Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2326 (Choice of boxer shorts) thumbsup - Type:Sleepwear    printable version
Viewed 1180 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Battgirl
photo
About Battgirl
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/12/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/05 2:23 AM
Last Updated:7/26/05 3:30 AM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Underwear    Mens    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Doris Stewart said...
Very nice - thanks for the review
7/26/05 5:58 AM
Hilary said...
You did a great job! The top stitching looks good. Did you do the embroidery?
7/26/05 7:56 AM
BeckyW said...
Really nice job!! Very cute too. - I have never tried your method of applying the elastic. Sounds pretty easy and I would like to try it. Just wondering how you can make sure the waist size can be just right if the serger is doing the gathering. I would worry that it would be too tight or too loose when I was done. Any details about how you did this are appreciated. ******* Thanks for your reply. I could not figure out how to add a second comment so I had to just edit this one. I hope you see this. I guess I was confused. I thought you might be using some sort of gathering foot for your serger. I see exactly what you are talking about. I will give your method a try. THANKS!!!
7/26/05 9:04 AM
Battgirl said...
I serge the edge of the elastic to the edge of the waist edge (turn pants inside out - wrong side facing) stretching as I go careful not to cut any elastic with serger blade. Then flip pants to the inside and turning elastic down stretch over fullness of the ironing board to stretch elastic out. press topstitch. This is a great finish for elastic waist pants as well. Less bulk and very comfortable. If you need photos let me know and i will add them I measure the length of elastic needed by either measuring something I already have that fits or on the body for a comfy fit. I also have at home ready to use measured precut lengths of elastic for the kids in case i sew for them while they are at school.
7/26/05 9:45 AM
Battgirl said...
I serge the edge of the elastic to the edge of the waist edge (turn pants inside out - wrong side facing) stretching as I go careful not to cut any elastic with serger blade. Then flip to the inside and press, using fullness of the ironing board to stretch elastic out. topstitch. This is a great finish for elastic waist pants as well. Less bulk and very comfortable. If you need photos let me know and i will add them I measure the length of elastic needed by either measuring something I already have that fits or on the body for a comfy fit. I also have at home ready to use measured precut lengths of elastic for the kids in case i sew for them while they are at school.
7/26/05 9:50 AM
Levone said...
Very nice...looks professionally made.
7/26/05 9:33 PM
BeckyW said...
Really nice job!! Very cute too. - I have never tried your method of applying the elastic. Sounds pretty easy and I would like to try it. Just wondering how you can make sure the waist size can be just right if the serger is doing the gathering. I would worry that it would be too tight or too loose when I was done. Any details about how you did this are appreciated.
7/27/05 7:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

New Look 6216
photo
Review by JennyQNY on 10/13/13
Read Review

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Chunky Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $27.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6644
photo
Review by kim*brown on 5/15/07
Read Review

Burda 7753 Pattern
Burda 7753 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us