Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Threads Magazine: #120 9/2005 (Chic Flowing Skirt - Sort of) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1659 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:CSchiffgens
photo
About CSchiffgens
TX USA
Member since: 4/19/04
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/05 3:08 PM
Last Updated:7/4/05 3:08 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
Wow, was this quick! Great application of the concept...thanks for sharing it!
7/4/05 3:14 PM
Marrs said...
Yea .. very quick, I still have not received my issue yet. But the skirt looks snazie.
7/4/05 4:02 PM
MickeyFan said...
Very summery and fun looking skirt. Thanks for the review - I haven't even seen the article yet, but I am already looking forward to the new issue.
7/4/05 4:29 PM
granolamom said...
I love your skirt! I saw the Threads article too, and I'm tempted to try it so I really appreciate the review. Just to clarify (if you don't mind), did you pleat a large piece of fabric rather than piece strips of fabric together first?
7/4/05 4:32 PM
CSchiffgens said...
Yes, Granolamom, I pleated one big piece of fabric, or actually it was 3 44 inch strips.
7/4/05 4:40 PM
Susan R said...
Your skirt is terrific! I just received my magazine a couple of days ago and was intrigued by the article. It's great to see what you did with the concept.
7/4/05 5:26 PM
Tiner W said...
Neat! I plan to make this with my niece before the summer ends. Yours is so cute!
7/4/05 5:50 PM
bunz said...
Yours looks much better than the Threads version. Their yoke is all lumpy. Great save!
7/4/05 6:11 PM
Twinkster said...
Nicely done and it looks great on you!
7/5/05 0:23 AM
Kathryn said...
I am printing out your review, Cindy, and placing it in my Threads magazine, so it is right there when/if I decide to copy that skirt. I love the colors in your skirt. I'm wondering if you needed less fabric because you did not cut and sew individual strips together; all of those small seam allowances must take up lots of fabric. Thank you for giving us a "real world" view of that great Threads skirt. You did a wonderful job!
7/5/05 7:02 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your skirt. I might have to reconsider my subscription status.
7/5/05 7:29 AM
licarritc said...
I've met Jennifer and she is as nice as she is talented. She has designed a pieced back skirt with godets that I love. She sells some of her other designs if anybody is interested- You can reach her through Manchester Sewing Center on the web.
7/5/05 9:04 AM
drsue said...
I can't believe how fast you were on this! I really want to give this "pattern" a try myself. The latest issue of threads is a big improvement over recent issues.
7/5/05 9:49 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
What a fun look! Your skirt is fabulous looking and you have accessorized it very well.
7/5/05 6:17 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Yours looks better than the mag! Very nice.
7/5/05 7:44 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
That was quick,I just got this issue in today's mail! Beautiful skirt. I love the colors.
7/5/05 8:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Kwik Sew 3298 Briefs
photo
Review by Judy Kski on 10/21/13
Read Review

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern
Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8462
photo
Review by my horse on 2/6/11
Read Review

New Look 6135 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )
New Look 6135 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6074 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6074 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us