Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Pot Holders - Type:Crafts    printable version
Viewed 1373 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/05 9:16 AM
Last Updated:8/30/05 8:28 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mirza said...
Great use of quilt blocks. For the potholders, you could have used one layer of Insul-bright. It is this insulated batting that Warm and Natural makes. I just bought some at a quilting store to use for a picnic bag. (Yet to make it yet). I don't quilt, but when I bought 3 yards, they commented that I must be making lots of potholders!! LOL!
7/26/05 9:20 AM
touran said...
How fun and creative. They make good wall art too.
7/26/05 9:57 AM
bunz said...
Wow - what a creative use of "leftovers". Thanks for showing us.
7/26/05 10:31 AM
Evita said...
Irene, do you actually quilt for your cats ?! (and I tought my pets were pampered!). Seriously, I have been tempted to try quilting but cannot handle big projects. Potholders would be perfect to try my hand at it. Thanks for the idea ! I love the colours on that baby quilt !
7/26/05 11:36 AM
Hilary said...
Great project! I like the baby quilt especially :o)
7/26/05 12:46 PM
sophie5477 said...
What a great idea for Christmas gifts!!!
7/26/05 2:04 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Irene - another great job well done. Creative way to use leftover scraps of fabric.
7/26/05 2:59 PM
hongkongshopper said...
I was just thinking this would be good for christmas pressies - in christmas fabric - I wonder if I have any in my stash.......
7/26/05 6:27 PM
Muria said...
I've got a bunch of calico leftover from making some bias cut skirts for my daughter and a ton of old jeans that people have outgrown. I also have some pretty shoddy looking potholders, so this is a great idea! Thanks!
7/29/05 10:07 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I see you are at it again. Lovely - as usual.
8/3/05 5:10 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
I love all your designs, you are so creative. What agreat way to use up diffeernt paterned fabrics. Way to go Irene !
8/30/05 9:48 AM
Nickle said...
Wow Irene you really are quilting up a storm, You must of had a huge stash.
8/30/05 5:36 PM
KJill said...
Gosh I never even thought about trying out patterns and using up those bits of cotton batting this way. I love the cat quilt idea, they are always on the quilts they can get to anyhow. One their size could at least be washed easily!
8/30/05 6:41 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
What a great thing to do with leftovers! It gives me encouragement to try scrap quilting. I'm with Mirza on the Insulbrite; I buy it all the time. But then, you could more than likely use old jeans and flannel, like I used to do when I was in Home Ec.
3/8/06 7:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Green Pepper 401
photo
Review by cleverkitt... on 6/7/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1786 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1786 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8020 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 8020 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Indygo Junction IJ733
photo
Review by SewLil on 7/31/08
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Juliana Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Juliana Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us