Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 1025 (BaseWearTwo) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1649 times 39 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/05 8:47 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
Wow, you look just like the idealized drawings in this skirt.
7/4/05 9:21 PM
MaryBeth said...
Isn't this just the best pattern? Glad you've turned out a skirt that is soooo wow!
7/4/05 9:48 PM
hongkongshopper said...
REally nice skirt - fits well! Nice fabric.
7/4/05 11:16 PM
Twinkster said...
Yes, this skirt does fit you perfectly! You look great in it!
7/5/05 0:07 AM
Irene said...
The skirt looks wonderful on you. Can you say why you like this skirt better than the LH swing skirt?
7/5/05 1:58 AM
jlg said...
Your skirt looks great on you. Like Irene, I want to know what you like better about this skirt. I've not made this because I've made a bunch of the LH swing skirts, but it sounds like I may "need" this pattern also.
7/5/05 5:02 AM
CarolynGM said...
jlg and Irene -- I like the proportion of this flounce and the fact that this skirt is slightly pegged -- it has a very nice hip curve. I will admit, however, that my LH swing skirt is too long and has too much ease. I bet if I downsized it and shortened it, I would like it better. In fact, I should try this on a too-large swing skirt hanging in my closet.
7/5/05 5:45 AM
AnneM said...
Good reminder to baste 1st. I really like that skirt on you.
7/5/05 7:26 AM
bunz said...
Thanks for reminding us abt the reverse blind hem stitich. Pretty skirt and great fit!
7/5/05 9:07 AM
Izzie said...
Great Skirt! I have this pattern but have never made it up because I always use the KS 3032 pattern. You have convinced me to try this one next time. Thanks for the tip on hemming, I'll try that too!
7/5/05 9:16 AM
mudcat said...
The skirt is nice. Very flattering look on you. It's probably so long because Christine allowed for the shrinkage since she doesn't preshrink the cotton/lycra.
7/5/05 10:33 AM
Levone said...
Pretty skirt and fabric. I too love this skirt and have made it up a couple of times.
7/5/05 5:47 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your skirt looks great on you. Though I don't own a Bernina but Viking your mirror image blind hem stitch is a great idea and will give it try.
7/5/05 7:37 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
This is your style for certain! Do you think there is less ease in the waist than the Loes Hinse swing skirt?
7/5/05 7:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
Lee Anne -- you are right that this skirt has less waist ease than the LH swing skirt. It has a much more pronounced hip curve. For knits this works very well and reduces bunching at the waist. It wouldn't work so well with a woven.
7/5/05 8:44 PM
TerB said...
That skirt is a perfect fit. You did a great job.
7/6/05 3:08 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Fabulous skirt. I've now made the LH flounce three times, and I wear them out in the summer, but there is something about your skirt that looks different: is the flounce tighter? Based on your great success, I may buy this pattern and try it on a knit: all three of my LH's are woven. Wonderful style for you.
7/6/05 9:58 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful! Glad to hear you didn't have to struggle with the buttermilk. I wonder if the skirt is difficult to walk in, or step up into an SUV in...Your success with this pattern makes me want to try it out!
7/6/05 5:43 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Irina, thanks for the warning about the upside down piece. I can see why it happened. I am being very careful with mine because of your advice. Thanks so much for sharing this review. Carla
8/22/06 6:33 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
Irina, I usually lengthen bottoms by 2-4 inches as well. I think our up and down proportions are similar. Do you mind telling how tall you are? I'm 5'7" with 33" inseams on straight legged jeans (longer on dress pants). My minimum lengthening is usually two inches as well.
12/9/06 2:40 PM
CarolynGM said...
yes, popoagie, I think we might be similar in frame. I generally use a 33 inch inseam for pants, and I'm 5' 8.5" tall.
12/9/06 4:30 PM
taylormade said...
Great looking skirt. I have made this years ago! Maybe I should have another go at it....I have plenty of knits. Your looks really nice!
9/27/11 8:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 9466 top and skirt
photo
Review by arianamani... on 6/13/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Amy Butler AB021WT
photo
Review by Mary Nanna on 5/27/10
Read Review

10 inch Professional Shears
10 inch Professional Shears

Details
Price: $69.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1686 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1686 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5019 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 5019 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us