SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Favorite Things> 068 (Thelma's Knitting Bag)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1801 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:08 AM
Last Updated:6/25/05 8:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shard said...
i have to say, this review makes me feel a liiiiittle better about the process. i'm working on it now. some parts of the construction are *definitely* counterintuitive. i'm not using fleece - hoping that the thickness will be less of an issue, as i'm using a lighter fashion fabric, and underlining with canvas.
9/29/07 3:31 PM
shard said...
i have to say, this review makes me feel a liiiiittle better about the process. i'm working on it now. some parts of the construction are *definitely* counterintuitive. i'm not using fleece - hoping that the thickness will be less of an issue, as i'm using a lighter fashion fabric, and underlining with canvas.
9/29/07 3:11 PM
Lesley said...
Patti, I haven't made the bag yet, but have sent for the pattern and the frames. I'm not really much of a seamstress but am trying. Anyhow if I left out the zipper part and made the bag without the extention, would that make the the pattern easier and more straight forward for a beginner. I would like it for a knitting bag and the pattern without the zipper is just like a bag they are selling at my local yarn shop. Thanks, Lesley
1/8/07 8:59 PM
Annie- oh said...
Patt - I made this bag a few weeks ago, and I agree with you - it is a great bag and fun to sew. I also used it as my purse when travelling by air recently because I realized all my clothes were darks/neutrals, and this bag was a colorful tropical print. I made it for a knitting bag, but I think I'll need more than one - its inside zipper to shorten/lengthen it is great. And great details in your review! Annie
8/17/05 8:49 PM
W said...
Very nice work -- I love how it turns out. I think her bags are so adorable...I am not planning to make this one, but I wanted to know how her patterns are. Thanks for the detailed review & all the photos.
7/31/05 3:24 PM
Patti B said...
Thanks sewists -- I love this bag already! Diane E -- your knitting 'deserves' a pretty bag ... what DID we do before plastic grocery bags?
6/27/05 8:51 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Patti, that is a great bag, and an excellent review! my sister knits, and is always on the hunt for a new knitting bag. I'll have to let her know about this! -Ann
6/27/05 8:20 AM
GraceHope said...
I love bags and this one looks very versatile! I think I may go and get the "uneven binding foot" for my machine before attempting this one. Thanks so much!
6/26/05 4:49 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great purse. I have not seen this. You did a great job. Love the whole look.
6/26/05 4:00 PM
Diane E said...
Patti, terrific review and wonderful bag. As a knitter, I can say that this sure beats the assortment of shredded shopping bags I haul my projects around in. A bag like yours would do justice to the most lovely of yarns.
6/26/05 10:03 AM
Princess Jenny said...
So awesome! :) Thank you so much for reviewing this bag. It is perfect for shopping.
6/26/05 9:44 AM
hongkongshopper said...
What a clever bag!
6/26/05 1:22 AM
Patzee said...
I really like your fabric design choices. Thanks!
6/26/05 0:33 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking bag.
6/25/05 11:41 PM
Lori V said...
Patti, very cute bag and the fabric choices are wonderful. That is a very interesting concept, thanks for pointing out this bag.
6/25/05 9:52 PM
Patti B said...
I cut the bag out yesterday afternoon and worked on it steadily afternoon & evening, worked on it this morning and finished it this afternoon. So it's not a quick sew but it does go together nicely. Once I started, I kept wanting to do just one more step. Oh, sorry I'm not smiling in the photo -- can't fiddle with the camera and smile at this same time apparently. ;-)
6/25/05 9:49 PM
bunz said...
Psychic vibes! I was just looking at an ad for this bag and thinking how great it would be for traveling as well as for my sister, the knitter. Thanks for the review!
6/25/05 9:43 PM
jemgirlca said...
Nice bag and good review. Thanks for the picture of you holding the bag, that really helps to see the size of it.
6/25/05 9:36 PM
Peggy L said...
Patti - great detailed review. The bag looks great and useful! How long did it take to make?
6/25/05 9:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

New Look 6729

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

More Info
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

More Info