SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2808 (Anne Klein suit)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1153 times 
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo

 
 
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/19/05 7:17 AM
Last Updated:7/19/05 7:24 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
Aren't we our harshest critics? It really doesn't look bad in the photo, but I can sympathize with the frustration factor! I appreciate the comments on the pattern and construction...lots of help (warning? ;) ) for the next person.
7/19/05 8:28 AM
sashagsd said...
I'm just venturing into more difficult patterns and this review tells me I don't want to go there! Thanks for saving me a world of frustration!
7/19/05 8:56 AM
Teri said...
Thanks for the great review, and I don't think you look like the UPS guy.....well at least not mine:)
7/19/05 8:56 AM
Lisette said...
Your jacket does look nice. Gabardine is a tough fabric to work with as it does not ease easily and the stretch factor might have contribute to your problems.
7/19/05 9:07 AM
Anne Frances said...
Your reviews are always helpful and often inspiring. If you weren't happy with this there is no hope for the rest of us. Thanks for the warning - this is one I shan't be looking at!
7/19/05 9:24 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Thank you for your review. Your outfit is very nice. I have this pattern and your review will be very helpful to me when I venture forth (sleeve length).
7/19/05 9:53 AM
drsue said...
Bummer! Thanks for the warning.
7/19/05 9:55 AM
jlg said...
Thanks for the warnings about this jacket.
7/19/05 12:21 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks for the warnings, and I'm sorry you had such a bad experience with your jacket. I have this pattern and would like to make it. I will definitely study your review before I do.
7/19/05 5:54 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Oh well, it still looks good. Perhaps with a crisper fabric and full interfacing it would look like how you envisaged. Perhaps another go (after a suitable rest period!). After all you have the fit done already!?
7/19/05 6:13 PM
AnneM said...
Much cuter than the UPS man. It is always a tough decision on these: try again to take advantage of the work already done, or move on to a different pattern.
7/19/05 7:51 PM
KarmenG said...
Thanks for the excellent review. I have this pattern and will use your review as reference if I decide to try it. That being said - the jacket looks very nice on you - but understandable not what you might have imagined. We are so tough on ourselves. The 6 foot rule should apply to the topstitching - if the imperfections aren't seen from 6 feet it's probably just fine!
7/19/05 11:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8835

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review
Simplicity 4946

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Christine Jonson Bell Sleeve Wrap & A-Line Skirt

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now