SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Threads Magazine> #120 9/2005 (Chic Flowing Skirt - Sort of)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1659 times 
Reviewed by:CSchiffgens
photo

 
 
About CSchiffgens
TX USA
Member since: 4/19/04
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/05 3:08 PM
Last Updated:7/4/05 3:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
Wow, was this quick! Great application of the concept...thanks for sharing it!
7/4/05 3:14 PM
Marrs said...
Yea .. very quick, I still have not received my issue yet. But the skirt looks snazie.
7/4/05 4:02 PM
MickeyFan said...
Very summery and fun looking skirt. Thanks for the review - I haven't even seen the article yet, but I am already looking forward to the new issue.
7/4/05 4:29 PM
granolamom said...
I love your skirt! I saw the Threads article too, and I'm tempted to try it so I really appreciate the review. Just to clarify (if you don't mind), did you pleat a large piece of fabric rather than piece strips of fabric together first?
7/4/05 4:32 PM
CSchiffgens said...
Yes, Granolamom, I pleated one big piece of fabric, or actually it was 3 44 inch strips.
7/4/05 4:40 PM
Susan R said...
Your skirt is terrific! I just received my magazine a couple of days ago and was intrigued by the article. It's great to see what you did with the concept.
7/4/05 5:26 PM
Tiner W said...
Neat! I plan to make this with my niece before the summer ends. Yours is so cute!
7/4/05 5:50 PM
bunz said...
Yours looks much better than the Threads version. Their yoke is all lumpy. Great save!
7/4/05 6:11 PM
Twinkster said...
Nicely done and it looks great on you!
7/5/05 0:23 AM
Kathryn said...
I am printing out your review, Cindy, and placing it in my Threads magazine, so it is right there when/if I decide to copy that skirt. I love the colors in your skirt. I'm wondering if you needed less fabric because you did not cut and sew individual strips together; all of those small seam allowances must take up lots of fabric. Thank you for giving us a "real world" view of that great Threads skirt. You did a wonderful job!
7/5/05 7:02 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your skirt. I might have to reconsider my subscription status.
7/5/05 7:29 AM
licarritc said...
I've met Jennifer and she is as nice as she is talented. She has designed a pieced back skirt with godets that I love. She sells some of her other designs if anybody is interested- You can reach her through Manchester Sewing Center on the web.
7/5/05 9:04 AM
drsue said...
I can't believe how fast you were on this! I really want to give this "pattern" a try myself. The latest issue of threads is a big improvement over recent issues.
7/5/05 9:49 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
What a fun look! Your skirt is fabulous looking and you have accessorized it very well.
7/5/05 6:17 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Yours looks better than the mag! Very nice.
7/5/05 7:44 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
That was quick,I just got this issue in today's mail! Beautiful skirt. I love the colors.
7/5/05 8:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 4236

photo
by: Miss Jasmi...

Review

Pattern

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-150

photo
by: Amanda.Cla...

Review
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now