SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2005-122 (Jacket)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1570 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 185
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 271 people
patterns reviewed: 174
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/05 11:04 AM
Last Updated:7/2/05 10:52 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SandraB said...
YOur jacket turned out really nicely and I love your choice of fabric.
7/1/05 11:34 AM
Rebecca D said...
What a gorgeous jacket. Your work is beautiful. This review is extremely helpful.
7/1/05 11:36 AM
Patti B said...
Wow, what a gorgeous jacket! Love the fabric and your careful matching. I have stayed away from WOF jackets because of all the 'dots.' Yours is much lovelier than the original.
7/1/05 11:39 AM
Ann Smith said...
Really beautiful. The pattern matching really looks great.
7/1/05 11:54 AM
Tiner W said...
How pretty! Your fabric is gorgeous!
7/1/05 12:42 PM
e_e_thomas said...
Beautifully tailored!
7/1/05 1:17 PM
Johsews said...
Great job! I love your fabric. I have started cutting out a lot of things one layer at a time- find I get much better results so it's worth the extra time.
7/1/05 1:34 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
BRAVO!!! Such a gorgeous garment. Love the fabric and really like the different collar treatment on it!
7/1/05 1:37 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Outstanding! Great fabric, too.
7/1/05 2:14 PM
mudcat said...
The fabric is gorgeous thus making a wonderfully unqiue looking jacket.
7/1/05 2:28 PM
Geordie Girl said...
What a gorgeouse jacket. Thanks for a really good review
7/1/05 2:55 PM
Lisette said...
Your jacket is wonderful, I loved this design the moment I saw it.
7/1/05 3:36 PM
cindyann said...
It's beautiful! You did a lovely job.
7/1/05 3:57 PM
Mlle Laura said...
Lovely jacket and a great choice of fabric!
7/1/05 4:31 PM
melgosews said...
Simply gorgeous! I had my eye on the green jacket design in 4/05 and at first glance thought this was it. I looked this one up and didn't have any scribbled remarks, well I do now! Kay, they don't have anything on your jacket, My head is spinning with fabric ideas. I want something luxurious too and it really works with this simplistic style. Thanks for the heads up on the stretch and fit.
7/1/05 5:21 PM
CarolynGM said...
The jacket has such a graceful shape and is so impeccably tailored. The matching is so good, that try as I may, I cannot locate the pockets.
7/1/05 5:22 PM
Jan B. said...
Outstanding. Your skill astonishes.
7/1/05 6:03 PM
Becky Coleman said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. It was my favorite in that issue, and you have done an outstanding job with your jacket. Becky, Minnesota
7/1/05 6:18 PM
jlg said...
Very, very nice. It looks beautifully done.
7/1/05 7:12 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Kay, your jacket is marvelous, it was one of the few things that really got my attn. in that particular issue, your choice of fabric was very good, also the fabric pattern and color are exellent, congrat's!! If you are planning on making this for winterwear you might like to consider using haircanvas on the collar, part of the front and back to give it a more "stand up look" but I guess you've alrady thought about this.
7/2/05 0:48 AM
Sew4Fun said...
WOW! What a gorgeous and beautifully tailored jacket! Your pattern matching is supreme!
7/2/05 2:19 AM
sherri2sew said...
Fabulous jacket! Maybe WOF is worth getting. What is the size range on this jacket? I really like the collar.
7/2/05 2:37 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Wow! I love your fabric and how you matched the pattern so carefully. Your version looks so much better than the magazine's!
7/2/05 5:22 AM
Kathryn said...
Kay, the work(woman)ship on this wonderful jacket is one of the reasons why you are listed as one of my "favorite reviewers". Taking this busy fabric and crafting it into a trendy jacket is perfect. Thank you so much for the great review.
7/2/05 7:44 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Darn, I didn't get my hands on this issue of Burda. But the April issue has a jacket with a similar collar/lapel that I've been admiring. Your jacket is fantastic - and I want one, too.
7/2/05 9:41 AM
SueV said...
VERY nice; I'll have to dig out my issue! Thanks
7/2/05 10:05 AM
KarmenG said...
Kay - Beautiful jacket; this pattern has a lot of appeal and you showcased it beautifully. Gotta love a gorgeous sleeve cap and yours look great. Can you get a close up photo of the pocket? I'd love to see that too. Thank you for the detailed and helpful review.
7/2/05 10:26 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful jacket. A great match of simple lines with a very cool patterned fabric.
7/2/05 11:08 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a gorgeous jacket! Yours is ever so much more inspiring than the WOF version.
7/2/05 11:24 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Your jacket is wonderful. The construction and the fabric make it a great example of design and workmanship.
7/2/05 12:31 PM
MaryBeth said...
Seriously beautiful fabric turned into a seriously beautiful jacket. I love your work and your reviews. Thanks soooo much!
7/2/05 12:43 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Beautiful jacket - so much better than the model's in the magazine. Makes me want to put this on my (long) list of things to make! Thanks for the review!
7/2/05 2:32 PM
Vibek said...
Absolutely lovely looking jacket. I can't see the CB seam - pattern placements looks totally flawless as do all the other difficult bits.
7/2/05 2:47 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I am in love with your jacket! The fabric is so cool! The placement of the motifs on the back is beautifully done.
7/2/05 6:01 PM
MarionP said...
Very impressive!! Nicely done!!
7/2/05 7:46 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow! Lovely jacket. Everything matches up so well. Excellent job.
7/2/05 8:35 PM
inkyannie said...
Wow, what a wonderful job! It is just gorgeous.
7/2/05 11:23 PM
Liana said...
I think it's all been said already, but, just gorgeous!!
7/3/05 0:24 AM
blue mooney said...
Your jacket looks even more attractive than the ones in the mag. Beautiful fabric! I loved the collar on these jackets. Thanks for the review.
7/3/05 7:12 AM
mustsew said...
You did a fantastic job matching the design in the fabric! The jacket looks great.
7/3/05 6:44 PM
Sew it seams said...
What a gorgeous jacket. You did a beautiful job matching the prints. Really great job.
7/26/05 4:36 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Impressive job, beautiful fabric and finish.
6/5/06 10:27 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Such a pretty summer jacket--I admire you for tackling WOF and a jacket when you have the workload of an attorney!
7/1/06 11:59 AM
PatCat said...
Just beautiful!
7/1/06 4:45 PM
dreamdesigner said...
I really like this jacket. The fabric is very intriguing.
7/15/06 1:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

McCall's 6176

photo
by: Zoomitron

Review
Papercut Patterns 1006

photo
by: RMJ

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now
PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

PerfectFuseTailorUltra Black

Buy Now