SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 9469 (Men's Shirt)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1323 times 
Reviewed by:jacalhoun
photo

 
 
About jacalhounstarstar
PA
Member since: 9/6/04
Reviews written: 105
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/05 4:57 PM
Last Updated:7/13/05 8:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TanyaMT said...
Nice review and nice shirt. Thanks for all the details. I'm still trying to get up nerve to do a shirt for my DH.
7/14/05 2:00 PM
BjP said...
Great job! Thanks for the very helpful review!
7/13/05 9:14 PM
Irene Q said...
Great shirt! And good idea about making the pocket larger since Dad's a big guy!
5/27/05 8:22 AM
suncentaur said...
Well, it looks like you did a great job and I just might get a copy of this pattern for that machine sewn yoke technique. I just did one of those McCalls patterns that says it is machine sewn too, and you end up doing the yoke and cuffs and collars all slipstitched by hand! I think it was good you used your intuition about the buttons. So often it pays to question some of the ways the pattern says to do something. Thanks for the review!
5/27/05 4:42 AM
AnneM said...
Someday my DH will get this top made for him, since I have this pattern. Nice of you to make the top for your DDad.
5/27/05 4:39 AM
Lori V said...
great looking shirt, I bet your dad will be thrilled.
5/26/05 7:08 PM
ladylola said...
I agree that's a great pattern. I really like the yoke method too. I made the long sleeves and the placket instructions are good also.
5/26/05 5:34 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, this looks really nice! And you described the yoke trick very well. Maybe you can combine (maybe grade? ) a few of the things you like from this pattern to the one that fits your DH-like the collar and the no-hand-sewing methods. Thank for the review, and for the comparisons!
5/26/05 5:30 PM
Teri said...
Your dad's shirt looks great. I am sure he will be thrilled! Thanks for the nice review. If I understand your yoke description it sounds like the way I do yokes. I got it out of a Claire Shaffer book (I think), or maybe it was my KS pattern.....anyway, I agree, it works great.
5/26/05 5:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick B4865

photo
by: SewRuth

Review
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Buy Now
Simplicity 2219

photo
by: aleah42

Review