SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2326 (Choice of boxer shorts)

8 more reviews
Viewed 1181 times 
Reviewed by:Battgirl
photo

 
 
About Battgirl
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/12/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/05 2:23 AM
Last Updated:7/26/05 3:30 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Underwear    Mens    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Doris Stewart said...
Very nice - thanks for the review
7/26/05 5:58 AM
Hilary said...
You did a great job! The top stitching looks good. Did you do the embroidery?
7/26/05 7:56 AM
BeckyW said...
Really nice job!! Very cute too. - I have never tried your method of applying the elastic. Sounds pretty easy and I would like to try it. Just wondering how you can make sure the waist size can be just right if the serger is doing the gathering. I would worry that it would be too tight or too loose when I was done. Any details about how you did this are appreciated. ******* Thanks for your reply. I could not figure out how to add a second comment so I had to just edit this one. I hope you see this. I guess I was confused. I thought you might be using some sort of gathering foot for your serger. I see exactly what you are talking about. I will give your method a try. THANKS!!!
7/26/05 9:04 AM
Battgirl said...
I serge the edge of the elastic to the edge of the waist edge (turn pants inside out - wrong side facing) stretching as I go careful not to cut any elastic with serger blade. Then flip pants to the inside and turning elastic down stretch over fullness of the ironing board to stretch elastic out. press topstitch. This is a great finish for elastic waist pants as well. Less bulk and very comfortable. If you need photos let me know and i will add them I measure the length of elastic needed by either measuring something I already have that fits or on the body for a comfy fit. I also have at home ready to use measured precut lengths of elastic for the kids in case i sew for them while they are at school.
7/26/05 9:45 AM
Battgirl said...
I serge the edge of the elastic to the edge of the waist edge (turn pants inside out - wrong side facing) stretching as I go careful not to cut any elastic with serger blade. Then flip to the inside and press, using fullness of the ironing board to stretch elastic out. topstitch. This is a great finish for elastic waist pants as well. Less bulk and very comfortable. If you need photos let me know and i will add them I measure the length of elastic needed by either measuring something I already have that fits or on the body for a comfy fit. I also have at home ready to use measured precut lengths of elastic for the kids in case i sew for them while they are at school.
7/26/05 9:50 AM
Levone said...
Very nice...looks professionally made.
7/26/05 9:33 PM
BeckyW said...
Really nice job!! Very cute too. - I have never tried your method of applying the elastic. Sounds pretty easy and I would like to try it. Just wondering how you can make sure the waist size can be just right if the serger is doing the gathering. I would worry that it would be too tight or too loose when I was done. Any details about how you did this are appreciated.
7/27/05 7:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Simplicity 2209

photo
by: sarahark

Review
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Other Tessuti Lily Linen Dress

photo
by: ajhewing

Review