Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Favorite Things: 068 (Thelma's Knitting Bag) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1799 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:08 AM
Last Updated:6/25/05 8:58 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Peggy L said...
Patti - great detailed review. The bag looks great and useful! How long did it take to make?
6/25/05 9:14 PM
jemgirlca said...
Nice bag and good review. Thanks for the picture of you holding the bag, that really helps to see the size of it.
6/25/05 9:36 PM
bunz said...
Psychic vibes! I was just looking at an ad for this bag and thinking how great it would be for traveling as well as for my sister, the knitter. Thanks for the review!
6/25/05 9:43 PM
Patti B said...
I cut the bag out yesterday afternoon and worked on it steadily afternoon & evening, worked on it this morning and finished it this afternoon. So it's not a quick sew but it does go together nicely. Once I started, I kept wanting to do just one more step. Oh, sorry I'm not smiling in the photo -- can't fiddle with the camera and smile at this same time apparently. ;-)
6/25/05 9:49 PM
Lori V said...
Patti, very cute bag and the fabric choices are wonderful. That is a very interesting concept, thanks for pointing out this bag.
6/25/05 9:52 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking bag.
6/25/05 11:41 PM
Patzee said...
I really like your fabric design choices. Thanks!
6/26/05 0:33 AM
hongkongshopper said...
What a clever bag!
6/26/05 1:22 AM
Princess Jenny said...
So awesome! :) Thank you so much for reviewing this bag. It is perfect for shopping.
6/26/05 9:44 AM
Diane E said...
Patti, terrific review and wonderful bag. As a knitter, I can say that this sure beats the assortment of shredded shopping bags I haul my projects around in. A bag like yours would do justice to the most lovely of yarns.
6/26/05 10:03 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great purse. I have not seen this. You did a great job. Love the whole look.
6/26/05 4:00 PM
GraceHope said...
I love bags and this one looks very versatile! I think I may go and get the "uneven binding foot" for my machine before attempting this one. Thanks so much!
6/26/05 4:49 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Patti, that is a great bag, and an excellent review! my sister knits, and is always on the hunt for a new knitting bag. I'll have to let her know about this! -Ann
6/27/05 8:20 AM
Patti B said...
Thanks sewists -- I love this bag already! Diane E -- your knitting 'deserves' a pretty bag ... what DID we do before plastic grocery bags?
6/27/05 8:51 AM
W said...
Very nice work -- I love how it turns out. I think her bags are so adorable...I am not planning to make this one, but I wanted to know how her patterns are. Thanks for the detailed review & all the photos.
7/31/05 3:24 PM
Annie- oh said...
Patt - I made this bag a few weeks ago, and I agree with you - it is a great bag and fun to sew. I also used it as my purse when travelling by air recently because I realized all my clothes were darks/neutrals, and this bag was a colorful tropical print. I made it for a knitting bag, but I think I'll need more than one - its inside zipper to shorten/lengthen it is great. And great details in your review! Annie
8/17/05 8:49 PM
Lesley said...
Patti, I haven't made the bag yet, but have sent for the pattern and the frames. I'm not really much of a seamstress but am trying. Anyhow if I left out the zipper part and made the bag without the extention, would that make the the pattern easier and more straight forward for a beginner. I would like it for a knitting bag and the pattern without the zipper is just like a bag they are selling at my local yarn shop. Thanks, Lesley
1/8/07 8:59 PM
shard said...
i have to say, this review makes me feel a liiiiittle better about the process. i'm working on it now. some parts of the construction are *definitely* counterintuitive. i'm not using fleece - hoping that the thickness will be less of an issue, as i'm using a lighter fashion fabric, and underlining with canvas.
9/29/07 3:11 PM
shard said...
i have to say, this review makes me feel a liiiiittle better about the process. i'm working on it now. some parts of the construction are *definitely* counterintuitive. i'm not using fleece - hoping that the thickness will be less of an issue, as i'm using a lighter fashion fabric, and underlining with canvas.
9/29/07 3:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Other LL014
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 6/1/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3876 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3876 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5199
photo
Review by suzikabloo... on 3/1/06
Read Review

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Olivia Oversize Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us