SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2004-107 (Camisole)

Viewed 1201 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 188
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 277 people
patterns reviewed: 177
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/05 5:58 PM
Last Updated:6/20/05 5:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SandraB said... (6/22/05 9:33 AM) Reply
Very nice top Kay. I like your modifications to make it more comfortable. I will save your review for future reference. Thank you.
Kathryn said... (6/21/05 9:45 PM) Reply
Oooh la la! Love the top! I just pulled that Burda issue out, thanks to your inspiration, and hope to make that top for one of my next projects. I love the lines. So cute. Thanks, Kay!
Kay Y said... (6/21/05 8:43 PM) Reply
For the elastic in the straps, I serged the elastic to the seam of the strap, along the full length, so that when it was turned the elastic kind of filled the narrow tube of the strap. As for the top edge, I serged the elastic to the top (pretty much 1-1 ratio for length) as I was sewing the shelf bra and camisole together along the top edge. I turned and topstitched (cover stitch) which further secured the elastic, so it's hidden completely inside. Hope this makes sense.
Lee Ann Hawkins said... (6/21/05 7:26 PM) Reply
Nice job! Did you serge the clear elastic on the upper edges, turn and topstich?
hongkongshopper said... (6/21/05 6:40 PM) Reply
The fabric is really cute too!!
JenniferBee said... (6/21/05 3:44 PM) Reply
Looks great, this is one I will have to make for my daughters.
Nancy Anne said... (6/20/05 9:39 PM) Reply
Darling cammy- thanks for the support heads up! With teens as "rack gifted" as mine. full-fledged bra cups might be a good idea for them!
Debbie Spriggs said... (6/20/05 8:36 PM) Reply
Great tip--elastic in the spaghetti straps! Very cute cami!
Hilary said... (6/20/05 8:05 PM) Reply
Pretty! I looked through that issue of WOF-you're right, it looks really good!
CarolynGM said... (6/20/05 7:00 PM) Reply
Very attractive camisole. The pattern has some interesting details -- I bet the dress length is quite nice, too.
Liana said... (6/20/05 6:54 PM) Reply
Very cute! You're not kidding about the original being a little low in the front!! Nice top.
Lisette said... (6/20/05 6:49 PM) Reply
I love your camisole! It looks great
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

HotPatterns 1173

photo
by: SemJo

Review
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Fehr Trade 106

photo
by: Muggiesew

Review