SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> 061505 (PMB: Anthropologie Knock Off)

Viewed 2384 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 391 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/15/05 9:27 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dvazz said...
Anthropologie SO has nuthin' on you! You are a PMB maestro. I keep reading your reviews and thinking I want to try PMB, but I would never be able to come up with things like this or have a clue as to how to actually design them. Your top is lovely and looks terrific on you! Great job!
6/15/05 9:45 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Yowza! What a cute top, and thanks to Gigi for finding that darling fabric. I don't think it draws attention to your tum, but to the printed sides & the pink button at CF: nice. It's definitely wearable. I see this isn't a dry clean version like Anthropologie. Ja! Rock on.
6/15/05 9:50 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Your reviews are always like mini sewing and design lessons, and this top is really inspiring. As for whether or not the lace panel screams "look at my tummy"...well, it would take gag order and a blindfold to minimize mine. We might as well wear something attractive over it. Love it!
6/15/05 10:06 PM
Lori V said...
Debbie, you are the master of PMB and great reviews. Once again a true winner and no, it does not draw attention to your tummy. I think the v-neck draws the eye to your face. Great job once again, you are such an inspiration. Do tell - where did you buy the fabric?
6/15/05 10:29 PM
KarmenG said...
Debbie - You are terrific - thanks for the entertaining and informative reivew. Your stick-to-it-ness amazes me! And my eye did not go to your tummy; the zipper creates a vertical line and then the light color cami took the eye from there. I think it looks nice on you.
6/15/05 10:31 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks fabulous. I always look forward to your reviews. Not only are they entertaining - but informative too. Intermediate isn't the right word for you. I think you have gone way beyond that.
6/15/05 11:02 PM
Judy Williment said...
IMHO the shape of this top is so good on you that it didn't occur to me that the lace might scream anything other than "I'm a gorgeous piece of lace on a really cute top made by a very clever lady!" Wear and enjoy, it looks great.
6/15/05 11:48 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Wow Debbie, wonderful top and review!! GREAT job, love the review (funny *and* informative, what more can you want?) and the top suits you. I looked at the pic twice just to double check, and I honestly don't think it accentuates your tummy or anything else in a bad way. Beautiful!!! Oh, and my DH will grow to hate you for linking to that Ebay store... LOL!
6/16/05 0:11 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautifully done, Debbie. And no, it does not draw attention to your tummy -- the slimming, vertical lines have the opposite effect.
6/16/05 4:26 AM
jlg said...
Like all of the others, I think that this top looks great on you, and as always, your review is wonderful.
6/16/05 5:19 AM
Danvillegirl said...
You are too funny! Very creative also. Love what you do with PMB. I seem to be less adventourous but when I read your reviews you are inspiring. Good job. Thanks for enabling me with yet one more fabric source.
6/16/05 5:54 AM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely georgeous top - and your pics and explanation of what you did and how you did it make me think I could do it too! Thanks so much.
6/16/05 6:06 AM
Linda E. said...
Very very pretty top. I love it. As for Gigi finding the great fabric I also got some in a red/black/white flowered print. Now if I had as much talent as you I could make me a top like yours. Of course is would required PMB and alot of time. thanks for the great review yours a mini sewing class with all the information you include in them.
6/16/05 7:13 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, Deb, it's gorgeous! I hope you don't mind me shamelessly copying you. ;-) That fabric is just wonderful, isn't it?
6/16/05 7:27 AM
melgosews said...
I love it! I wish you were my pesonal seamstress, but then what would I do with my life! lol I think you are one of the most nicely dressed ladies I've ever seen!
6/16/05 7:55 AM
PhyllisC said...
The fabric combinations are really great Debbie, and they're very flattering, so I'm glad you have more of them - I'm looking forward to seeing the next one!
6/16/05 8:31 AM
ryan's mom said...
Wow! Your top is so impressive!!! Thanks for the great photos and comments. I learn so much from them.
6/16/05 8:42 AM
MaryBeth said...
Learning from doing this top = priceless! You rock!
6/16/05 9:03 AM
SandraB said...
Wow Debbie. This is just great. I am always very impressed with your PMB creations. Great review too.
6/16/05 9:21 AM
CSY said...
Love your reviews and your sense of style is totally fun. Once again, I am inspired by you!
6/16/05 9:47 AM
Hilary said...
This is sooo cool!! I think you look great in it, BTW. Thanks for such a detailed review! I am in awe, I hope I can so successfully copy *you* :D I reeaaallly like it-and I am certainly going to try. Thanks again!
6/16/05 9:52 AM
JDpenelope said...
Great accomplishment. If there were a PhD of pattern reviewing, you'd have earned one. I studied the photo carefully, and agree with others about the slimming lines in the top. Hey, that's SOME binder. Can you enlighten us a little about it? Is it especially for a coverstitch machine? Thanks!
6/16/05 11:54 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Nice job Deb. Next windfall, I'm getting PMB.
6/16/05 12:54 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I love the fabrics, and as always a really informative review! -Ann
6/16/05 2:27 PM
cindyann said...
Great! I love the idea of princess seams in the back of tees for sway back. Wonderful review and impressive knock off!
6/16/05 3:44 PM
Frogstitcher said...
You are so clever and creative. Your top looks so much nicer than anthropologie's.
6/16/05 4:36 PM
Jill Giard said...
Awesome! Great review. I love reading your reviews. By the way - the top is fantabulous!
6/16/05 5:24 PM
Debra H said...
I am really impressed with your sense of style as well as your ability to create your own patterns. You are a real pro. Good job again!
6/16/05 10:43 PM
AnneM said...
As usual, great review. What a fascinating top. You are getting sooooo good.
6/17/05 4:59 AM
Motorposus said...
Beautiful top, fabulous fabric choices, fascinating process, great review! I love Anthropologie stuff too, but always leave the store clutching my wallet and thinking, "Maybe I'll just make that myself". It's good to see someone take it all the way.
6/17/05 11:42 AM
PVA said...
Holy Moly, she's gone & done it again! That is a fabulous top -- as for the tummy, who's going to notice that when it is topped by a truly beautiful smile! Someday I hope to try to just "knock-off" a designer garment & make it fit beautifully. You're an inspiration to us all.
6/19/05 1:11 AM
JaneDean said...
I am thinking about buying this software and Debra did a great job of showing how to customize with it. It also looks nice on her!
2/16/06 8:22 PM
dmoonangel said...
So cute! And looks just as good or better than RTW. Great choice on the fabric. It looks great on you. Very inspiring to the beginner.
6/3/06 2:15 AM
patsijean said...
Well, I do like this top on you. It is quite flattering. The fabric and lace are actually superior to Anthropologie's original.
9/12/06 0:31 AM
Nancy K said...
Debbie I disagree the vertical seams are quite slimming. I really like this top on you. It is a very nice demonstration of your wild ginger software. YOu have mentioned your binder attachment before and I thought that it was for your regular sewing machine. I am intrigued. I didn't know you could use a binder with a serger. How happy are you with your Baby Lock coverstitch machine? What is your regular serger?
1/1/07 5:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's 6513

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now