to the one that fits your DH-like the collar and the no-hand-sewing methods. Thank for the review, and for the comparisons!
5/26/05 5:30 PM
ladylola said...
I agree that's a great pattern. I really like the yoke method too. I made the long sleeves and the placket instructions are good also.
5/26/05 5:34 PM
Lori V said...
great looking shirt, I bet your dad will be thrilled.
5/26/05 7:08 PM
AnneM said...
Someday my DH will get this top made for him, since I have this pattern. Nice of you to make the top for your DDad.
5/27/05 4:39 AM
suncentaur said...
Well, it looks like you did a great job and I just might get a copy of this pattern for that machine sewn yoke technique. I just did one of those McCalls patterns that says it is machine sewn too, and you end up doing the yoke and cuffs and collars all slipstitched by hand! I think it was good you used your intuition about the buttons. So often it pays to question some of the ways the pattern says to do something. Thanks for the review!
5/27/05 4:42 AM
Irene Q said...
Great shirt! And good idea about making the pocket larger since Dad's a big guy!
5/27/05 8:22 AM
BjP said...
Great job! Thanks for the very helpful review!
7/13/05 9:14 PM
TanyaMT said...
Nice review and nice shirt. Thanks for all the details. I'm still trying to get up nerve to do a shirt for my DH.
7/14/05 2:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

McCall's 6404

photo
by: velosewer

Review
McCall's 6467

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now